We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Cristal

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Cristal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

606 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cristal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2014

While this hotel is located fairly conveniently (close to the Hauptbahnhof), it felt a bit tired and worn. Our first kettle didn't work, but the staff managed to get us a working replacement. It was good enough for the price we paid, but I wouldn't get too excited about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Vincent C, thank you very much for your feedback. We also have comfort rooms which are especially for longer stays because they are more spacious and more comfortable. We are looking forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Pretty standard central city hotel. Room did what it was needed and was reasonably priced. Was woken at 5:30 by bin men but for a short business trip it was perfectly fine. If i was staying longer or with the family i would most probably look elsewhere but i would return if i was just myself for one or two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Ashley B, thank you very much for your rating. We also have comfort rooms which are more spacious. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very close to the train station and old town. It's in a neighbourhood with lots of adult entertainment but if you've done your homework this won't be a surprise upon arrival. I'm quite picky about where I stay and for the price, this hotel was wonderful. The front desk was helpful and offered the best way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cantwaitforholidays
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Cantwaitforholidays, thank you very much for your rating. In our opinion the price for Wifi is ok. We would be delighted to welcome you again at our hotel. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Brunswick, Maine
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel while visiting the Christmas Market in Munich. It is located close to the train station, where we arrived on a train from Nuremburg and where we took a train to the airport. The hotel is within walking distance of the Christmas markets and the Old City. The person at the check in desk was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Linda A, thank you very much for your rating. That sounds like a great stay in our hotel. We would be very happy to welcome you again at our hotel. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Ambler, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is located about a five minute walk or less from the main train station (Hauptbahnhof). I arrived there in mid-morning and a room was not available yet, but they happily let me store my luggage. The woman at the reception also provided me with a map of the city and transportation lines. When I came back later in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank treeface
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear treeface, thank you very much for your feedback. That sounds like a pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Literally a 5 min walk from the main train station and within 10 min from Karlsplatz as a gateway to the old city. The reception was friendly, professional and went out of their way to help us with city sightseeing queries as well. Rooms are really well appointed for the price. (Had booked Hotel Dolomit earlier but was 'transferred' to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kier02
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Kier02, thank you very much for your review, that sounds like a pleasant stay in our house. We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel! Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Wish I had spotted this hotel before. Very nice welcome and efficiently run hotel. About 3 minutes walk from the station, although not much of a neighbourhood.However did not encounter any problems whatsoever. Received a quiet room overlooking the courtyard. Highly recommend this hotel. Bar area nicely laid out with a brilliant in-house restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKNorseman
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Norsemanuk, thank you very much for your feedback, we are very happy to read that you had a good time in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in our house. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Alexandria, VA
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Average pretty much says it all. I stayed in a remodeled "comfort" (i.e., more expensive) room which was large, but as it was long and skinny the space was not really very usable. The bed, desk, and TV were all placed at the far end of the room by the window. The first room I was given had a heating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fcfrag
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear fcfrag, thank you very much for your feedback. In our opinion our prices are ok, because our breakfast is varied and very tasty. Our drinks are also delicious. We also have comfort rooms, especially for longer stays. We hope to welcome you again in our house. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I left my hearing aid on the nighttable, and went for a short walk. The hotel staff did turn-down service during this time, and when I returned, I noticed the right hearing aid was missing. I alerted the front desk staff immediately, and requested the room be checked carefuly when I checked out in the morning. I have stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Janiceboo
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Janiceboo, thank you very much for your comment. As you know, our staff didn’t find your hearing aid in your room and the room maid was asked for the hearing aid as well. Of course, we strive to ensure that our guests will get back their lost property as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, we could not give a positive...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A group of 8 just enjoyed a great 3 day city break staying at Hotel Cristal and all agreed that we would not hesitate to stay there again. I have 2 minor complaints, more of which later but on the whole this hotel offered excellent value for money. Reading previous reviews people complained of a dirty hotel, poor neighbourhood and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear AlanFS, thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We can recommend the breakfast at our hotel, it’s delicious and varied. In our opinion the price for Wifi is ok. We are very sorry for the inconveniences with our female bar tender. But we hope to...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#253 of 379 in Munich
665 reviews
0.1 km away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#108 of 379 in Munich
789 reviews
0.1 km away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#28 of 379 in Munich
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 km away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#256 of 379 in Munich
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Price Range: $97 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cristal staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cristal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Comfort room off the street side”
 of 5 bubbles JeffG169, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure that you book a room at the rear of the hotel otherwise would hardly sleep at night. Arranged by prior the charging of the internet.”
 of 5 bubbles spyridonangel, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back if you want a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 416timp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles IluvnjNewJersey, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back of the hotel for more silence at night”
 of 5 bubbles MrRollT, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5