We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
65 Chapel Street, Manchester M3 5BZ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#92 of 162 Speciality lodging in Manchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Black Lion Hotel & Bar is ten minutes from Piccadilly train station and a stone’s throw from the Manchester Arena where all amenities, shops, bars and restaurants can be found. We are 15 minutes from Manchester City’s Etihad Stadium and the Manchester Exhibition Centre and 20 minutes away from Old Trafford and Old Trafford cricket ground making us a great place to stay or pop in to for a drink if you are visiting the city for an event or a night out. The Black Lion is a Historic 130-year-old pub with a “relaxed and welcoming atmosphere” where you can enjoy a great selection of lagers, ales, wines and spirits. At The Black lion we also serve traditional home cooked food seven days a week from 12-8pm
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Snack bar
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
181Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
54Attractionswithin 0.5 km
142Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 17
  • 35
  • 22
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Coby Leigh wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Came here during the day and night and was having a great time until it came to a good order. The server struggled to remember our order of 5 things (3 food, 2 drinks) as he came back twice. Once our drinks came he brought the wrong ones ( I asked for 1 gin and tonic and 1 pink gin and lemonade) he brought 2 pink gins - 1 tonic and 1 lemonade. My friend will not drink pink gin so I know I did not make a mistake when ordering. The server would not accept he made a mistake and would not correct the wrong drink. The bar lady even refused as she said that is what we ordered ( is it not) so I had to pay for the drinks as I had no choice not too. I think this is very rude as usually a bar mistake is taken in the customers perspective, but tonight at the Black Lion it was not. Just a warning
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Zoe T wrote a review Mar 2020
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
Lovely hotel, great clean but very basic bedrooms, however if you have mobility issues this hotel is not for you very steep stairs, evening bar staff excellent, breakfast was very poor, staff unhelpful so didn't eat breakfast, definitely not worth the money paid
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MitreManagement, Manager at Black Lion Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review of the Black Lion Hotel. We hope overall you had a great stay and we are sorry that you did not find the hotel easily accessible for mobility issues. We will certainly pass your comments along regarding staff and we thank you - we hope that you would return again. Our breakfast is a set, continental breakfast included in the rate and we are sorry you didn't enjoy it. Thank you Amy
Read more
James S wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Friendly welcome, bar staff we're polite and friendly as we're the kitchen staff and even I assume locals. Would go there for a drink but that's as far as I'd reccomend. Booked based on picture we had seen. Looked fairly decent for a 3 single bed room. You can clearly see upstairs where the rooms are, was originally one HUGE room. Now some Bob the Builder has been let loose and put up plenty of "not very straight" walls to split it up. Most door frames, doors and walls have been previously damaged and made "to do" again. Got very confused when we couldn't find the toilet / bathroom. Eventually one of the cleaners seen us and asked if we were looking for the bathroom. They said end of the corridor. Turns out it's all communal apart from the rooms. Bathroom near us was okay. Have probably seen cleaner / tidier caravan bathrooms but it did. When we come back to stay as we have already said we would. We are most definitely not going to staying here. Not our cup of tea. But as I said, staff were all very friendly and couldn't of asked for more!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MitreManagement, Manager at Black Lion Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Good afternoon to you, Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Black Lion hotel. We thank you for your comments and we hope you overall had a pleasant time. Our staff will go above and beyond to make sure your stay is the best it possibly can be so we thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry that you were not happy with the room. I can see that you booked a Triple Shared Bathroom room which has communal bathrooms on that same floor. Our rooms are regularly inspected and we are currently painting and decorating going through room renovations. We are sad to hear that you wouldn't stay again. Kind regards Amy
Read more
bas127 wrote a review Jan 2020
Nijmegen, The Netherlands142 contributions31 helpful votes
Pricewise a good choice. We stayed with a group of Friends. The pub downstairs is a good spot to have a couple of beers. Good rooms and shared bathrooms. They need a good renovation if you als me. Saying that, the price for what you get is more then perfect
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from MitreManagement, Manager at Black Lion Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for your recent review of the Arena Black Lion Hotel. We hope you had a great stay and that you would visit again. We are a small, affordable hotel in the heart of Manchester with everything only a walk away. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Amy
Read more
Matthew S wrote a review Jan 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Paid £33 for 4 of us to stay 5 mins away from city centre on a Saturday night! Discount on drinks in the nice pub downstairs and friendly staff. Basic room but honestly what could you possibly expect for that price. It was clean, beds were comfy and they actually had complimentary tea & coffee facilities in the room! Unbelievable value for money and 100% will be staying again. Got a lot of mates in Manchester and this place actually makes it feasible to go and see them when they haven’t got space to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MitreManagement, Manager at Black Lion Hotel
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Good morning to you, Thank you for your email. We really hope that you had a great time and we thank you for your kind comments. Our Quadruple Room offers everything that you need in a low, affordable room. It has 4 single beds, flat screen TV with freeview channels and tea and coffee making facilities. We are so glad that you had a great stay and we would love to see you back again. Please do recommend us to a friend and give us a call if you want to specify a particular room. Kind regards Amy
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 38 - USD 128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Lion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Black Lion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Manchester (0.4 km), Be At One (0.3 km), and Royal Exchange Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Lion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Black Lion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Black Lion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Revolution Parsonage Gardens, Wah Ji Wah, and Dom's Tavola Calda.
Is Black Lion Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Manchester.
Are there any historical sites close to Black Lion Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Clayton Hall Museum (4.6 km), Ordsall Hall (2.5 km), and Victoria Baths (3.5 km).