We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence de France

Expedia.comUSD 141*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence de France
Residence de France
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Residence de France
 Click to rate
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On a map, the hotel appears to be quite a ways from the old port...but it's not. Just a short 10 minute walk, past lovely boutiques and shop--all local--no chains! We opted for a small suite (great price) in the original ivy-covered building, as opposed to a room in the newer tower. It was perfect for us. Plus, this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely location, we had a suite, with a kitchen, shower/ bathroom which was huge, lounge, a very nice large bedroom, and hall, all fully equipped at 140 euros a night. it over looked the court yard and was very light and quiet a very peaceful nights sleep was had by us both, woke up to the birds singing. Great to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karin b
Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel advertises itself as five star. I got a "classic" room for two. I would say the room was about 3,5 stars. The bed is fine. The bathroom is old and worn-down, 2-3 stars there. The breakfast is quite basic, but I get what I need. I did not have it included in price; it had been much cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy L
Bergerac, France
Reviewed 17 March 2017

If this is a 5 star hotel, I have stayed in 2 star hotels that were better. The rooms are scruffy, cupboards don't close, stains on the carpets and the whole room needed painting, chipped everywhere. The staff were almost rude the morning we went to pay, we had been quoted 97 euro the night including breakfast and they charged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hedi53
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Hedi, We are not very happy after reading your comment, because what you describe doesn't looks like our hotel. First of all, the room. Please let us know as soon as possible what your real name is or what was your room number. So we will investigate, full check the room and refund you if it appears, as you...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

we stayed one night in a Classic suite (Room 11) - all good, fridge, 2 rooms both with TV and well equiped bathroom bath robes supplied. Staff on the desk very helpful and courtious. Underground car park in the centre of town is diffinately worth booking in advance. Breakfast had a good choice although off season we where the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We appreciate very much when people get happy in our place. January is often very calm, so all the hotel was yours. If you came back in summer it may be different ! We hope you made a safe way home and will be very please to welcome you again....

Reviewed 20 October 2016

Only stopped one night but what a fantastic hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming on arrival. Our room was in the old part of the hotel and was nicely furnished and spacious. What really makes the hotel is the lounge, dining area and bar at the rear of the property with its open fire, comfy armchairs and homely feel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are very grateful to read your very nice comment. We hope you had a safe way home et would be delightful welcoming you again. Very best regards

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We picked this hotel as we wanted a central location in order to have supper in one of the seafood restaurants near the harbour. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. We were courtyard facing so not affected by any street noise. The decorations in the hotel were of good taste to suit the style of the building. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank banglo
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, thank you very much for your nice comment and very good notation. We are happy you had a great stay in our hotel. The harbour offers many fantastic seafood restaurants, 'must go' places. And it's only a few minutes walk, don't need to take the car. We hope you had a safe way home and lokk forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a large group booking. Overall it was a very positive experience with just one downside, but the Reception service was so good I have rated it as Excellent overall. Here is my usual, balanced review and top tips. Here's what I liked: The hotel is well located, just a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlisonJCowan
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Alison, I think this is what we can call a Review ! You look very experienced at writing such fantastic articles. Let me tell you your contribution is very important for us to improve our work, and very interesting for other guests in order to choose our hotel. You reach quicly was seems to be some of our main...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a last minute superior double room hoping for a comfortable one-night stay in La Rochelle. The room was very tired to say the least, with unfinished paintwork around the windows and water stains on the ceiling. The bathroom was an adequate size but there was only a sink and a small bath - (the toilet was separate) -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L6650KOluisa
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, dear Madam, We feel very upset about your stay. Obviously we encountered issues with the room, and should'nt have given you that one wich is still needing refurbishment. We we're very full lats week because of the Grand Pavois boat show. We apologize for the way it happened. Please get back to us so we can refund you...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Having booked a classic suite, I discovered this only had a bath with shower attachment but on arrival the hotel had upgraded us to a deluxe suite ( with shower and kitchenette) free of charge which I thought was a nice touch. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The hotel had a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz22_traveller
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Liz, thank you so much for posting this very kind advice. We were happy to upgrade to to our new suite, as it is very important to us you get the best unit possible and best value for money. Our breakfast is whorth it, but there are so many nice places in La Rochelle to discover. Many clients do...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (37)
Viewed
Duplex Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.9 km away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 48 in La Rochelle
555 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#17 of 48 in La Rochelle
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
677 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#18 of 48 in La Rochelle
216 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming hotel in the historical town center of La Rochelle. RESIDENCE DE FRANCE offers 54 rooms and suites classified 5-stars. On site, you will get : full hotel service both for hotel, 24/24 welcome desk, parking, bar with meal offers, garden, heated swimming-pool, lounge with piano and library, free Wi-Fi in both rooms and lounge, buffet breakfast, meeting rooms etc ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence de France

Address: 43 Rue du Minage, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range: $155 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence de France staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bearsted, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Maidstone
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Residence de France staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was a suite which faced the court yard which was very quiet, room 134”
412karinb, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get something else than "classic" - maybe the rooms in the old part are closer to 4 (or 5?) star.”
andylG1275OB, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't choose a room in this hotel, go elsewhere it's a rip off”
Hedi53, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe suite has shower”
Liz22_traveller, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to negotiate for a better room or go somewhere else”
englishmanabroad2016, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 141* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 142
Orbitz.comUSD 142
PricelineUSD 142
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates