We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wombat's Munich

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,064 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 713: English reviews
Start your review of Wombat's Munich
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

had an amazing 3 night in the hostel, staying in a 6 bed room. the staff was great and helped me a lot. the room was clean and big. the hostels bar is a great for meeting new people and friends and just great place to hang out. the location is great and is a walking distance from the center,...

Thank Alex K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So my partner and i have now stayed in every wombats in the world and think it is a fantastic hostel chain! Munich is no different. The location is amazing and so is the vibe in the loung/bar. We booked a privet room and it was very spacious, clean and even had a balcony. Couldnt recommend this hostel enough

Thank justpackyourpassport
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice time there, it was really clean and the workers were really nice, helping with all that we needed. The reception is open all time. The location is great, next to the haptbanoff. There are a bar inside, and they give us a drink vouchers, and a decent breakfast. It has a relaxed area too, so I...

Thank Rosa C
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hostel from 1 Dec 2016 until 5 Dec 2016, and I would say that it was just so so experience I've had during my 4 nights staying there. One thing I complained that people can ask their partner to stay at the same room even though he/she has booked a particular dorm rooms (female only room...

Thank rinieva
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. A male person cannot and will not stay in a female only dorm! This is our policy. We urge our guests to immeditaley report if there is a man in a female only dorm. If this is not reported to our reception we cannot act. All the best Wombats Management

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I rented a single room with a double bed and ensuite. I was quite pleased with it. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, nicely decorated. The location next to the haptbanoff was perfect. The bar downstairs was cheap and fun. Breakfast was decent. I'd stay there again.

Thank Steph M
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I have never been to a hotel this clean, let alone a hostel. We went in November over the Halloween weekend on a stag party and the hostel was perfect. We were greeted with beer vouchers on check in and the option of party bar or relaxed area to chill was always available.

Thank James R
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I choose this hostel after a ton of research and I was not disappointed. It was neat, clean and attracted a very decent crowd. We were very happy with out stay and found the place very reasonable for Munich. Highly recommended for a budget stay.

Thank NiharikaDhall
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here over new years and purposefully chose this as past reviewers said it is a good mix of quiet and party hostel. They were right the rooms are large, have the standard light and powerplug, have good bathrooms and good beds. The bar downstairs is good for mingling and was great over new years. The only downside was...

Thank GlenB92
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a room with friends for October Fest. The hostel, as with all the wombats hostels, was clean, spacious and had free wifi access. The area contained various shops selling all the necessary men's and women's Octoberfest outfits. The hostel was within easy walking distance of the festival.

Thank Johnybayles55
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hostel and really enjoyed our experience! If I'm ever back in München, I'll definitely be staying here. The beds were comfortable, the desk staff were friendly and super helpful, and the atmosphere was fun. Definitely recommend!

Thank Ashley G

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (163)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Family/Play Areas (6)
Dining (13)
Room/Suite (35)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
View from Room (8)
Bathroom (8)
Other (66)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 379 in Munich
1,350 reviews
0.1 km away
Schiller 5 Hotel
Schiller 5 Hotel
#10 of 379 in Munich
438 reviews
0.1 km away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#21 of 379 in Munich
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.2 km away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#13 of 379 in Munich
733 reviews
0.3 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Price Range: $30 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wombat's Munich staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Wombat's Munich staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room away from the bar and the atrium next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles sololady3232, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get rooms on a higher floor if you want to escape the bar buzz at night”
 of 5 bubbles Richasthakur, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose dorm with a shared bathroom, rather than an ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles danielnU1455SU, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the back of the buiding because the street noise”
 of 5 bubbles ArturVictoria, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Careful somebody doesnt jump in your bed!”
 of 5 bubbles 249scottj, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5