We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great John Street Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great John Street Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great John Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,243: English reviews
Cheshire
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We booked here just for 1 night away to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. A complimentary upgrade was nice. We had a spilt level room with open balcony bedroom to the lounge area below. No view out of the window and noisy pipe work all night! Aside from that it was a lovely room, romantic and comfy. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benno5
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Benno5, I was pleased to read that you chose Great John Street to celebrate your special occasion, and am pleased that it fulfilled your expectations. I'm happy that you managed to enjoy sitting on our roof terrace, and hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

Dobcross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed at the great John Street hotel. This hotel is lovely very traditional setting. The hotels staff are lovely and very helpful. We are going to come back soon for afternoon tea as a lot of people have recommended it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ec2358
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ECChamberlain, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our afternoon tea has been recommended so highly to you. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to enjoy the afternoon tea in the future, and maybe even enjoy another stay with us! Kind regards, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

St Helens
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Spent two nights at this remarkable hotel in Manchester from the 20th-22nd June. We were guests at Laura & Chris Stone's wedding party and we had the best time from start to finish. This hotel, a former school, is quirky, characterful and a real jewel in Manchester's crown. From the outside you would never dream what beautiful old fashioned yet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne J
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dianne J, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience here at GJS. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay overall! I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Many thanks, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Fantastic food for afternoon tea booked through bookatable good value very tasty lovely service - we had extra tea and coffee and not charged extra as I have been in other places great bonus great surroundings very cosy and comfortable I would say drinks a bit on expensive side but that's a choice you have I had a private party...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marian M
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marian M, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your afternoon tea, and that you have also previously had private use of our rooftop lounge and terrace. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel for a third time! Kind regards, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

Lancashire
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Booked a last minute rate, price quoted doesn't include VAT and it wasn't cheap. Our room was lovely, very big bed and a bath in the corner along with a wet room. Good touch of home made cookies and real milk on arrival. Staff were very nice and although we didn't eat there we had drinks on the residents terrace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairee21
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clairee21, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at GJS. I'm sorry you felt the hotel was expensive, however must confirm that our prices are on par with most hotels of a similar standing within Manchester city centre. I hope this has not put you off, and that you might visit again in the future....

Lancashire
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Excellent . Room was far better than expected , got a good price ( booked about 4 days prior to arrival) . Bathroom on mezzanine is quirky , attention to detail in the room is spot on . Rooftop terrace lovely for evening drinks . Would def recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GreenFamily22
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GreenFamily22, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to others. Many thanks, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Very disappointing.Booked for 5, stipulated no fish. Had to cancel 2 &again stipulated no fish. On arrival stipulated no fish. Fish sandwiches arrived. Took 3 requests to get spoons so could eat Eton mess. Had to ask for jam and cream for the scones and was told could only have jam, yet adjacent tables all had cream so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amanda M
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda M, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of afternoon tea here at GJS. I was disappointed to read that your visit was less than satisfactory. I can assure you this is not the level of service we aim to provide, nor what is normally delivered. Should you wish to return to GJS in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here while on business in Manchester. It was a great hotel and good location. Gym is perfect for winding down after a long day. We are two lawyers who live in central London and often eat out/brunch in both restaurants and hotels but we were extremely shocked by the price of breakfast at £18. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BryP
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed over having not planned on it & so we were short of a few essentials. The hotel staff kindly provided an iPhone charger (this belonged to the member of staff) & toothbrush. We felt the room was excellent value & that we got what we paid for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Foodandrooms
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Foodandrooms, I was pleased to read that your last minute stay was helped by the team, and that you felt you got good value for money. I hope you'll think of us in the future, should you end up in Manchester again! Many thanks, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I booked this lovely hotel for an overnight stay for my husbands birthday & wow were we impressed! I booked a classical grand suite on the 1st floor & it was gorgeous, my husband aswell as myself were very impressed, especially with the personal touch of leaving a little Happy birthday treat in our room for my husband! (make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAR178
GreatJohnStreet, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MAR178, I was so pleased to read that you and your husband seemed to have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us here at GJS. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I'm delighted that we will be able to welcome you back in September! Many thanks, Claire McGinnis Hotel Manager

658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (332)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (297)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Classic Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Classic Junior Suite with Two Bathtubs (78)
Viewed
Eclectic Suite (46)
Viewed
Opus Grand Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.8 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
512 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
1,180 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,731 reviews
0.9 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,302 reviews
0.6 km away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rooftop Lounge
Rooftop Lounge
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $197 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great John Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
cannock
over a year ago
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Kendal, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Great John Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stairs in some rooms but can accommodate if a problem.”
SF35, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Baby grand is gorgeous”
lizgaffney1973, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are quiet , rooms over the front you can hear people coming and going from parties.”
CarolineA866, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely, 25 or 18 are gorgeous.”
823petert, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There was a wedding reception in the hotel the night we stayed so we were recommended a room on first floor”
510johna510, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5