We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Loire Valley Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Loire Valley Retreat
Loire Valley Retreat
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Loire Valley Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 318: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have just returned from our second two-week stay and enjoyed it every bit as much as last year. Charlotte and Jerome are fantastic hosts, personal and personable, adept at treating their guests with the right mix of friendly yet professional attention. If you like any of the following on holiday, you''ll love this place (the more of these you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bfai57
Bristol
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for 3 very enjoyable days in La Boulangerie in late July. The pictures on the website gave us high expectations of a great place to stay and all the physical characteristics were "exactly as it says on the tin". However, what makes this place really special is the intangible friendly ambience created by the owners Jerome and Charlotte....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Citybreakenthusiast5
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just back from our annual visit to Charlotte and Jerome's sublime chateau and retreat - we have been every year since they opened and loved it every time - they manage to combine a unique mix of luxury, family and peace coupled with great hospitality and welcome from the hosts themselves. Our little ones loved the new chickens and sheep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsmilicic
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed with with partner for a couple of nights at the Loire Valley Retreat - we could have easily spent a fortnight here. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and to a high standard, there is lots to do in the area and the unexpected highlight for us was the evening menus and wines available. I would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinesenior
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in Chateau de Charge for a week in June and loved every minute of our stay. Charlotte and Jerome were very accomodating, the food and wine was amazing and the living facilities were perfect. We stayed in the little cottage which was nice and private. It was such a picturesque setting, not too close to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarahmcm83
San Francisco
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband and I stayed with Charlotte, Jerome, and their two boys for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and couldn't have had a better time. We stayed at 4 different places throughout our time in France, and Loire Valley Retreat was hands-down our favorite. We felt thoroughly spoiled during our stay and are eternally grateful to TripAdvisor reviewers for directing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twhufc
Berkshire
Reviewed 9 July 2011

So very very disappointing. With just 48 hours notice before our arrival we were advised there were to be no evening meals (this is a retreat miles from anywhere), on arrival shown to our room and that was it, no tour, no introductions, during our 5 night stay bed linen not changed, room dusty, bathroom tiles coming away from wall,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henryq
cabernet-franc-37, Owner at Loire Valley Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for having taken the time to provide feedback through Trip Advisor today. We were very disappointed to read your review, and can only apologize for having left you feeling that customer satisfaction was not our top priority. It is a shame that you didn’t share this feedback with us, when asked on departure, if you had enjoyed your...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The Loire Valley Retreat is, hands down, the best place I have ever stayed on vacation. It is not one of those generic sprawling, "five-star-luxury" complexes where you become lost and anonymous along with all the other "guests"--a number on a room key; It is a magical, intimate place that exudes charm and grace and a real sense of connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeljharrington
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I discovered the Loire Valley retreat on TA. We read the reviews and had developed a mental picture of what to expect. We arrived around 1800 and were met in the court yard by Jerome followed shortly by Charlotte. They were a wonderful couple and the perfect host. Immediately we felt as if we were visiting old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWDavis
Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Chateau de Charge for four nights in April then went to Paris and Amiens. Our stay at the Loire Valley Retreat was definitely the highlight of our holiday. After an incredibly long flight from Australia, train, then hire car journey to Jerome and Charlotte's, we were exhausted. It was so wonderful to have Charlotte's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MK152

542 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
La Boulangerie Cottage (77)
Viewed
Les Ecuries Cottage (89)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)
Viewed
Vigneron Cottage (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.9 km away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
477 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
881 reviews
33.7 km away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
153 reviews
6.0 km away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
171 reviews
13.9 km away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Price Range: $310 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Loire Valley Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Trenton, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Loire Valley Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet setting, fully-fitted spacious rooms, Wi-Fi, comprehensive breakfast.”
emasseymail, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Vigneron is at the centre of the chateau and very spacious. Children loved staying in the tower room.”
markkI2829UV, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“L'Ecurie has lovely private patio. Interior steps can be tricky for young children to navigate, but baby gate was provided.”
  • View of front entry from l'Ecurie second-floor juliet window
  • View across courtyard from l'Ecurie second-floor juliet window
  • View from l'Ecurie second-floor juliet window
  • View from private patio outside l'Ecurie gite
  • View from private patio behind L'Ecurie gite
laurabD970JP, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a description. Each is very unique.”
LuxeTrave2010, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Le Vigneron is situated in the main body of the actual chateau and has all the atmosphere and history of a building hundreds of years old but the comfort of a modern hotel.”
ethnal, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates