We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Volney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Le Volney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Saumur was busy when I was looking for a room at the last minute, but I managed to book the last room in this hotel - a family room for four - just for myself. You can therefore understand that I have no complaints on room size! The separate bathroom and lavatory - not to mention the walk in wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mchumph
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive opinion. Specially for the manager of the hotel ! We don't have problems with wifi and we were surprised for your comment. Best regards.

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel does what it says on the tin. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. There is free WiFi but it can be intermittent. The breakfast is just about worth the price if you can't be bothered going out for it. The best thing about the hotel is that the staff speak English, are friendly, accommodating and try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ardasnails
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive opinion. It's really a satisfaction for us to see our efforts recognized.

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I have read the complaints about this place and some are fair but you must put them into context, for the price you will not find better seriously, the rooms are small but clean and the staff and owners try their best to help us english only speakers. Really had an enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive opinion specially for the manager !

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is right in the centre of town, a short walk from the chateau, the tank museum, and the wine caves. We picked this because it was central, and cheap. The rooms aren't big...don't bring cats. But they're clean and the staff are very helpful. Their English is much better than my French.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steview162
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thanks for youy positive opinion. For the cats it's better to reserve the biggest room !

melplash
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We where told about this hotel by the tourist information after looking at it we decided to stay and it is a very nice hotel,large room with a. Shower,the breakfast was fine and the owner spoke English

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madherbie
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive opinion. Best regards.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

A warm welcome in a small, unpretentious hotel. Very comfortable beds. Outstanding bread and croissants for breakfast. Helpful staff and a convenient location. What more does one need? Why stay anywhere else in Saumur?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinS911
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

We try to receive our guests like members our family and we are happy to see your satisfaction. Best regards.

Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Availability , staff, cleanless and shops proximity were very good . We appreciated this hotel despite the fact that we went here for a very bad news in our family Personal and services are very good Thank's

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliviercS5054PF
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive opinion !

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Just go and discover ! Everything is perfect The high livel standards of this place will make you happy ! Located just behind the Park Hayat . If you want to dine or lunch In place vendome area. So romantic Art Deco decoration p

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederic2paris
Southampton UK
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We only stayed one night but were very satisfied with the hotel. The bed was comfortable, room was small but clean - ensuite room with bath. The proprietor was helpful and recommended restaurants - I left a couple of garments in the room, he phoned me and we arranged for them to be returned to me. I have no complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sovereigndrive
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive opinion. We hope see you again for your next stay in Saumur; Best regards.

London
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

On first inspection seems a nice budget hotel with cheery basic rooms and nice staff. However our bathroom floor / plugs were filthy with lots of grime and hair and out bed sheets had large spots of blood all over them! We submitted feedback direct so hopefully these issues won't repeat themselves but I can't recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becca_Was_Here
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review

Thank for your opinion. We are very surpised because cleanness is always recognized by our guests. Best regards.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 km away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#9 of 24 in Saumur
194 reviews
0.4 km away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saumur
199 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 24 in Saumur
357 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel l'Ecuyer
Hotel l'Ecuyer
#17 of 24 in Saumur
48 reviews
2.5 km away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel le Volney is located in the heart of the Loire Valley, in Saumur downtown famous for its "Cadre Noir" (national horse riding school, its castle, its wines, its caves...This charming Hotel offers you a very special and warm welcome. Its rooms are personalized and some of them have air conditioning.Located in a very quiet area, close to downtown, its narrow pedestrian streets, its restaurants, its commercial area, Hotel Le Volney is really the place to stay if you want to visit Saumur and its area, Loire and castles.In a relaxed atmosphere, the owners will inform you about Saumur, Loire Valley and so on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Volney

Address: 1 rue Volney, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Price Range: $67 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Volney 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Volney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Volney Saumur
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saumur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Volney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't miss the breakfast!!”
 of 5 bubbles MartinS911, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“To be recommended”
 of 5 bubbles oliviercS5054PF, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Clean and beautifully decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Lizm750, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay