Hotel Antares
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Antares

Traveller (27)
Comfort Doppelzimmer / Double room
Room & Suite (30)
Breakfastbuffet_2
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#183 of 428 hotels in Munich
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Antares is located in a rather quiet side street and yet very centrally located in the Munich art area, near the university. Since the beginning of 2016, all bathrooms have been renovated to a high standard and rooms are equipped with modern soundproofed room doors; at the same time the lobby was renovated, a new larger elevator with additional stop directly in the lobby installed and the breakfast room renovated. Unfortunately, our room sizes could not be changed - we stay 'small but nice'. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, but the windows could be opened completely.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Amalienstr. 20, 80333 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Munich Airport
27.6 km
See all flights
Odeonsplatz
6 minMunich U-Bahn
Universität
7 minMunich U-Bahn
122Reviews1Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 56
  • 23
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lindsey wrote a review Nov 2023
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Antares as a solo traveler (with a friend and her son, who stayed in a separate room) for four nights in June 2023. It was my first trip to Munich. I loved my trip so much that I just booked a return trip in December so that I could come back with my husband. I will be staying at the Antares again!
This is not a fancy hotel, but I found it perfect for my needs. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. It has massive windows that open, which is perfect if you love fresh air like I do — I can’t stand hotels with sealed windows. Lots of sunshine, and in summer the beautiful garden patio behind the hotel, filled with colorful blooming flowers and clematis vines, was a lovely place to relax. The location was excellent as well — I walked everywhere and never felt the need to get a cab or even take the bus. It’s near all the museums, the English Garden, and countless fantastic (and affordable) non-touristy restaurants. The staff were always kind and helpful. I also have to mention the breakfasts, which were generous and abundant! Every morning I would wake up early and walk around the city for hours, then come back starving and ready to enjoy the breakfast buffet. I tried different things every morning and still never managed to try all the options. Delicious!
If you are looking for a clean, safe, friendly, affordable hotel in a convenient location, with a bountiful breakfast as a bonus, look no further than Antares. It’s not fancy or upscale (bring your own toiletries!), but it was a perfect base for my explorations of Munich. Highly recommend for families or young people. Thank you, Antares!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you’re a light sleeper.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate H wrote a review Feb 2023
Denver, Colorado16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time in Munich, coming from a ski vacation in Italy. We wanted a basic, clean, well-located hotel with free breakfast, and the Hotel Antares was perfect. It is small - maybe 50 rooms, and independantly owned. The staff was helpful, the pillows and bedding very comfortable, updated bathroom and hearty free breakfast. The rooms are not spacious and the lobby is small, but we were not there to socialize in the hotel, other than breakfast which is served in a large dining room. The showers were hot with good water pressure. I booked 3 rooms for a party of 6 and our friends were very complimentary on the choice. Several good restaurants in the block to the north, and a comfortable walk to Marianplatz.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo wrote a review June 2022
Zagreb, Croatia1,005 contribution108 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was here for a couple of nights during Intersolar expo. The price was super high due to exhibition.
The hotel itself is small, they have a garage for a car underground which is complicated to ge into but serves its purpose. The hotel room is barely three stars, everything except the bathroom feels very old, so a rennovation might be good. It is okay for sleepover but thats about it. Room cleaning is acceptable.
Breakfast is typical german, acceptable but nothing special. Service at the reception was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Antares, Inhaber at Hotel Antares
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Please reflect that our rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate (elsewhere you pay € 15-30 extra) and we are not a 4-5*-category hotel. As we are in Germany we are of course 'typical german' - what else should we be? And for example salmon or Serrano ham are definitive 'special'. Please also consider that the last two years of course pushed us back 5-10 years regarding renovation issues etc. Without that we already would have been proceeded a lot. The bathrooms are already renovated on top standard and far above the 3*-category.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMChep wrote a review Nov 2023
Salt Lake City, Utah267 contributions133 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A really wonderful smaller hotel in a quiet , trendy gallery part of town , near the museum’s and university. I really loved my cozy single room ( though compact ) perfectly sized for one . I had a peaceful courtyard view. The bed was firm , double sized , with a huge puffy European style square pillow. The bed also had a luxurious down comforter which was so snuggly soft. Breakfast was in a nice dining room with windows to the street ( to watch locals on their way to work & general life) . A host offered several personally made coffees & the buffet had a generous supply of the typical cold cut European breakfast standards , as well as several warm ( eggs & such ) American style fair. The front desk staff were warm & welcoming, and well informed .
