Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München

Heimgartenstrasse, 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Traveller (493)
View from the room on the rear part of the Hotel
Room & Suite (350)
Bar at the Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Dining (43)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$97
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#148 of 421 hotels in Munich
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Only several stops on the underground into the city centre or the Fairground and convention centre. Leonardo Hotel & Residenz Munich has a central yet tranquil location, making it a home-away-from-home not only for Munich fans, but especially for long-term guests. Whether you are here for business or leasure, you will feel at home with us. Audited & certified hygiene concept The hotel’s comprehensive and dynamic hygiene concept has been officially audited and certified by a renowned international company - for the protection of guests, customers and employees!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Heimgartenstrasse, 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Munich Airport
30.5 km
See all flights
Silberhornstraße
3 minMunich U-Bahn
Untersbergstraße
5 minMunich U-Bahn
1,554Review34Q+A92Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 717
  • 304
  • 86
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MrsMale wrote a review Jan 2020
Florence, Italy4 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My sisters and I stayed at the gotel for 3 night right before Chriatmas. The hotel is very clean and people are nice but my favoirite part of the stay was definetely breakfast! A huge amount of fresh food ready every morning, salt, sweet, everything that you can think of. And the staff during the morning meal was very very kind, especially Antonella always with a smile and extremely nice!!
Also the accomodantion os right behind the corner from the metro! Very convenient!!
I definetely recommend this hotel and i plan on going back as soon as i can go to munich.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear MrsMale, We would like to thank you very much for your fantastic review and your praise to our team. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and your feedback shows us that we are on the right way. We are also very pleased that we were able to inspire you with our extensive breakfast selection and that you were able to start the day well strengthened. Our employee Antonella also thanks you for your recognition. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again as our guest and we wish you all the best until then. With best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyage563449 wrote a review Oct 2023
15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been here for the third time since 2015 as we are regular clients of the Leonardo hotel chain. This hotel is quite convenient for exhibitors at the Trade Center (Messe) since it is very close to a U-bahn station as well as the car route to Messestadt. Though a bit small, rooms are furnished with any comfort and a cooking area.
We especially appreciate breakfast, which is the typical excellent German standard. The staff are all very attentive, but a particular mention goes to Antonella, who is a very helpful, quick and definitely service minded person with a beautiful personality. All in all a recommended hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our hotel as well as your trust and loyality. We appreciate it very much and are more than happy that you enjoyed your time with us again. Also your great praise to our team is a big motivation for all of us and especially our colleague Antonella was very happy about it. We are already looking forward to welcome you back again and wish you all the best until then. See you and best regards, Melanie Brandenburger Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven M wrote a review Aug 2020
Goes, The Netherlands152 contributions53 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent around a week in the Leonardo hotel with 3 guests in one room. The staff of the hotel was friendly and helpful. The location was great, with the U-Bahn around the corner. The room, however, had several issues. The most important one being ventilation: the rooms were musty and were hard to ventilate as there's no air conditioning. This was especially apparent during the hot summer nights, which made it hard to sleep. The pillows did not provide much support and the sofa bed was uncomfortable, further decreasing our sleeping comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sven Efler, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Dear Steven, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is nice to hear that our staff and the location were matching your expectations. Sadly, the things you criticize like the airconditioning in the hot summer months and the extra bed can`t be changed at the moment, but we will discuss this for further improvements. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel! Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jakii K wrote a review Jan 2023
90 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff do not speak English or German, our bed covers were torn or rather burnt from ironing. The lifts were always busy from the cleaning staff it was really hard to communicate with the staff … but overall the location is great next to the U Bahn . I still do Not understand why all the fridges are dumped outside the hotel . Our stay was disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephan LÖWEL, Geschäftsführer at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 2 Jan 2023
Dear Jakiik, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your impressions. We are very sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay with us and left with a very negative impression. The satisfaction of our guests is our goal and for this we do our best. We would have been happy to discuss your experience with you on site in order to find a satisfactory solution for you. Unfortunately, we only have two elevators in our hotel and we are aware that there may be longer waiting times, especially during peak hours. Our housekeeping team is encouraged not to use the elevators during these times. Unfortunately, this cannot always be avoided, but we will address this again in the team. We also regret that the communication between you and our cleaning staff was rather problematic. Yes, our staff unfortunately speaks little German or English. We therefore ask you, no matter with what concern, to contact our reception staff directly, so that we can help you. Regarding the refrigerators in front of the hotel: we are currently renovating all the kitchens in the rooms, which will be equipped with new appliances. Temporarily, the old equipment had to be stored in front of the hotel until the transport came to pick it up. We apologize for this brief visual disturbance. We thank you again for your feedback and wish you all the best for the new year. Yours sincerely - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony S wrote a review Apr 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom29 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A really affordable hotel just outside of Munich about 40 minutes from the centre with excellent metro links. The area felt really safe and there is a few supermarkets and restaurants close by. Breakfast in the hotel was good with a selection of meats, fruit and savoury items. Hotel staff were always very helpful and provided knowledge of the city and ideas for tourists.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 10 Apr 2024
Dear Anthony, We are sincerely grateful for your positive and detailed review of your stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found our location convenient and safe, and that our proximity to metro links, supermarkets, and restaurants enhanced your experience. We also appreciate your kind words about our breakfast selection and our dedicated staff. It is part of our philosophy to provide our guests with a comprehensive service that includes useful information and recommendations about Munich. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for our team and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Munich. Best regards Melanie Brandenburger Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Panagiotis A wrote a review Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located very near to 2 metro stations in a quiet neighborhood, there is also a Penny supermarket next to it.
The room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was also nice.
Dominik in the reception is the best very friendly and helpful with providing information.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 4 Apr 2024
Dear Panagiotis, Your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel are greatly appreciated. It is wonderful to learn that our strategic location, cleanliness, and comfort of our rooms met your expectations. Moreover, your recognition of our staff, particularly Dominik, brings great joy. We take pride in our team's dedication to providing excellent service to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Melanie Brandenburger, Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
donnalynno wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom163 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful hotel cannot believe anyone can rate this as 4 star. It’s 2/3 star at the very best.

