We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center

Senefelderstrasse 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria Germany
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (240)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$147
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#184 of 421 hotels in Munich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center their hotel of choice when visiting Munich. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort, and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Munich, Leonardo Hotel Munchen City is located a short distance from Asam Church (0.5 mi) and New Town Hall (Neus Rathaus) (0.8 mi). Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat-screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel. Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center features a 24-hour front desk, baggage storage, and express check-in and check-out, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a lounge. If you are driving to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City, parking is available. Travelers looking to enjoy some schnitzel can head to Hofbrauhaus, Ratskeller München, or Augustiner-Keller. Otherwise, you may want to check out a French restaurant such as Les Deux, La Boheme, or Restaurant Koenigshof. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular parks such as English Garden, Olympiapark, and Tierpark Hellabrunn. At Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Munich.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Senefelderstrasse 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
679Reviews14Q+A74Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 282
  • 154
  • 58
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
travelerfromspace wrote a review Dec 2023
Peterborough, United Kingdom13 contributions27 helpful votes
We stayed there for a few nights in Dec. The hotel is in a sketchy part of the city. 5-10mins from the tube station. No amenities or grocery shops nearby, which is a pain as the hotel charges € 9.50 for a bottle of water. Very loud music in the lobby every evening. They actually employ a DJ which is weird. The TV is useless for English speakers. Mainly Arabic and german channels and films dubbed in German. The bathroom door is lightly frosted glass and does not close properly, meaning your partner can see and hear everything. The restaurant food is overpriced and the bar food greasy and poor quality. Breakfast is disappointing. The coffee machine served only hot milk. The bed sheets were not changed once. Only two small towels per person and some days were folded and put back on the shelf instead of being changed. The left overs of the shower gel and toilet paper from the previous guests had not been replaced on our arrival and, although we were given a new toilet roll every day, the shower gel had not been topped up during our stay. For a hotel claiming to be 4-star the whole experience was very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We very much regret that your stay in Munich was obviously not to your satisfaction and did not meet your expectations. According to your description, it is a different hotel than our Leonardo Hotel Munich City Center, as we neither employ a DJ nor have a restaurant or a large lobby with screens. Our hotel is also in close proximity to the main train station and the city center. For this reason, we would like to ask you to remove the review from our site, as this may lead to misunderstandings and misinformation from other guests. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to welcoming you to our Leonardo Hotel Munich City Center next time. Sincerely - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AT wrote a review Oct 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
This was the tiniest room. There was maybe a foot to get past the end of the bed, which was hard as a rock. Nowhere to put luggage, so it went on the floor. The AC barely worked. I woke up every night, overheating. I had to crack the window to get fresh air, but then ran the risk of hearing random people’s conversations at 2:30am on the patio below. The bathroom is right next to the bed, so you’re partner will hear everything you do in there due to the sliding glass door that separates it. It is painfully small and the shower and tile grout seemed to be unclean-maybe mildew. They charge 1600 euro for 4 nights for this nonsense because it’s Oktoberfest time and then charge extra for breakfast. The one saving grace for the place is location relative to transpo & the fest (not the sketchy neighborhood). Directly across the street from the HBF and 15 minutes from the Oktoberfest grounds, the Wiesen. You can opt to “help save water” by not getting your room cleaned for 3 days as the only option, not 2 which would have been better. I had to go ask for more toilet paper and towels (they only give you 1 small/face, 1 regular bath towel to start, and they’re thin so they become gross quickly. The guys at the front desk: one was ok. The other seemed annoyed by any and every request. Very unfriendly. Again, not great treatment for 400 euro/night. The tiny elevator (barely room for 2 people and luggage) was broken at least one day while we were there, so good luck if you’re above the main level. The location is sketchy at best. It’s right across the street from 3 backpacker hostels, but it’s mostly the random sketchy people just walking around, who didn’t make me feel safe. The whole experience put me off to Munich to be honest. I was so ready to leave this crappy room & move on to the beautiful hotels we had booked in Italy. It’s sad because I used to absolutely love Germany and wanted my boyfriend to love it, too. This hotel ruined a lot of the Germany part of our trip. I would not recommend anyone stay here. One final note: don’t buy the optional hotel insurance on Orbitz or whichever booking website you frequent. That particular insurance company is non responsive and once you’ve paid, that money is gone and non transferable. I felt locked in to this hotel when my friend switched to a better one. So, she had a much better experience: huge room in a better neighborhood for less. I should’ve taken the loss & switched hotels, too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Dear Alexis, Thank you for your honest feedback and taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We were happy to note your criticisms regarding room size, sleeping comfort, air conditioning and noise and apologize that they were not to your satisfaction.We always do our best to provide our guests with the best possible service and comfort. In regards to rates during Oktoberfest, we understand that this can be a challenging time. However, we try to offer competitive prices. Likewise, we regret that the cleaning options and front desk service did not meet your expectations. We will be happy to accommodate your individual requests as far as room cleaning is concerned. Feel free to share them with our team at the reception at any time. We have also taken note of your comment regarding hotel insurance, however, we inform you that these insurances are not provided by us, but that these are external providers with whom we are not in cooperation. Therefore, it is solely the decision of the guest whether to take advantage of the additional offer of the tour operator. We hope that you will not be completely discouraged by Munich and that you will give us another chance in the future to improve your experience. Your opinion is important to us and we are constantly working to improve our service. With kind regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jonasfmattsson wrote a review Sept 2023
Stockholm, Sweden6 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in so a really bad experience. I had to pay over €400 per night for a hotel that normally should cost €80. Yes, they take advantage of the Octoberfest but this is a rip-off. The room smelled awful and was very old. Beds were hard and old and not up to the standard you expect from a hotel, especially in that price range.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Dear jonasfmattsson, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We very much regret that we were unable to meet your expectations in any way and that you could not have a more positive experience. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and we do our best to achieve this. We apologize for any inconvenience caused, but we are surprised by your criticism of the room here. You spoke to us on site and informed us that the room was a bit too small for you, so we assigned you another room. We have not received any information about the other defects you mention here. We are happy to accept your criticism because it will help us to continue to optimize our service. We thank you again for your stay and wish you all the best. Kind regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kam A wrote a review Sept 2023
Surrey, Canada76 contributions41 helpful votes
An absolute nightmare. Hair on the bed when we checked in and now our shower has completely flooded the washroom and bedroom and the staff said nothing to do but wait until someone can see the shower door tomorrow. No offer to give us anything extra to make up for this. Very rude staff members. Now we are stuck without a shower. No soap and no lotions or other amenities in the bathroom. We paid a very high amount of money to stay here and they didn't offer anything to make up for their error. I am a seasoned traveller and have not seen this type of treatment at any hotel in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Dear Kam A, Thank you for your review and your current stay with us. We always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable with us and we regret that we have not succeeded so far. You had also written us a personal message last night explaining the situation - it is a pity that you did not give us the time to respond and instead wrote a negative review directly. Nevertheless, we accept your feedback and hope that our reply from this morning has already reached you. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and assure you that this is not our standard. Unfortunately, our technician was no longer on site yesterday evening, but our staff immediately took care of your concern. We are sorry if this was not to your satisfaction. Our staff will be happy if you come to our reception once so that we can discuss the further procedure with you, also our technician is waiting to be able to enter your room to take care of the defect. Thank you again and we wish you a pleasant stay in the future. Yours sincerely - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KellyR887 wrote a review Sept 2023
Boise41 contributions38 helpful votes
I would highly recommend this place! It is clean, newly remodeled, has A/C, TV. They really saved my day! I booked a room for three nights at the last minute. They really helped make my stay in Munich so much better after leaving a nearby hotel that was just horrible. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It is in a great location close to main train station. Lots of restaurants are nearby and close to city center. We did not try the breakfast, it's extra. There is a nice bar with water and a few snacks. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Munich!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Dear Kelly, Thank you for your great review and your trust in us. We are very pleased that we were able to give you a great time in Munich and that you were able to take many positive impressions home with you. The satisfaction of our guests is our goal and we do our best to achieve this. We appreciate your praise of our team and say thank you for your visit. We are already looking forward to your next stay and until then we remain with best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Simon Barlow wrote a review Sept 2023
Sandbach, United Kingdom1 contribution
Extremely expensive €280 per night. Air conditioning didn’t cool the room. Pillows were terrible, a pillow case stuffed with an old small duvet. When I enquired at reception I was told by the unwelcoming staff, it was normal for pillows in Germany. I’ve been travelling to Germany on business since 2000 and have never seen a pillow like that! The staff just wanted to fob me off. Fridge in the room took 12 hrs to cool a bottle of water and hotel bar wasn’t operational due to defective fridges. Just not good enough for the price paid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking was limited and expensive Unwelcoming staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Dear Simon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and asssure you that we took your criticism very seriously. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Kind regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erinday wrote a review Aug 2023
Whistler, Canada74 contributions51 helpful votes
I booked a 'comfort double or twin room -solo' the room was tiny. Single bed,no space. There was no way 2 people could have even fit in the bed, let alone the room. My room in no way represented the advertised room pictures in size or decor. The rooms were also extremely hot. We stayed during oktoberfest and payed a premium price . Pretty disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Dear Erinday, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction after such a long time and unfortunately we can no longer trace any further details here, as we have to assume from your statement that you were our guest last year. We apologize that we could not meet your expectations and that you left us with a very negative impression. We wish you all the best and remain with kind regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dream438343 wrote a review July 2023
9 contributions7 helpful votes
Please do yourself a huge favor and avoid this place. It’s a 2 star property (hotel does not share their official rating for a reason) with dingy rooms in a shabby area of Munich right next to the train station. It may be convenient to get to from the train but that’s about it. The highlight of my stay was a cockroach that was crawling into my ear at night. I was assured by the property that it is “just a wood cockroach” and offered a 10 percent discount on my stay. That’s the standard they abide by….
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 17 July 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you again for taking the time again to share your impressions of your stay. We appreciate your effort very much and with your evaluation you help us to optimize our service always further. The satisfaction of our guests is our goal. We are very sorry that it has come to an unpleasant situation for you and have the fullest understanding for your displeasure and disappointment and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We took care of your situation immediately and also took this incident very seriously. By law, hotels must be inspected for vermin at regular intervals by specialist companies. Fortunately, at the time of this incident there was a specialist in the house who immediately took care of it. As the specialist already informed, it was not a cockroach but a harmless wood cockroach. These are not considered vermin and are equivalent to flies or mosquitoes that find their way into buildings through open windows or doors. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about this and this is therefore classified as a form of force majeure. We fully understand your situation and even if you are not entitled to compensation in such a case, we have accommodated you as a gesture of goodwill and made you an offer, as it was important to us to find a solution. It is a pity that this did not suit you. We thank you again for your stay and are available for further questions at any time. Yours sincerely - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sssimonnn wrote a review June 2023
Lancashire, United Kingdom100 contributions97 helpful votes
Easy to find, being near the railway Station (Hbf). Easy check-in and the rooms, whilst small were comfortable and modern. The bathroom was frosted glass so you can see shadows of your partner taking a dump but otherwise all good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 19 June 2023
Dear Sssimonnn, Thank you for being our guest and your great review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed a pleasant time and hope you were able to take home many positive impressions of Munich. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again and we wish you all the best until then. Kindest regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hammad Farooq wrote a review June 2023
21 contributions11 helpful votes
1. Excellent location as everything essential is nearby be it restaurants (halal), laundry services, pharmacy or local shops and stores. 2. Hotel is very clean and tidy. 3. Rooms are of normal size. Nor too big nor too small. 4. One elevator. 5. Non-AC hotel. Which is why I didn’t rate it 5 stars. 6. Staff is very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is available in a separate building just beside the hotel. Central station is opposite...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Responded 8 June 2023
Dear Hammad, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We appreciate it very much and are happy that you enjoyed a pleasant time with us in Munich. We are looking forward to welcome you back again and remain with best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munich area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$131 - AU$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leonardo hotel munchen city munich, leonardo hotel munich
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEONARDO HOTEL MUNCHEN CITY CENTER (AU$131): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Munich, Germany) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Which popular attractions are close to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Nearby attractions include BlackBook Tours (0.1 km), Justizpalast (0.4 km), and Boilerman Bar Munich (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Irmi, Vinothek by Geisel, and Schiller Bräu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Asamkirche (0.8 km), Nymphenburg Palace (4.7 km), and St. Peter's Church (1.2 km).