Very positive staff & highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DesertRose wrote a review Apr 2024
454 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and really enjoyed it.
The staff was very polite and helpful and just a pleasure to interact with.
Our room while small was extremely clean and very quiet. I'm a extremely light sleeper but I wasn't disturbed once.
The windows opened which I enjoyed. If you have small children do keep in mind that they do not have screens.
There is no air conditioning which certainly wasn't an issue in April however it might be in Summer. There was a fan in the room though.
Breakfast had a good selection of items and the cappuccinos were a nice touch.
It's unfortunate that they do not have an in room coffee maker because if you're an early riser there isn't a cafe or convenience store open nearby and you have to wait for breakfast.
It is time to replace the mattresses as they were uncomfortable however there was a very nice comforter.
The shower takes a long time to heat up/ cool down so turn it on and adjust it to your desired temperature before you get in.
If I get the opportunity to return to Munich I'd definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VicBCTraveller wrote a review Aug 2017
Victoria, BC132 contributions88 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a good location: very close to art museums and about a 15 minute walk, maybe, to Marienplatz. The staff are very good, and the breakfast is fine. The hot food is mostly eggs, so not that much variety there, but there are cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yogurt and breads. The coffee is very good, and the barista is a very nice man. Our room was very small, and I wonder if it was the smallest in the hotel. We were not expecting a huge room, but there was about 2 feet between the foot of the bed and the wall - only one person could walk around at a time. We could not use the closet, as there was no room to open it with a suitcase on the floor in front of it. (2 tall people with 2 suitcases and very little floor space.) The TV screen was quite small, like a computer screen, and even with the sound turned up as high as possible, you had to sit right next to the TV to hear it - at least this was the case for the English stations. The bathroom was nice, but the shower does not drain well, and you are left standing in soapy water at the end of your shower. (The soap and shampoo smell lovely, by the way.) It was very hot in Munich when we were there, and the hotel is not air-conditioned. The staff brought us a fan, though, which helped. Our room overlooked a nice courtyard, but since people use this to smoke, it is not possible to keep the windows open. This is a common problem in Europe, unfortunately. Although it is probably noisier to face the street, I suspect non-smokers would get better air quality in these rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotel-antares-muc, Inhaber at Hotel Antares
Responded 26 Sept 2017
Please note that the room sizes are displayed clearly in the description of each room at our website. It's important to us to provide you correct information in order that you are not disappointed afterwards. Though we did a lot of renovation in the recent years (bathrooms, floors, lobby, breakfast-room, elevator), we unfortunately can't do anything about the available ground space. Maybe you booked a 'Small Standard Queen Room' which is the smallest room for two people? We recommend at least a 'double' or a 'comfort double room' for two people. In our comfort category we also offer bigger TVs. Usually it is possible to open our big windows; there is not a crowd of smokers at all time everywhere in front of the building. But as there is no possibility to smoke inside the building, smokers have to go outside, what should suit all non-smokers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel_CC9564SW wrote a review Mar 2016
Madrid, Spain148 contributions91 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I get it. Hotels need to do renovations. Renovations are expensive. Hotels would rather stay open during a renovation and not lose revenue. Here's the problem with that rationale. Customers stay in hotels for a place to sleep, to relax, essentially a replacement home. We pay dearly for that service. Hotel Antares reopened after 6 weeks of renovations, but half the hotel was still undergoing major redesign. While staying there the entire hotel stank of fresh paint and varnish... It was so bad I got a minor lung infection. Their men would start work as early as 7:30, and this is loud work with electric saws, drills etc. Finally, my wife was in the room getting ready and a man walked into her room without knocking "because he needed to fix the bathroom"... Which we had never complained about. Needless to say she was scared to death and did not want to be in the room alone after that! My final issue with this hotel came from the front desk staff... We do not speak much German, there is no place to get food in the hotel at night, and we asked the front desk staff to help us to order a pizza. The manager looked deeply offended as if this was beneath him. Finally a clerk took pity on us and made the call, but only after we were made to feel stupid because we can't speak enough German to order a pizza (insult to injury everything in Munich closes early and they were already closed).

The renovations are fine, the bathroom was quite nice, and the bedroom looked like a University dorm room circa 1998. The wi-fi was very slow and required a resign in 3 times a day. The breakfast was adequate, but all in all the attitude toward the guests by the staff is the reason to avoid this hotel. The renovations will end eventually, but an attitude of taking customers for granted never will.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StPaWo wrote a review Dec 2019
Queretaro City, Mexico40 contributions88 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Antares in Munich on Dec 7-8 2019. The location of the hotel is not bad but not great. The hotel was clean and most of the staff was courteous. The staff was not able or willing to give any advice or assistance with anything outside of the hotel, subway, restaurants, attractions, etc... The main thing to keep in mind is the room size. We had a standard double room and it is small! They do give you the size of the room in sq meters so there is no deception; but keep in mind the furniture takes up most of that space to the point that our bed was against the wall at the head and left side of the bed. Also, they requested that you leave your room key at the desk when you left the hotel, we found that a bit strange.
When we return to Munich, we will stay further from the city center at a hotel that is convenient to the subway; lower cost and more convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcia O wrote a review Aug 2019
Calgary, Canada31 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were greeted by a charming receptionist who was very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable with all the basics you need. A good european style breakfast. A fairly good location can walk easily to all public transport. there are a fair number of restaurants close by.Pinakothek der Moderne within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel for families especially with older children.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham B wrote a review Mar 2019
Toronto, Ontario, Canada30 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was nice, clean and well maintained. Was only here for one night as I was stuck in Munich as my flight was delayed. Service was fantastic, breakfast was great, and the receptionists accommodated me and even upgraded me to a larger room at no charge.

Hotel room was a bit older and could use some updating, but otherwise was fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from hotel-antares-muc
Munich, Germany1 contribution4 helpful votes
Dear guests, at our own website (antares-muenchen) you will find all answers of your questions. We did big renovations at the beginning of the year for our guests convenience. Of course there won't be works at our high season during the Oktoberfest. The Queen size-bed rooms are the smallest and cheapest offer for two people; we recommend at least a standard double or a comfort double room. You find detailed explanations at our website or please write us an e-mail. Please always book directly at our own homepage; only there you get best prices and conditions. Hope to see you, Your Hotel Antares, Munich
Magdy y wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cairo, Egypt15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best Deal"
Read full review
Lindsey wrote a tip Nov 2023
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on a higher floor if you’re a light sleeper."
Read full review
ZigoZagoHD wrote a tip Apr 2018
Wiesloch, Germany126 contributions87 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"courtyard rooms are quieter. The Single Room is minuscule."
Read full review
omrishtayer wrote a tip Apr 2017
Haifa, Israel15 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose a room not on the road side"
Read full review
davebPittsburgh wrote a tip Dec 2016
pittsburgh32 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was on street side, window could open, a plus, but very quiet when shut"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munich area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$188 - AU$366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
antares hotel munich
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Antares (AU$188) - Munich, Germany Hotel

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Antares
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Antares?
Nearby attractions include Pinakothek der Moderne (0.3 km), Feldherrnhalle (0.4 km), and Museum Brandhorst (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Antares?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Antares?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Antares?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Antares?
Conveniently located restaurants include Limoni, Restaurant Halali, and Ballabeni Icecream.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Antares?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Antares?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Antares?
Many travellers enjoy visiting OzTour Munich (1.3 km), Asamkirche (1.4 km), and Nymphenburg Palace (5.5 km).
All Munich HotelsMunich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MunichHotels near Hotel Antares
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars