We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Excelsior by Geisel

Save
Share
Traveller (202)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (33)
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good37%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“alpine room”(13 reviews)
“train station”(47 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
152
149
41
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
152
149
41
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpine roomtrain stationpedestrian streetmini bar itemscoffee fellowsbavarian stylelovely bathroommain stationcentral locationair conditioningminute walkexcellent locationbreakfast roomlarge rooms bahnmunich airportvisiting munich
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 383 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

There was no air conditioning in the room, which made it very difficult to sleep. The bathroom had wooden panels that were broken. Hotel staff was polite and did what they can to help getting an extra fan.

Thank cc6202018
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel a lot. And I have had to work with customer service teams from many organizations. Hotel Excelsior has been among the worst. My husband and I had to cancel a reservation with Excelsior months in advance of our arrival date due to an...More

Thank Nicole L
Response from Julia S, Quality Manager at Excelsior by GeiselResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nicole L, Thank you for your honest feedback, although we are not happy with your hard criticism. It is very sad you and your husband had to cancel your trip to Munich. You decided to book a special (non refundable) rate which is bound...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After we popped up from train station - we could see hotel. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent. We overlooked the closed off mall but didn’t find it noisy. It was lovely to look out. Location was perfect. We walked everywhere easily....More

Thank Madfc
Response from Julia S, Quality Manager at Excelsior by GeiselResponded 1 week ago

Dear Madfc, I appreciate your lovely comment on our Excelsior hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed so much your room as well as our downtown location with its surroundings. Your kind words on our staff makes me especially happy and I will forward them to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just opposite the railway station Excelsior has the perfect location when arriving by train or air (airport bus stops outside the railway station). And you're spot on the central walking street Schützenstraße leading to the Rathaus, Marienplatz, Frauenkirche etc... Elegant and modern without any fuzz....More

Thank Vierdank
Response from Julia S, Quality Manager at Excelsior by GeiselResponded 1 week ago

Dear Vierdank, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Great to hear you really enjoyed your Alpine room with its features and our downtown position in Munich was very convenient to you. However your kind words on our staff makes me especially proud and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very beautiful hotel right next to the train station. Charming lobby, nicely appointed, tastefully decorated rooms. Airconditioning working very well in this summer's sweltering Munich heat. Reception very kind and helpful. Vinothek restaurant worth a visit. Excellent wine by the glass, wide choice. Breakfast quite...More

Thank WDP_12
Response from Julia S, Quality Manager at Excelsior by GeiselResponded 1 week ago

Dear WDP_12, Thank you for wonderful feedback! With pleasure I read your lauding words on your experience at our Excelsior hotel and it is so good to hear that everything came to your entire satisfaction. That makes us all happy and proud! Please let me...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport Transportation
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 153 - USD 505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Green Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 153 - USD 505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Green Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (202)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (33)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HouseFamilyTravel
2 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Julia S | Property representative |
Dear HouseFamilyTravel, Thank you for contacting us. Yes, of course we have iron with ironing board available for our guests. Just let us know whenever you require this and we will bring it to your room. Pelase fel free to... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
tartan2018
30 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julia S | Property representative |
Dear tartan201, Thank you fo your contacting us. Yes, you are right: we offer airport transportation with private driver (and exclusive BMW 7-er) to our hotel. The charge is € 75.00 per way, can be added to your hotel... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
dsopatyk
20 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Julia S | Property representative |
Dear dsopatyk, nice to hearing from you again. We do not have a laundry room for self washing. We offer laundry and dry cleaning service, monday - saturday. The prices varies (e.g. washing long trousers € 10.00, T-Shirt... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a room towards the back yard. Much more silent."
Read review
"Ask for a room at the end of the passage if you are very sensitive to sound"
Read review
"Alpine rooms are super"
Read review
"Most rooms seem to be great but not all have a safe in the room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing