We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Silky by HappyCulture

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Warwickshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Single room was certainly a bit 'bijou' (i.e. compact), but fine for my purposes. What set Silky apart was, in contrast to my more common experience of French hotels, genuinely attentive and considerate staff. From the gentle encouragement to enjoy the free evening buffet, to the speedy follow-up of a colleague who'd left a shirt behind, great attention was paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AS963
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, great staff, loved the happy hour of local produce every evening. Great breakfast with a wide selection to suit everyone, but no cooked food. Stripped back interiors make for an interesting boutique hotel. On our visit the wifi was slow and unreliable, but this may not be typical. Free coffee and water bottles in reception, which was delightful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very cosy, has a fantastic location and a super kind staff!!! I had an excellent room and a delicious breakfast. The happy hour offered by them makes the ambience very friendly. I just would like to recommend bigger towels and a frigo in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Monica, So many thanks for your nice comment about your stay. We are very grateful for that. Hope welcome you again! Best regards, Julien

Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel gets bizarrely terrific reviews - I just don't get it, because to me it is a dump. Of course we got what was possibly the worst room in the building, up a narrow winding flight of stairs, with a ceiling so low I'm sure it is illegal. The room was very very basic, and grubby, it was overheated...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Clementine6
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Regards, Julien

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at the hotel Silky was perfect. The Silky is ideally located just steps from numerous restaurants, bakeries, bars and shops, including grocery. We were warmly greeted by the staff who, although were very busy, were very pleasant. We stayed in room number 201 which is large to host families. The furnishings were pleasant and well appointed. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DizzyTravel
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear client, My team and I thank you for your stay at the Silky hotel and grateful comment, we are very glad to read that you appreciated our service, room, location. With pleasure I will welcome you for your next trip in Lyon, Best regards Julien, manager

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location and excellent friently staff. Details that make you to feel at home. As constructive criticism: fire alarm activated at five in the morning. After 20 days, I hadn' t recieve the amount blocked when I make the reservation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lluís G
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Lluis, My staff and I thank you for your nice comment about our hotel. Concerning the fire alarm, we are sorry but a client has smoked in his room. Moreover, for the sum blocked on your account, I advise you to contact your bank. I hope to welcome you again at the Silky hotel. Best regards, Julien, manager

Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant location, good breakfast in the cosy basement breakfast room, Wifi is decent but login is a hassle. Nice renovated rooms, value for money is ok. Slept well and my room had a good view of the small market square in front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sven P
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Sven, Thank you for your stay at the Silky hotel and nice comment. I'm glad that you enjoyed our decoration, location and breakfast. I hope to welcome you again Best regards Julien, manager

Recife, PE
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for only one night, but I can say: amazing in every single aspect. Fine and comfortable room, nice breakfast, perfect location. All the staff were really friendly and very helpfull. Don't miss the HappyTime, is definitely a highlight: free local wine and appetizers. Delicious! I can´t wait to return to Lyon and stay at Hotel Silky again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebecaRSS
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Rebeca, Thank you for your great comment about your stay at the Silky hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you and I hope to welcome you soon. Best regards, Julien, manager

New York City
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Recently renovated hotel with charming interior design. Our room was large and comfortable. The color scheme was soothing and the room was absolutely peaceful and quiet at night. The bathroom was huge and had lovely bath products. The daily happy hour with local wines and cheese was a very special touch and a nice opportunity to visit with other guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 05
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear client, My team and I thank you for your grateful comment about the Silky. It's a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed all our services. I hope to welcome you soon. Best regards, Julien, manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

• supercentral location but no outside noises • staff superfriendly and efficient, at reception as well at gbreakfast room • the hotel offers a warm interior design: the atmosphere is antique and contemporary at the same time in the common areas as well in the very cute rooms and bathrooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luisfromitaly
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Hotel Silky by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Luis, My team and I thank you for your grateful comment about the Silky. It's a real pleasure to read you. I will be glad to welcome you again at the Silky hotel for your next trip. Best regards, Julien, manager

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Eco Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#13 of 192 in Lyon
940 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 192 in Lyon
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a comfortable place to stay, the new boutique immerses HappyCulture guests in a 100% Lyonnaise experience. Located in the heart of the city, the Silky invites customers in a universe steeped in history. The 46 rooms to reveal different colors beautiful moldings and cornices, in a spirit of mansion cozy and contemporary. High ceilings, Italian shower, decoration retro graphics. Equipped with TV 82 cm, espresso machines and tea, free WIFI and loan pocket wifi. Guests are invited each evening to our HappyTime wine route and the Lyon terroir. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Silky by HappyCulture

Address: 2 Place Francisque Regaud, 69002, Lyon, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Paix)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Price Range: $139 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silky by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silky by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Silky by HappyCulture staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Minneapolis, Minnesota
3 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Silky by HappyCulture staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No problem with noise”
 of 5 bubbles monicac836, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms and 1 and 2 at all cost”
 of 5 bubbles Clementine6, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cozy place with excellent treatment and details for Guests”
 of 5 bubbles llu_sg, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor - we faced the main street but the room was so quiet. Never heard any street sounds from the cafes below.”
 of 5 bubbles 05, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not on the 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Moshe_Kara, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5