We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Excelsior

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Excelsior
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled by Eurostar to Lille and then TGV to St Raphael. The train station is close to the hotel which is perfectly positioned opposite the beach and within minutes of the harbour for boat trips. It is a friendly, well looked after hotel and our room was very clean and pleasant with a nice bathroom with bath and hand... More 

Helpful?
Thank suemA7538HG
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comment and notation; be sure the whole staff will be glad to welcome you for another lovely stay ! We hope to see you again very soon also ! All our best regards Carinne More 

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

A very good Hotel in an excellent location, for the Promenade and attractions, for trains and for cruise boats, excellent Buffet Breakfast, well-presented quality food, good service, very helpful Reception, all in all could not have asked for more and felt the Hotel surpassed expectation on all fronts

Helpful?
1 Thank philb07
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many many thanks for your comments!The whole staff is glad to know you had a lovely stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon, Carinne More 

Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Excelsior on a holiday booked through Diamond Rail. The hotel is ideally situated on the sea front, just a five minute walk from the rail station, and close to the marina for the catamaran to Saint Tropez. St Raphael is a perfect base to explore this area of Provence by train, boat... More 

Helpful?
Thank N-B-KingsLynn
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear "N-B-KingsLynn", A lot of thanks for sharing such a long and sincere comment about your stay. As an information, all the restaurant's chairs have been cleaned last week! We were glad to welcome you and we hope to see you again very soon, with a Diamond Holiday group or by your own. All our best wishes Carinne More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

A 3 star only. The location is great, near the train station, restaurants and boats that go to nearby places like Saint Tropez. The room was good but despite being on the first floor the Internet would not connect. The breakfast is for 3 star hotel, not having anything to complain.Any way this hotel is a good option for those... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLLFreitas
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear "JLLFreitas", Many thanks for your comment and notation about your stay at the Excelsior. We sincerely hope to welcome you for another stay. All our best regards Carinne More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We were booked into Excelsior with via Rail Discoveries who use Diamond Rail, as it was a cheap package booked at the last moment, we were not sure what to expect, but far exceded our expectations. Booking through R.D was easy and well organised, booked a room with seaview, turned out to be good size with ensuite, hotel enjoys a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mel S
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear "Mel S" Thank you so much for this pleasant comment and excellent notation. We hope to welcome you soon with the RD group or by your own. Looking forward to seeing you ! Best wishes, Carinne More 

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a beer on our shore visit on a tui cruise. Good cold beer the good we saw at people's tables looked amazing. Toilets very very clean. Only lost 1 point as service to get a drink a bit slow but this place is fine with good views of the sea front. May stay here if prices right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vinney2015
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The hotel is right opposite the beach on the boulevard. Whilst it is an older style hotel we found it very comfortable, and close to the centre of town. There is a night market on Friday and Saturday nights on the beach boardwalk. The town has lots of restaurants and reasonable shopping. The restaurant is excellent with some great meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank 800Mobile
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Excelsior. Be sure your comment is really appreciated and we will do our best in order to progress in terms of breakfast quality... Looking forward to welcoming you soon, best regards Carinne More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This is a two star hotel with perfect location. The rooms are small small small.!two normal people can hardly not stay in the same room with one each suitcase. We payed extra for sea wiev but it was with a mirror:-) Breakfast is Moore of a joke, don't eat here go out instead!

Helpful?
Thank tottelisa
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear "Tottellisa", Thanks for sharing your impression about your recent stay at the Excelsior. We are really sorry to be informed you were disappointed by your room and breakfast; we will do our best to give you another room, a bigger one, for your next visit (if we are enough lucky to see you again!) and to improve our breakfast... More 

cliftonville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Excelsior. Although we booked with Holidays by Rail, the company fulfilling the holiday was Diamond Rail. All the transfers were smooth with no problems. The Hotel is located in a perfect position for anybody travelling by rail, five minutes walk from the Railway Station and situated on the main promenade. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KentishMaid2149
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Thanks to you dear "KentishMaid2149"! Your positive comments is our reward... See you soon, with a group or individually Best wishes Carinne More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Spent a week at this hotel with Diamond Rail holidays. Lovely room, excellent service and food. Receptionists very helpful, one is English. Very well positioned right on the promenade, within easy walking distance of many bars, excellent market on a Sunday. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Small wardrobe for two people, but adequate for one. Rooms very quiet. Free WiFi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lasty65
Excelsior83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear "Lasty65", Many thanks for sharing your feedback; the whole staff are glad to be informed about your lovely stay. Hope to welcoming you again soon! Best regards Carinne More 

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Marina
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Marina
#2 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
553 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
154 reviews
3.0 km away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le 21 Hotel
Le 21 Hotel
#10 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
119 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
#24 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
96 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel de Valescure
Hotel de Valescure
#7 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saint Raphael is a lively and charming town situated between Cannes and Saint Tropez, on the Mediterranean coastline, with a nice sandy beach, port lined with pretty cafes and restaurants and a bustling center with shops and bars. The family run Hotel Excelsior enjoys an excellent situation on the sea front promenade, beside the Casino and a stone-throw from the sandy beach. It is an ideal base from which to explore Provence by car or by the excellent train system which runs through Saint Raphael. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Promenade Rene Coty, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Price Range: $144 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel St Raphaël
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Excelsior staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Kings Lynn
over a year ago
Cardiff
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Excelsior staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to saty in a room where is able to connect the Internet.”
 of 5 bubbles JLLFreitas, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room over looked the entrance , with a seaview.”
  • View along the prom
  • View from prom 100yds from hotel
  • View from boat trip of church behind hotel
 of 5 bubbles 651mels, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no parking at the hotel, just down the road in a public car park that is easily accessible”
 of 5 bubbles 800Mobile, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sea views are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 1olgab, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Opt for a sea view room.”
  • View from a1st floor side room overlooking the entrance.
 of 5 bubbles CaroleS730, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay