We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Artea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Artea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Artea
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely great location. Room was clean. The staff weren't particularly friendly, except for the kitchen staff. There is no elevator. Our room was quite small and the bathroom very small. Parking is in a public carpark a few blocks away and there is no hotel discount. Breakfast was rather ordinary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mareesa B
HOTELARTEAAIXCENTRE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our home. We are sorry to see that you were not totally satisfied by our hotel and services. We apologise for the lack of an elevator. We know it is a drawback and we will always do our best to make...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The hotel is in a very old and charming building. The down side is that there is no elevator and the desk is up a flight of stairs. The front desk staff, however, were very nice and helped me with my suitcases. The room was not spectacular but it was clean and the bathroom was nice. It is located near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear PENNY C. , We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our home. We are very happy to learn that your stay went well and that you enjoyed our hotel's location and services. Our hotel in indeed very well located and we are happy to make you discover our beautiful city center...

Moscavide, Portugal
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I don't think one can get a better Hotel in terms of price and location ... The reception team was very professional and so was the team at the breakfast room. Despite the fact that the room was not particularly big it was very clean and that counts as a major issue.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iolandaa655
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for your very positive comment following your stay in our home. We are very happy to learn that your stay went well and that we were able to fully satisfy your needs. I will share your comment with the whole team in order to encourage them to continue this way! I hope we...

Ramat Gan
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Unfortunately I will not recommend this hotel. The location is great! but... No elevator to the front desk. We were told that there is an elevator to the first floor where our room was located. We followed the instructions to a green gate which was leading to a service path which was dirty, and there was the elevator which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chaim G
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Mr GELDMAN, As already mentionned in our previous exchanges, we apologise again for the bad experience you had in our hotel. These are not things that should happen and i guarantee you that i will personnally take all necessary measures so that it does not happen again. Kind regards, Gabriel Mewton, Front desk manager.

Reviewed 16 September 2016

The Artea is conveniently located for a walk to the Cours Mirabeau and also right by the underground car park. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the overnight parking charge was less than 15 euros. The hotel has no lift, but we only had a small overnight bag and needed the exercise. Our room was on the 2nd floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakemmin
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for your positive feedback following your stay in our home. We are very happy to see that your stay went well and that you enjoyed our hotel's great location deep in the heart of the city center. We know that we have a lot of work to do to improve our services but...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

On the plus side, this hotel is well located near the centre of town But the decor and furnishings are badly in need of updating. There is a miniscule bathroom where some actions were almost physically impossible. No lift to reach reception on first floor or rooms above. Finally, I object to being asked to pay on arrival; it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeflloyd
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay in our home. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to fullfill your wishes and that your stay did not go as well as you had hoped. We do our best every day to make sure our guests' stays go as smoothly as possible...

Reviewed 26 July 2016

This hotel is charming and old. Rooms are on second and third floors, no elevator so those who have trouble with stairs should avoid. Rooms were large, clean and well cared for. Service is limited, the staff seems fairly small since the property itself is also not large.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Donna C, We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our home. We are happy to see that overall your stay went well and that you enjoyed our location deep in the heart of Aix-en-Provence! We apologise for the lack of an elevator, it is a certain drawback and we do everything...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Very good location on the outskirts of the Old Town. We were in a 2 bedroom room in an adjacent building. I think that some people may find this a bit disconcerting as it is a walk from the main hotel & obviously not near to the reception etc. We weren't particularly phased by it. The room was ok, could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Glenn S. , We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our home. We are very happy to see that overall your stay went well and that you enjoyed our location deep in the heart of our beautiful city of Aix-en-Provence. We are also glad that our staff and service fulfilled your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The Hotel Artea is excellently situated in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, in an old building just a few minutes' walk from the Cours Mirabeau. The rooms we had were comfortably spacious, the bathrooms small but sufficient. I say "rooms" plural, however, because when we arrived, we were not allocated the type of room requested (and acknowledged) when booking. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Columbine31260
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our home and for giving such a detailed comment that will help us improve our services. We our happy to see that overall your stay went well and that despite the problems you encountered you managed to recognize that we have...

STUTTGART
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I asked several times - evening in booking - for a quiet room. When we arrived in the morning, we were told that we get one on the second floor - the room was just not yet ready. When we came back in the evening they gave us a room on the first floor facing directly to the street -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carmenk118
HOTELARTEAAIXROTONDE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea, responded to this review

Dear Mrs KAUFFMAN, I am deeply upset to take note of your feedback following your stay in our home because you were clearly not satisfied by our services. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with your room. I will have a word with my reception team in order to see what went wrong and why...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#27 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
231 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
517 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#35 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
615 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
366 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#29 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
L'hotel Artea se situe au coeur d'Aix-en-Provence, a quelques pas du Grand Theatre de Provence et de la fontaine de la Rotonde. Vous serez seduit par le charme provencal typique de cet etablissement situe dans l'ancienne maison du compositeur Darius Milhaud. Les chambres sont decorees dans les teintes chaudes et equipees d'une salle de bain privative avec seche-cheveux, d'une television par satellite et d'une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite. Un bar-salon est a votre disposition, ainsi qu'un garage prive propose sur place. A seulement cinq minutes de marche, l'hotel est tres facilement accessible a partir de la gare ferroviaire. Situe a quelques pas de la zone pietonne, l'hotel Artea est le point de depart ideal pour partir a la decouverte de cette ville. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Address: 4 Boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $112 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Artea staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Artea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another hotel”
  • Broken tiles
  • Broken tiles
 of 5 bubbles ChaimG_11, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I asked several times - evening in booking - for a quiet room. When we arrived in the morning, we were told that we get one on the second floor - the room was just not yet ready. When we came back in the evening they gave us a room on the first floor facing directly to the street - not calm at all. The room is very little - you can't even open a suitcase without blocking the door - and the smell was really strange ... we will not come back again.”
 of 5 bubbles carmenk118, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 220 - in the back. Smallish but okay. We started in room 137 which was isolated from the rest of the hotel. Moved.”
 of 5 bubbles pb358, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Take one on the second floor - the highest!”
 of 5 bubbles 921ianH, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor which was great because we had a baby and a stroller to carry everytime.”
 of 5 bubbles GabrielaDK, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5