Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 31/12/24
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère

Traveller (165)
                  view from our room.
Room & Suite (28)
Restaurant
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#9 of 42 hotels in Val d'Isère
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
In 2023, L’Aigle des Neiges became part of the Experimental Group family and is now Experimental Chalet Val d'Isère. Over the year, the hotel will be reimagined into a winter’s haven of epic proportions, an escape in the heart of the French alps. The new hotel will include 110 rooms, two restaurants, a cocktail bar, a spa and a kid’s club. A place to relax, indulge and experience the thrill of skiing through fresh blankets of snow. ‍ Opening end of 2024.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Pool
Bar / lounge
Ski rentals
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Rue de la Poste, 73150 Val d'Isère France
Name/address in local language
745Reviews9Q+A52Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 449
  • 177
  • 52
  • 40
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
laidbackster wrote a review Jan 2020
Dorchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice hotel. The exit from the ski room is a short walk to the main lifts, and not too much uphill, which is my problem with many of the other hotels in Val. The ski room is excellent with staf presenting you with skis at the beginning of the day, and taking them from you at the end of the day. Good value ski maintenance on site, and also ski hire. We had half board, which over the week although good quality, menu options run low. Next time I would eat there 2/3 times and eat out for a change. We had a superior room which was comfy and excellent big bed. Staff in the hotel excellent and very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionADN, Room Division Manager at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you very much on behalf of all the the staff for your kind feedback and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you found the staff very helpful, Maxime and the Skiset team much appreciate the fact that you mention their quality of service. Obviously we have one of the best location in town and are delighted that you enjoyed it ! We hope to see you again very soon at Aigle des Neiges ! All the best, Matthieu GITTO Room Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
svenrost wrote a review Feb 2020
Oslo, Norway
5.0 of 5 bubbles
L’Aigle des Neiges offers the best accommodation for a successful ski holiday close to the slopes and with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful and provide efficient service. Staff in the ski rental shop, conveniently located in the basement, are skillful and provide expert advice and service. We have been at the hotel two times and will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We recommend a superior room, it offers great value and a good size for two.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionADN, Room Division Manager at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Sven, We could not thank you enough for this amazing review and for sharing your impressions with the TripAdvisor community. All the staff is delighted that your stay with us had met all your expectations especially regarding the detail oriented service that you kindly mention. We are looking forward to see you again very soon at Aigle des Neiges for your next ski holidays ! All the best, Matthieu GITTO Room Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SeaK9 wrote a review Apr 2020
Ringwood, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel more than 15 years ago when it was The Latitudes. We enjoyed it then but it has got even better. In fact it is difficult to think of anything to find fault with.
We booked with Crystal & travelled by Eurostar (Saturday Daytime). The train was an hour or so late arriving (technical problems meant we had to change trains in Gare du Nord – chaos but good natured!) but everything at Bourg was well organised and we had a quick transfer. We were taken right up to the door of the hotel (not always the case with Crystal but they were also excellent for this trip).
We were given a lovely welcome by the receptionist who took us to our room and explained everything. By the time we arrived the dining room itself was closed but she liaised with the kitchen. We were able to have more or less what we would have had in the dining room in our own room. By now we were quiet tired so having the meal in our room was a good option.
The room itself was very clean & comfortable. It was not huge but plenty large enough for us with lots of space (and hooks) for ski stuff. It had a balcony and a pleasant view over a side-street. The Hotel itself is in the heart of the Town but close to the slopes too.
There were several highs for us – friendly staff, excellent food, very organised & helpful ski room (you were handed your skis in the morning and they were taken from you on your return), nice bedroom & an attractive bar area. Some reviewers felt the dinner menu was a bit restrictive. True it had some dishes on every night but there were a couple of daily “specials” too. We wondered if we might dine in the Hotel’s Savoyard Restaurant but we did not bother as we so enjoyed the food in the main dining room (we like fine dining and the food was up there with the good ones). Wine was good and not too bad a price (we chose from the lower price range).
As regards the skiing, it was great. We had plenty of snow to begin with and it snowed whilst we were there. Plenty of powder off piste and, at times on piste too. We had one semi “white out” day and another where visibility was quiet poor but also some sunny days. Managed to get to both Glaciers which was a bonus. What surprised us was the slopes were quiet and queues were rare (I went to La Plagne at end of Feb and it was generally busier). Apparently the week before in Val was much busier and the town was full of young Scandinavians who wanted to party – TIP Check out dates of Scandinavian half term!
When we go back to Val d’Isere again we will definitely look to stay at the Aigle des Neiges again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were very disappointed by this hotel. Absolutely not 4 star quality. It felt more like a 2 star motel. The room was stuffy and not inviting, and the bed was not comfortable. Loud hallways, thin walls. The bar area completely lacked character. The cleaners didn’t even clean our glasses or replace our soap when we used it up. The only positive was it’s proximity to town and the slopes, which must be how they justify their ridiculous prices for this awful hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionADN, Room Division Manager at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Krblueberry, First of all thank you for having taken on your precious time review your experience with us on TripAdvisor. However, we are very concerned about your feedback that does not really stick to our standards of service as you can read in all the other reviews. The customer's satisfaction is a matter of sensitivity and we regret that you did not come to reception during your stay so we could have find a solution. Your disappointment is obvious as we noticed that you especially created your TripAdvisor account for this one and only review. We feel very sorry about that. However, we sincerely hope to see you again at Aigle des Neiges in order to prove our professionalism. Kind regards, Matthieu GITTO Room Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trevor wrote a review June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here 3 times before. The restaurant has always been excellent and on this occasion we found it even better than ever. The buffet style breakfasts provided all that could ever be desired. We stayed half board and the evening meals were genuinely sumptuous, expertly cooked with the finest ingredients -genuinely haut cuisine. The service was impeccable and friendly. We enjoyed the spa with pool and sauna, excellent after skiing. The ski room provided ski servicing and ski storage and was very convenient for access to both the Solaise and Olympique lifts. Having to leave early for our fight we were offered and took up the offer of some packed meals including a delicious breakfast wrap, fruit and drinks. Only slight quibbles are 1) that the restaurant did not open until 7pm which was a bit later than ideal for our 3 year old and 2) the bar, which was comfortable (and offered free snacks with olives, toasted crackers, nuts, tapenades, guacamole, cheese etc.) was rather expensive (but not I suppose by Val standards) and the wines were also dear. The rooms are comfortable and much larger than the French alpine cramped norm, and well provided for with a Nespresso maker, kettle, teas, TV, and a very comfortable bed. Our experience
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David B wrote a review Jan 2020
tel aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When one leave his home he wants to feel that his needs are being taken care of. The team in hotel L'aigle de Neige are doing the best they can to make you feel comfortable.
I asked the rooms to be extra super clean.They did it.
My reading glasses broke they fixed it.
I had to depart one day earlier they allowed it. What one can ask for more? Isn't it all about service? Well done Mathieu and Marion.

So I definitely recommend this hotel. No question about it.
but one need to know...
The spa is lacking of charm. There is no jakuzi, and the ski room service needs a little more finesse.

Breakfast is great and rich and the hotel has two restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionADN, Room Division Manager at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Sir, We could not thank you enough for this wonderful review ! All the team is absolutely delighted to note that the detail oriented service had met all your expectations ! Your recommendation is much appreciated. Make sure that your constructive remarks concerning our Spa and Skishop will be discussed very soon and will help us in order to improve our facilities. We hope to see you again very soon at Aigle des Neiges**** Val d'Isère Best wishes, Matthieu GITTO Room Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B R wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Aigle de Neige is a pretty good choice, being close to the slopes and well-run. The restaurant offers a good choice of well-presented dishes, the bar is welcoming (if expensive) and the staff are unfailingly pleasant and polite. Room location (as I suspect with other hotels in Val) is critical to how noisy or quiet your stay will be. This was our second visit, and we may well return, but I am not sure that I would rent my equipment from the SkiSet in the hotel again. The staff are lovely, but I think a wider choice of better equipment may be available in the many stores nearby.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastien TAILPIED, Directeur général at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at L'Aigle des Neiges. I am so pleased to know that you appreciate the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Best regards. Sebastien Tailpied General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AROZ wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To all of my fellow French Alps Lovers,
I adore this hotel. I stay at many upscale properties and this hotel has a cozy unindulgent sense about it. Perhaps not grand rooms yet very luxurious in terms of service to clients from the front desk to the spa to the restaurants. I love love love being pampered and I felt super special here, I love this property for adults' as well as families. Everyone knows you here and you are greeted with warmth and comfort when you walk back in from a cold day on the slopes. The restaurants are unpretentious yet deliver a gourmet experience, I felt like I could hang out in the lounge all night and listen to the live entertainment and mingle with internationals from all around the globe. The kids just fold right in yet there is still a very balanced setting for adults. The wine keeps pouring and the atmosphere is like a down comforter. Its really special when you can get to know all the pleasant people that work here, They are super super well trained in customer service is top notch which is right up my alley any time of they year. Stay here and nestle in. You won't regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bruno Ibanez, Directeur général at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 12 Feb 2022
Dear Traveler, Let us let you know that we love reading your story! We just would like to tell you : THANK YOU. All our teams do their missions with passion and your review are the proof. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon at Val d'Isère and in l'Aigle des Neiges. Best wishes, Bruno Ibanez General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
irenepearman wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the friendliness of the staff. Ski room staff very understanding and always happy - even offering to help put boots on and off! Very comfortable beds. Great choices at breakfast including make your own waffles.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionADN, Room Division Manager at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Irene, All the team would sincerely like to thank you for this fantastic review and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. It was a great pleasure to have you again at Aigle des Neiges and we are grateful your loyalty towards our property. We are delighted that as last year, you had a memorable moment here with us ! We can't wait to see you again next year ! Warmest regards, Matthieu GITTO Room Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina wrote a review Jan 2020
New South Wales, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 10 nights at Hôtel l'Aigle des Neiges. The position is perfect for wandering in the village and skiing with a short walk to the lifts. The pool and sauna wonderful after a days skiing and the superior room was small but very comfortable. Staff on all levels were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The lounge bar was very nice to sit but drinks were very expensive. Breakfast was fabulous. We would stay again without hesitation. Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DirectionADN, Rooms Division Manager at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Nina, We couldn't thank you enough for this wonderful feedback and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community ! It is so fortifying for all of our team to read such a nice review, as we give our best to provide a detail oriented service every day ! It was a great pleasure to have you at l'Aigle des Neiges and we already look forward to see you again in our mountains ! Warmest regards, Matthieu GITTO Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samliz asked a question June 2018
Nottingham, United Kingdom88 helpful votes
Hi, is there a boot room in the hotel? If so, are there heated boot racks? Thanks
Answer from trip_traveller212
Germany166 contributions79 helpful votes
Yes,at the same room where you can store your ski
Answer from Mahaguru
Bermuda86 contributions172 helpful votes
Hotel parking has limited spaces; reserve ahead! Alternatively, the central underground (public) parking is just around the corner and you can reserve a spot online.
Answer from anton P
Cambridge, United Kingdom25 contributions19 helpful votes
Not really. Our boys were 6 and 10 and we usually eat at 6.00pm when we are at home. Some evenings they would let us in at 7.00pm and dinner is served quite quickly if you have children. our boys went to be an hours or so later each night but slept to whenever so it didn't really make a difference in the end.
Answer from LPowner
Peterborough, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
Two adults and a child stayed in the junior suite. There are four large drawers and a smaller unit with smaller drawers together with the wardrobe space. Clothes fitted in but more of a struggle to find somewhere to put the cases.
DickieSen wrote a tip Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom52 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have a ski hire shop in the basement of yhe hotel. "
Read full review
Ron wrote a tip Feb 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom137 contributions112 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother with half board"
Read full review
Niitu wrote a tip Feb 2023
18 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"music from the bar was heard in second floor rooms."
Read full review
DharmK_13 wrote a tip Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom248 contributions123 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the bar after hours"
Read full review
JMS258NYC wrote a tip Jan 2023
New York City, New York26 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"opt for the biggest room you can get. The rooms are small."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Val d'Isère area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$657 - AU$929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoieVal d'Isère
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EXPERIMENTAL CHALET VAL D'ISÈRE - 2024 Prices & Reviews (France/Savoie) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Which popular attractions are close to Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Nearby attractions include Progression Ski & Snowboard School (0.2 km), Oxygene Ski & Snowboard School Val d'Isere (0.4 km), and Ecole du Ski Français (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Conveniently located restaurants include Favela, Avancher Hotel Restaurant, and L ' Arbre de Vie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère have airport transportation?
Yes, Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Val d'Isère.
Are any cleaning services offered at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
All Val d'Isère HotelsVal d'Isère Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Val d'IsèreHotels near Experimental Chalet Val D'Isère
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars