We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Solar Hotel

Show Prices
#847 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Solar Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was not satisfied with our stay at the Solar Hôtel. I found out upon our arrival the the Solar Hôtel is actually two hotels, Solar Hôtel and Hôtel Le Lionceau, which is around the corner at 22 rue Daguerre. I was informed that we would be staying at Le Lionceau. I would have been ok with that if Le...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The staff is courteous and helpful. The eco-friendly posture is carefully aligned to be consistent with profit. Don't believe everything they say about it. They claim to have no WiFi in the rooms to avoid harmful radiation - baloney, there are dozens of WiFi signals in the rooms, just not ones that you can use. Supposedly you can have WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fringe_Gatherer
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Nice eco hotel. Very small but comfortable. They offer bikes for u. Good loco when you take a flight at orly. Veryquiet street with restaurants, supermarkets nerby. Very good breakfast and friendly sfaff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLINIO H
Bristol, England
Reviewed 24 July 2016

They advertise having aircon but the truth is there's a sign in the room saying aircon is centrally controlled and they only turn it on in extreme weather. On the night we arrived it was 29 celsius but the aircon remained off so we had to sweat. The hotel is tiny. Four small rooms per floor, plus the lift shaft....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mx6
Marie-Charlotte J, Project manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing this useful feedback ; we are glad you have enjoyed your stay despite these small inconveniences ! For your information ; iron & hairdryer are available at the reception desk, and you have full access to the kitchen, meaning that you can use the kettle, coffee machine & the fridge anytime you want. Unfortunately our air...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Spent a wonderful week at the Solarhotel. The rooms are relaxing and clean and contain everything we needed. The breakfast is included and very good. The hotel locates in a quiet neighbourhood outside the heart of the city, with very easy transportation, it gets you any major attractions within minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
Marie-Charlotte J, Project manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Andre for this nice review, we are glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon !

Reviewed 8 June 2016

We are a family couple with 7 years old son. Arrived at the hotel on 31st of May in a terrible rainy weather, but it was rather earlier for check-in. Despite the fact that there were still no available double rooms, we were given a studio for the same prize in a partnering hotel just around the corner. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dimitar D
Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

The location was excellent! Only a short walk from the RER and Metro stations and best of all, just around the corner from the food market street. This street had 2 supermarkets with excellently priced food. Also so many cafes, a fish market, fruit and vegetable market and wonderful patisseries!! We had understood from our booking details that breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie8082
Marie-Charlotte J, project manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Annie for your comment we'll take into consideration some of your suggestions. We hope to see you soon !

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We've been going to Paris for years but this was our first visit to the Solar Hotel. It won't be our last. No, they don't speak good English, it's all very informal, no mod cons like air conditioning, a bit shabby ...all those negative views are right. But....it's laid back, friendly, you can eat goodies bought from the local shops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roseandco
Marie-Charlotte J, Project manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Rose for this nice comment, we hope to see you soon !

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Every time I come to Paris I stay at this hotel. The staff are kind, the price is right, the location is easy to get to, and the nearby pedestrian street is full of restaurants where you can dine. Additionally the coffee is delicious, the baguettes and croissants are plentiful, and the bio soaps and shampoos smell divine.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beebee01
Marie-Charlotte J, Project Manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear beebee01, thank you very much for this kind review! We are pleased that you appreciate our breakfast : 100% organic products and for 90% of them, locally produced. See you soon!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 October 2015

This was a small boutique hotel, that catered to a French clientele. Its signature was being eco-friendly, which I wasn't thrilled about. For example, the AC was only run when the temperature was consistently over 85F outside, and our sheets were only washed once a week. Some visitors may be comfortable with this, but it was a bit of surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelbirdette

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#533 of 1,796 in Paris
417 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Du Midi Paris Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#471 of 1,796 in Paris
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
#1,367 of 1,796 in Paris
97 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#514 of 1,796 in Paris
608 reviews
Montparnasse
Helzear Montparnasse Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montparnasse

Neighbourhood Profile
Montparnasse
The namesake tower of Montparnasse dominates over the landscape but the fun part is the throbbing life that goes on below it. Bright lights, busy cinemas, brasseries and diners encompass hidden museums and parks to entertain the masses. Long avenues lead away from the tower to take you to unsuspecting places and historical monuments and treasures. In between lie adorable ivy-covered houses with beams and small gardens to match. Just a short metro ride away from the centre of Paris this neighbourhood has something for every hour of the day.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
89€ for both single and double rooms Solar Hotel is the first low-cost urban ecological hotel. In this spirit we have a single price for all our rooms and it includes not only breakfast but also access to computers, internet, phones and bicycles. 89€ for either a single or a double room, with absolutely everything included! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solar Hotel

Address: 22 rue Boulard | 14th Arr, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Price Range: $109 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Solar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Voyageurs Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Paris
#128 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solar Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Suva, Fiji
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Solar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are about the same”
 of 5 bubbles Fringe_Gatherer, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Consider bringing your own iron, kettle, and slippers.”
 of 5 bubbles mx6, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request an upper floor. The lower floors have windows (no wifi), but the upper floors have balcony-like doors and views of the Montparnasse”
 of 5 bubbles travelbirdette, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles H3635ETsimoneb, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“don't take the street side (there is a school in front and it can be very noisy)”
 of 5 bubbles semley2015, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay