We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Elizabeth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Elizabeth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We booked this hotel for our trip to St Malo on the 1st October 2016. St Malo was wonderful and we had a great trip; however, we were left feeling a little disappointed with the hotel. We booked the hotel because of its central location within the city walls and because of it being housed in the oldest building in... More 

Helpful?
Thank JakeMclellan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

It is listed as a 3 star hotel, but it probably doesn't make it that far up. It located in one of the oldest buildings in town, but it's "old" not necessarily in a good way... narrow corridors, small rooms and a general feeling of a place that'gs been untouched for a veeeeery long time.

Helpful?
Thank Luca P
jean_triumph, Responsable réception at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this review

Sir, You probably misunderstood the type of hotel you booked. Our establishment is an independent boutique hotel, located in a house made in 1600, like you said, the oldest building in Saint Malo "untouched". We are definitely not a standardize chain hotel with a modern decoration that would have probably better fit to your expectations. Even if we want to... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

nice building from outside but small bedrooms. Garage even smaller enterance. Breakfast disappointing choice, worst on trip around Brittany. Don't loose your key they charge, seems bit small minded given it's apiece of plastic

Helpful?
Thank keefkeef
jean_triumph, Responsable réception at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this review

Madam, Sir, We strongly believe that your comment is a response to the payment of the fee for your lost key. You said when you left that your key was in the room, after a long search we were not able to find it. We have sent several mails asking you to send it back to us if you kept... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a two night stay and on arrival found we were in a separate building. Although clean and tidy, the room was rather dated and felt old fashioned. Quite noisy in the evenings. On a positive note, the man on reception spoke excellent English and was very helpful and welcoming . Breakfast is served in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsJ26
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We were met by a young man who couldn't do enough for us. He was a superb mine of information. We stayed in the annex, Skippers, just behind the hotel itself. The room was quirky but clean and more roomy than expected. The breakfast, served in the basement of the hotel, was lovely and a wide selection was on offer.... More 

Helpful?
Thank twiggywhite
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Hôtel Elizabeth is a quaint, well maintained hotel inside the walls of Saint Malo. It was built in the 16th century and it has an antiquated allure that we all loved. After being crammed in a tiny room in London previous to our stay in Saint Malo, the large rooms and high ceilings were a welcomed surprise. But most impressive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri L
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

So lucky! After the photos and reading up on the history of this hotel, my wife and I were convinced we found a diamond in the rough. Even after a set of unavoidable events led us to nearly missing our reservations and a simple phone call to possibly the nicest Concierge possible, we still believe so. The hotel is spacious,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank William D
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The Elizabeth is a typical old style French hotel. The staff were very helpful upon arrival and at departure. They explained local sights to see and helped with our requests regarding extra towels etc. Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. The decor goes with the property. Don't expect chrome and glass, this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MilkoHastings_UK
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This could be an amazing boutique hotel. It is lovely from the outside and in a superb position inside the old town of St Malo. However, the rooms are usually very small but the second time we stayed we had the honermoon bedroom which was more spacious. However in spite of the spaciousness, there were no drawers to put our... More 

Helpful?
Thank KNAPPICE
Henley Brook, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The room was fantastic, and large for french standards. The bathroom was modern with a bath and shower. Unfortunately for us, we experienced having to listen to gangs of drunken youths wandering around the walled city of St Malo, during the night shouting and singing from about midnight to 5am. It was hot, and I wanted the window open, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank joannadale123

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#29 of 85 in Saint-Malo
71 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#56 of 85 in Saint-Malo
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
Hotel Les Ajoncs d'Or
#9 of 85 in Saint-Malo
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 85 in Saint-Malo
456 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#23 of 85 in Saint-Malo
675 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#18 of 85 in Saint-Malo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Elizabeth, situated inside the old walls of Saint-Malo's fortress, offers 17 rooms in 2 buildings. In the house, "Les Armateurs", built in the early XVIIth century, and one of the oldest preserved buildings in the Walled-City, you will find the 10 superior en-suite bedrooms, the reception lounge and the breakfast room down in the stone-walled cellar. In the house "Les Skippers", 50 metres further, you will find the 7 regular bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Address: 2 rue des Cordiers, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Price Range: $96 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Saint Malo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Elizabeth staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Elizabeth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest you speak to Jahn if he is still there as you will get a good honest answer”
 of 5 bubbles KNAPPICE, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lovely hotel, but St Malo at night is noisy with young drunk people singing and shouting”
 of 5 bubbles joannadale123, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Sheerim, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the triple unless you enjoy small cramped spaces with your family! Maybe the main hotel was nicer?”
 of 5 bubbles ImogenKit, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the front facing rooms unless you sleep well through noise. It is seriously very bad and these inconsiderate cafe owners could ruin your night.”
 of 5 bubbles 131stephend, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay