St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris

Traveller (425)
Rooms: clean and bright
Room & Suite (432)
belushi's bar cafe at the St Christopher's Canal Paris
Dining (59)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$135
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$122
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 73 hostels in Paris
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Safe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more

Location

159 Rue de Crimée, 75019 Paris France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Orly Field
17.9 km
See all flights
Charles De Gaulle Airport
18.4 km
See all flights
Crimée
4 minParis Metro
1,423Review46Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 491
  • 563
  • 227
  • 71
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KasiaMariaLondon wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed at St Christopher Inn Canal in Paris in August 2020. It’s not far from metro and and attractions are easily reached. Views of the Canal are beautiful and morning coffee at downstairs bar terrace is a pleasant start to a busy day.. My room was clean, had towels changed and bathroom cleaned daily. All the precautions for Covid-19 are implemented. Hand sanitation stations are plenty,. Wearing face mask in downstairs premises is compulsory: bar, reception, cleaning team and security are wearing face covering at all times. The crew is very friendly and helpful, will go an extra mile to make sure they deliver excellent service.
Now, the only drawback is that there’s no small fridge in private en-suite rooms which is a complete disappointment. Usually August in Paris have a heat wave as this year too. The temperatures were reaching almost +40 C on the daily basis, the heat was unbearable . Of course there’s no air conditioning, after all it’s just a hostel. In such high temperatures not providing this little luxury for private en-suite rooms is a big disappointment. If you’re looking for a longer stay ie. up to a week or over during hot, French summer and you don’t mind any of the above mentioned then that’s your place. If you’re looking for short stay in a clean, friendly place near shops with great metro connections then this is a place for you too.
Btw my tv was broken, reception tried to fix it but sadly couldn’t. Would’ve been nice to watch a bit of news and metro at late night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yollyej wrote a review Aug 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super histle, very Clean, friendly and helping stuff, with a bar with TV, soccer, hamburgers and other stuff, renting knives etc, whatever you wish, positive people and stuff, great location near the river, where at the evenening people come and sit and enjoy the day/evening, nearby Velib rent-a-bikes 50m from entry of hostel, Metro about 300k, restaurants nearby, also stores, bakery, swimming in Siena River 300m away, piecefully inside, busy and fun outside, since many bars by the river around, also pretty near all parts of Paris that are important. Inside smart offers for whatever person needs, forgot a towel-borrow one, same with locker, sleepers, etc., a hostel that is being Developed according to the peoples needs, would highly recommend it! Thanks for a Gr8 stay and fun time, have enjoyed it as max as possible 😊😉

Eiffel Tower 10km, Moulen Rouge etc. 4km,busy City center etc. 5km, all near with a bike/Metro/Bus...
Have missed only kitchen, but bar gave me all I need, cannot say a negative word, since developed better than most hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Yollyej, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex wrote a review Feb 2020
Malaga, Spain5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for only 1 night but the experience was very good. Usually, hostels are not the place where you would like to stay more but this time I wished I didn’t book my next place. As I arrived in front of the building, the entrance was visible, but it goes through the bar called Belushi´s. The ambiance at the reception was welcoming, and I loved how lively the bar downstairs was. The food was amazing and had very competitive prices. If you are staying at the hostel, you get a bracelet that entitles you to 25% off your bill for food and drinks.

Full Review on my blog, link in bio.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: water views, backpackers, young hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Belushis19, Responsable relations clients at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Hello Alex, Thank you very much for your amazing review. We're glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal. We've bee happy to receive you and we hope we'll see you soon again! Have a nice day and a lovely week-end. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Commen taire wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
COVID WARNING !
Some latin staff tend to allocate people of colour, regardless of attitude, in the same rooms than economically deprivated people, sometimes with doubtful hygiene and without respecting the allocation of bunkbeds with reasonable distance.
The french managers are much more inclusive and dont base their decision on skin colour only.

Be careful if you care not catching covid positive.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thanks for your review! Allocations are made randomly. Have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ciaran1murphy wrote a review Aug 2020
Naas, Ireland1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Attention should be given to the steps on entry and exit to the building by the front door. No drinks should be taken beyond the steps unless the adequate seating and table facilities have been provided. Care should be taken at all times on entry and exit of the St Christopher Hostel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank yo very much for your review! Have a great day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa wrote a review Sept 2020
Strasbourg, France12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A clean, well organised, quiet and very very cheap hostel, about 30 min from the city centre with the metro (which is not much, considering the size of Paris). The breakfast is included if you book on their website and they have a very nice bar/pub at the ground floor. The neighbourhood is quite calm and for what I have seen not dangerous.
The common bathrooms are clean and there are many.
I would definitely recommend it for groups of friends that are planning a cheap but nice weekend in Paris!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for your review Lisa! Have a great day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henry T wrote a review Jan 2024
Stirling, United Kingdom76 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly it’s a hostel so there are multiple people to a room and it can be noisy. This should be expected.

St Christopher’s i found to be perfectly clean and the inclusion of a bar on the ground level is convenient for a beer when you get back. There are multiple screens showing sport which when j was there includes football and NFL

Each bed is allocated a metal cage to keep your belongings during the day and in the basement are lockers that can be used after checking out.

There is an option to add continental breakfast which is highly recommend. I opted for this and set myself up well until mid afternoon.

Lastly the location is slightly further out than some but is within 10 mins of the metro. If you are used to walking around cities this should pose no problem at all.

Overall i will likely stay here again when i return to Paris in the coking months.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Opt for the breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Roguewader, we really appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timmy B wrote a review Jan 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall a very good hostel experience, staff encourage guests to engage with each other by organising free hostel events every evening. Pedro was really nice and helped us meet other guests.

Rooms are OK. They are very basic but as prices are cheap they are still value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We are really proud of our everyday free hostel event!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teigan L wrote a review Dec 2021
33 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a pleasant stay. Very economical and worthwhile stay. The staff speak English so it was easy to engage them, and get help with local attractions. Reasonable
Drink and food prices in the attached bar. It’s a fairly standard hostel, multiple bunks in my room (4). They need to do a better job with lockers, the lockers are quite small (9’ x 20’). This means you can only lock up some of your stuff. They don’t have locks, or power adapters for rent/sale, so make sure you bring your own. The lockers in our room were broken, would be nice if they were fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Have a safe trip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fabiano M wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently had a highly disappointing experience with St Christopher's Inn Paris - Canal, which compelled me to share my feedback. After booking a stay with the hotel, circumstances changed, and I promptly requested a cancellation and refund within 24 hours, in full compliance with consumer protection laws.

Unfortunately, the response I received was far from satisfactory: the hotel proceeded to cancel my reservation without issuing a refund. This decision not only contradicted the regulations set forth to protect consumers, but it also left me feeling deceived and frustrated. The lack of transparency and failure to honor the refund rightfully due to me was deeply disappointing.

Moreover, the hotel's refusal to provide a clear explanation for their actions only exacerbated my dissatisfaction. It is disheartening to witness such disregard for customer rights and fair treatment. If the hotel was unwilling to refund the money, the booking should not have been canceled in the first place, as it gives the impression of unjustly withholding funds from consumers.

I believe it is crucial for potential guests to be aware of the hotel's inadequate customer service and disregard for consumer rights. I sincerely hope that the management of St Christopher's Inn Paris - Canal addresses their flawed approach to customer service and takes necessary steps to rectify this matter.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 9 July 2023
Hello Fabiano, As we have discussed in several emails, you chose a non-refundable fee when you booked online and that is why we are not able to refund you for the reservation you made. Furthermore, according to the law, those 14 days to withdraw from an online purchase in the EU do not apply to the tourism industry, which is why most hotels / airlines / train companies offer non-refundable fees. Your reservation was restored as you requested in an email. Please, do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with. Have a nice day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fsalso asked a question Oct 2023
Leon, Mexico141 contributions25 helpful votes
Puedo llegar y pagar ahí
Answer from Leizel
Sydney, Australia138 contributions30 helpful votes
I went walking around the Canal around 1-2am and felt very safe. There was actually a fair few people out and about, socialising and chilling out near the water. I also walked around quite late around the Crimee station area (nearest train station) with my female friend and felt safe. However it doesn't matter where you are in the world, you should always be careful and have your wits about you when out at night =)
CheverelleSF wrote a tip Jan 2024
California76 contributions51 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book another hostel!"
Read full review
Henry T wrote a tip Jan 2024
Stirling, United Kingdom76 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Opt for the breakfast"
Read full review
Ellie W wrote a tip June 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"no kitchen but you get discounts at the bar/restaurant"
Read full review
Spencer H wrote a tip May 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Say Merci a bunch and you’ll be alright "
Read full review
Piero P wrote a tip Mar 2023
10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance, don't bring food coz there is no fridge, don't take your laptop or precious, high value items, maybe single rooms are more worth. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paris area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$79 - AU$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st christopher`s paris hotel paris
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisFlandres / 19th Arr. - Buttes-Chaumont / La Villette
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST CHRISTOPHER'S INN CANAL PARIS (AU$79): 2024 Prices & Reviews (France) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Which popular attractions are close to St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Nearby attractions include Bassin de la Villette (0.3 km), Quais de la Seine (0.5 km), and Péniche Café-Librairie L'Eau Et Les Rêves (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cedars, Simonetta Restaurant, and Le Bastringue.
Are any cleaning services offered at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (4.5 km), Arc de Triomphe (6.3 km), and Sainte-Chapelle (4.4 km).
Does St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Paris HotelsParis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ParisHotels near St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars