We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
See the most recent reviews
Showing 551: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 20 February 2017

One of the best hotels I had visited in France, very efficient and polite staff with really beautiful and comfortable rooms. What really drives your attention is the view from the bay and old port area that really will be imprinted on your mind and you can get it from your room, breakfast area and from the restaurants. Food is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank galvaon
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Having booked at the Novotel and subsequently cancelled based upon the rather poor reviews, we decided to book a room at the Sofitel. We are familiar with the Sofitel at Lyon and expected the same quality. Big deception. Upon arrival with the "rehearsed" reception and the generous offer of an free icetea, we were told that we were having a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LIEVEN V
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion after your stay with us, and have wanted to discover our hotel. We are very sorry to read that your experience in our hotel was not up to your expectations and we apologize for the unfortunate inconvenience encountered during your stay that are in no...

Brighton UK
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Stayed here in September for my husband's birthday and booked a room with a terrace overlooking the Vieux Port. The view alone was worth every penny, breakfast was excellent, staff couldn't have been more helpful. The problem was the pool, which was shared with a neighbouring hotel, grubby, poorly maintained, crowded and noisy - there was a 35 degree heat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate Russell
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay which was unexpected and due to our return flights being cancelled at the last moment. A panicked call from the airport to check room availability (it was New Year's Eve) involved a 5 minute sales pitch from the reservations department before room availability was confirmed! The hotel really is well positioned with great views over the old...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CPH0_0
Lutry, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is great with a stunning view on the "vieux port". The food is great and the bar on the top floor offers a great choice of cocktails. A special thanks to the staff, they were all very welcoming and dedicated to help the guests to make their stay exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sabri-Mouna
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located in the heart of old marseille city overviewing old harbor, and view from bar in undoubtedly one of the most beautiful view of this historical city. Hotel is continuously modernized with very comfortable and quiet room, facility is very nice and staff extremely friendly and efficient! The place to stay in Marseille . From there you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maclepau
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, What can we say except thank you for this glowing review following your stay in our walls. It is with pleasure that we will share your compliments to all our teams, who have at heart to make every stay unforgettable. Thereby, it's an honour to read that you have been really satisfied by your experience at...

Victoria, Seychelles
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The Sofitel is probably the best address in Marseille, with a stunning location looking over the old port and the city. This is my 3rd visit over the last 15 or so years and I am never disappointed! The rooms are very comfortable, great bed and amenities. The staff is great (especially the concierges & reception) and they go out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Derek S
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Mr, We sincerely thank you for your confidence and for choosing once again the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port for your stay in Marseille. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and you enjoyed the discreet and attentive service of our staff. I will share your compliments to all our teams, who have at heart...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 November 2016

I tried on a saturday afternoon the spa of the Sofitel Vieux Port. Staff is very helpfull. Massage was very good quality although the hammam was not working. There's a lack of luxury for this kind of place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _charleshuggh
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Mr Huggh, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the So Spa, your comment about the professionalism and the attention of the staff will be shared with them. However we are sorry to read that the hamman was not working, We can assure you that this was...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped for two night over a weekend. Very efficient and friendly reception, although I'd checked in online. Lovely view from the room balcony and only a short walk to the Vieux-Port itself. Service in the brasserie was excellent, with tasty food. Had drinks both nights in the Dantes Bar on the top floor. This was largely occupied by young and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanVGS
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Mr, We thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us. It is with pleasure that we will share your compliments to the reception team, who have at heart to make every stay unforgettable. We are delighted to read that you enjoy your room with the balcony and the fantastic view on...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I like the Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port very much and have stayed there a number of times. However, in the last stays the personnel attitude is deteriorating to the point that I do not think i will stay there again. Examples: - I ordered a soup in my room and a big tray arrived with many goodies - but no spoon!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C

1,175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (889)
Viewed
View from Room (109)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (406)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Standard Room City View (29)
Viewed
Standard Room Port View (32)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range: $266 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Teddington
Hong Kong
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Belgrade, Montana
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“port view, deck room”
trip647, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You must request a room with a view of the port”
Riddle, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you treat yourself too cean view”
StevenJson, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with the view to the port, it is just astonishing !”
galvaon, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a higher floor”
Kate Russell, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5