Rooms are nice but room service arrives at 5pm! Only 2 lifts one of which was broken when we arrived. This obviously cannot be helped but when it was ‘fixed’ it closed as I was walking in trapping my arm and bruising it. Reported straight away. Nobody has enquired as to how I am, did I require any help. I have taken photos of the bruise which will only get worse as the days go on.

Didn’t want to use this lift again so went to the other one. Staff in there pushed dirty washing out of it then closed it and went away not letting us in. Clearly there are not enough staff and the ones that are here are not trained in customer relations.

On a positive note and the only reason I gave it any stars is the food at breakfast is amazing. Couldn’t fault it. Cooked well and so much choice.

Would definitely NOT recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 24 Aug 2023
Dear donnalynno, I'm truly sorry to hear of the unfortunate incident that occurred during your stay. Your experience is certainly not reflective of the high standards we aim to uphold at our hotel. It is deeply regrettable that we did not meet these expectations on this occasion. Your feedback regarding the room service timing and lift situation has been noted. We always strive to ensure that our guests have a safe and comfortable stay, and it is disheartening to learn that this was not your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience and have taken the elevator incident extremely seriously. Our technician took care of it immediately. That you got the impression that we did not take this seriously and were not interested in your well-being is something we deeply regret. Our front office manager had personally taken care of this issue. On the other hand, it is heartening to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our culinary team puts a lot of effort into providing a wide variety of choices, and it's wonderful to hear that this aspect of your stay met your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it helps us improve our services and overall guest experience. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the standard of service we usually provide and strive for. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kyle b wrote a review Sept 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel for Oktoberfest. Very convenient with the train station right outside the hotel made it very easy to get around in Munich. Would definitely come back here! The staff are friendly, and even let us check in early for free! They were very accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephan LÖWEL, Geschäftsführer at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 19 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your great review of our hotel as well as your praise to our team. We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also appreciate your recommendation - thank you for it! We hope you had a fantastic time at the Oktoberfest and we can welcome you back again on your next trip to Munich. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EugeneDrogheda wrote a review June 2022
Drogheda, Ireland5 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 6 nights in June . Nice hotel with very friendly staff .
The room was clean , spacious and had a small kitchen and balcony .
There was some construction work with installation of new air conditioning and there was drilling noise from 8.30am on some mornings but overall a good experience and would definitely stay again .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephan LÖWEL, Geschäftsführer at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 27 June 2022
Dear EugeneDrogheda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable. I was happy to share your praise with the entire team - thank you for this. As you correctly write, we are currently installing air conditioning in all rooms for even more comfort. We are doing our best to ensure that our guests notice as little as possible of the work and apologize if it has been a bit noisy. We would be very happy to have you visit us again and until then we wish you all the best and a great time. Many greetings, Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek C wrote a review June 2023
Ballito, South Africa78 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is okay … well that’s all. Fine nothing excellent, nothing bad just average. Maybe the breakfast spread could be classed as good. Location is quite suburban, not around. One Restuarant family owned but reasonable food. Local supermarket near by helps, but it’s no gourmet deli. Goes along with my review of just being fine.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plan to travel around 30 to 45 minutes to see any of the well known tourists sites of the city.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Brandenburger, Gästeservice/Empfang at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Responded 3 July 2023
Dear Derek, Thank you for taking the time to wirte a review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you were overall very satisfied and you felt comfortable. Also we hope you were able to explore much of Munich and we are looking forward to welcome you back again in Leonardo Hotels. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Cluster Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Kanchan58
Bengaluru, India1,944 contribution402 helpful votes
If you are an Emirates Businrss or First Class passenger Emirates provides airport pick up & drop services as complimentary
laylaaxc asked a question July 2018
Birmingham, United Kingdom248 contributions63 helpful votes
Do the superior rooms have a balcony?
Answer from SEfler
Munich, Germany1 contribution
Dear layc276, Most of our Superior Rooms do have a small balcony. Best regards Sven
Answer from SEfler
Munich, Germany1 contribution
Dear Kevjmet, I would recommend our Superior Business rooms, they have about 22-24 m², but they need to be booked directly, because it's not bookable on all websites and we cannot guarantee the availability upon checkin. Best regards, Sven
Trigger1976 asked a question Jan 2017
Ulverston, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Can anyone recommend airport transfers that are reasonably priced
Answer from SEfler
Munich, Germany1 contribution
Dear Trigger1976, The cheapest is definitely the public transport, it would cost you between 11,20 € and 12,80 €, for 1 person, depending on the ticket you prefer. You would take surburban train S1 or S8 to Central Station (Hauptbahnhof) and change there to underground U2 in direction to "Messestadt" and exit at "Silberhornstr". From there please follow the signs in direction to "Heckscher Klinikum", the hotel is just 100 m away. Alternatively you may also take a taxi, it would cost you about 70 € one way. Kindest regards, Sven
Derek C wrote a tip June 2023
Ballito, South Africa78 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan to travel around 30 to 45 minutes to see any of the well known tourists sites of the city."
Read full review
A2113 wrote a tip Nov 2019
3 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Road facing rooms are a bit noisy if you have the window open."
Read full review
Jeff S wrote a tip Oct 2019
Brooklyn, New York15 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"never trust star rating!!!"
Read full review
Larry T wrote a tip Jan 2019
Verona, Italy77 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Superior rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter."
Read full review
ptrata wrote a tip Dec 2018
Slovenia39 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with kitchenette is very useful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munich area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$102 - AU$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leonardo hotel and residence munich, leonardo hotel residence munich
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
270
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEONARDO HOTEL & RESIDENZ MÜNCHEN (AU$102): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Munich, Germany) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Which popular attractions are close to Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Nearby attractions include Gruenwalder Stadion (0.8 km), Il Ghiottone Weine Et Cetera (0.6 km), and Ostfriedhof (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taverne Likavitos, Mystikon, and Schinken-Peter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
All Munich HotelsMunich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MunichHotels near Leonardo Hotel & Residenz München
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars