We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Schloss Hohenstein

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Schloss Hohenstein
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 28 July 2016

An amazing old castle turned into a hotel with 15 unique rooms and a high class restaurant. It's oldest parts are from 1305, but with major rebuilding during the centuries.. They call it romantic, but with it's solitude location on a wooden hill and misty surroundings, I would call it the ideal place for count Dracula to rest in on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgreger
Stephenson, Virginia
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed in a room with a king sized bed, and a sofa bed. The room was huge (probably at least as big as two normal hotel rooms), and styled in a modern way, while retaining the character of the castle. The castle itself was easy to find with a GPS, and offers free parking. The hotel has a restaurant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert58213
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We loved the hotel from the first moment. A real castle. As usual, we arrived rather late in the evening, as travel takes its time. We were friendly greeted, offered the choice to dine in two restaurants. We chose the more cozy one. What gourmet food they offer! The room we got used to be (as I understand) the former...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel M
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Was here for one night with bed and breakfast.Slept at the suites.it was warm with a nice view of the entry.The schloss is located some kilometers away from the town itself but for couples and families with kids, its one to consider.The heating system took long to heat the whole suite. But thank God we had carried our heating blanket.I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swits k
Sweden
Reviewed 30 August 2015

A feeling of being in a knight castle. Carefully renovated and comfortable rooms. Had eveningdinner at cozy schloss-schänke. Very tasty. Great breakfast - the only minus is that the items you wish for breakfast have to be ordered the night before, Lovely surroundings and close to the city of Coburg. Stayed for one night in june and will definitely.come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MedelSweden
Orlando Florida
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We've been to Schloss Hohenstein a number of times for dinner, but this was our first time staying overnight. What a beautiful and authentic experience! It's somewhat rustic, but the accommodations were comfortable and it was overall a wonderful stay. They offer specials so check the website to book a package!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveUrq
Auburn, AL
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Schloss Hohenstein is easy to reach with a GPS, but I would not want to try to do so with just a map. It is on a secluded hilltop just a few kilometers both from Coburg and the autobahn, but it is a world and centuries away from the city. More like a 19th century manor house than a medieval...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
Zionsville, Indiana
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked via the internet and had a confirmation immediately, and afgain within 24 hrs of our arrival had an introduction letter describing the property and procedure for arrival and check-in. We were graciously welcomed to this lovely historic site and enjoyed a pleasant spacious modern room overlooking the valley. We opted for breakfast in their dining room overlooking their...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zvilleschifs
Omegna (Verbania)
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I booked a room here, informing about late check in. I got there by taxi and hotel was closed....I had to call a taxi again a serch for another place where to spend the night. terrible experience I would not recommend to anyone. not a bell, nobody answering the phone. Front of the hotel was completely dark, with no light....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank PaoloBuzio
Schloss_Ahorn, Inhaber at Schloss Hohenstein, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Buzio, thank you for your feedback regarding your reservation in our hotel. Please see our statement about the happened situation. As you can see on the website our reception is open until 22:00 pm. That you requested a late check in we had no information. For such case you have the possibility to write a personal note in...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Schloss Hohenstein offers a wide range of room prices. The less expensive doubles are a good value considering the beauty of the site, its history and its architecture. Decorations overall are uninspiring and a bit out of harmony. Is this a castle hotel, or is it a flashy modern hotel? It does not succeed at being both. At the upper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonPaulo

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coburg hotels
5.0 km away
Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube
6.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Blankenburg Hotel
5.5 km away
Ringhotel Stadt Coburg
Ringhotel Stadt Coburg
#3 of 13 in Coburg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Grosch Hotel
Grosch Hotel
#4 of 13 in Coburg
29 reviews
5.5 km away
Stadtvilla Hotel
Stadtvilla Hotel
#5 of 13 in Coburg
12 reviews
4.1 km away
Vienna House Easy Coburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Schloss Hohenstein
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Schloss Hohenstein

Address: Hohenstein 1, 96482, Coburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Coburg
Price Range: $115 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Hohenstein 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Schloss Hohenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Schloss Hohenstein staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Schloss Hohenstein staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Arrive on a dark evening, preferrably during a thunderstorm. Look for a room with a coffin.”
 of 5 bubbles lgreger, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the front next to the tower provided easy access with a minimum of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles autraveler9, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms are reached via a circular tower stairway with very worn stone steps. Fun or a hazard? I saw no bad rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles DonPaulo, 26 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Every room is different - great views of the castle, courtyard and grounds. It would just depend on what you are willing to pay.”
  • Kapellen Zimmer - bedroom
  • inside door to Kapellen Zimmer
  • Kitchenette in Kapellen Zimmer
  • Kapellen Zimmer bathroom
  • Kapellen Zimmer - sort of rustic, wooden beams above
  • Knappen Zimmer bathroom
  • Knappen Zimmer bathroom
  • Knappen Zimmer - TV & Frig
 of 5 bubbles Secretary, 15 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Make sure you reserve a room in the main castle. We were given modern, boring, small rooms in a separate carriage house, but got them exchanged.”
 of 5 bubbles ROSS009, 27 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay