We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,282: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

Staff seem unsure of themselves. I. Was not asked about my accor card on check in or offered welcome drink. The staff at breakfast again were not very good. The porridge was cold. Even after being reheated in the microwave as asked the porridge was still cold!! Carpet in room 218 smells awful! The hand wash was empty on arrival....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kitty8704
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2015

I booked and prepayed a double room in person a week before my visit (not through the internet but by phone), and received written confirmation of my booking. On arrival after a long and gruelling journey at midnight I was told that the hotel was full and my room had been given to someone else. They then called a taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John S
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered. On the day of your arrival, we had discovered an electrical fault impacting some of the rooms. We were told not to use those rooms as it could cause further damage and impact the Health and Safety of our guests. The hotel...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Stayed for one night prior to a job interview. The location is good. Despite being on a main street (the room was on the street side), having the windows shut cut out 90% of the noise which was fine (though it did get a bit hot). The windows also had blackout blinds, which were excellent. The beds were really good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank torabashiri
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us here at Ibis Manchester Portland Street. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for your interview. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests. I will pass on your kind comments to the team; I...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Overall this hotel was OK. I wasn't expecting much, given the budget reputation of the brand. The room was fine, small but adequate, and the bathroom was also satisfactory. Everything looked modern/new-ish which was good. Breakfast was good - nice sausages and bacon, good pastries, and a good selection of teas. Staff generally friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the hotel loses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaturaZA
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience although I was dissapointed to hear the stay was not to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Thank you for bringing to my attention; the issue with the bedding as we take your comments very seriously. We have informed the Head of Housekeeping who is very sorry for this and is...

Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

Can't fault the location of this hotel and the genuinely pleasant, helpful and professional staff. However, I feel I paid too much for what amounted to be a budget room. There where traces of a mysterious white powder on the carpet below the bed. Either ant power or an illegal substance. In general the cleanliness was satisfactory. The room design...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vonrah
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here but I was dissapointed to hear that the stay wasnt to your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In regards to your comments about the powder on the carpet, I have informed our Housekeeping Manager who is very sorry for this and is...

Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

I am so disappointed by this hotel !!! I stayed at ibis Liverpool for one night before coming to Manchester, at Liverpool everything is better especially the WiFi. At ibis Manchester, the air conditioner is very poor, it didn't send out any cold air into the room making the sleep so uncomfortable. The next thing is WiFi, this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jaan V
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us but I was very dissapointed to hear that the experience was not to your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Firstly, I was very surprised to hear about the wifi signal. I have informed our maintenance manager who is very sorry for this and is...

Norway
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Friendly and efficient staff. Spacious and functional bedrooms and bathrooms (for Ibis). Beds were comfortable, and the wifi good. Sadly a bit noisy, both from people in the hotel corridors and some work going on early morning in the backyards. Excellent value for money if you need a central place to stay for a night or two. Will surely return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine E
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Ibis Manchester Portland Street and taking the time to share your experience with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team who will be enlivened as we are always eager to provide a quality service. Please accept my apologies for the noisy guest in the corridor and any work taking...

Manchester
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Stayed here for easy access to city centre for my birthday. Great location in the city centre with everything in walking distance . Reception staff very friendly and polite asking if I needed any further information on the city centre. My room was of a good size, clean and comfortable. Free wifi was also included. I really enjoyed my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrybakeruk
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am really pleased you enjoyed your birthday break in the city and the location was suited to your needs. I really appreciate your comments about the team, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am glad to hear you have booked to stay with us again and we...

Liphook, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I stayed here in March 16th and 17th. Great city centre hotel nice rooms and decent breakfast! All the staff are friendly and professional at all times. It has a good central location and close to China Town Manchester. I will stay there again when I have my next business trip there. Nice bar too. The Hotel is self contained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent comments. We are always pleased to receive positive feedback from our guests. I was glad to hear you enjoyed our services at the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the reception team and the breakfast staff as we are always aspiring to improve our service. Once again, I thank you...

Liphook, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I had a two night stay here recently to speak to some Chinese investors and SME proprietors. The room was fine and the breakfast excellent!! The bar is enough and the hotels location being central to Manchester and its China Town proved to be excellent. I will stay there again on my next trip to Manchester and many thanks to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Philip D
IbisManchester3142, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street. We are always happy to receive your compliments. I am so pleased the location was suitable for your business needs and glad to hear you will return to stay with us again in future. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward...

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.0 km away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#38 of 115 in Manchester
1,482 reviews
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
uk
over a year ago
Limerick, Ireland
2 months ago
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
8 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back of hotel rooms more quiter”
 of 5 bubbles V7501PQdianaf, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“End corridor rooms are very quiet despite main road”
 of 5 bubbles 393joea, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, its quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 764saffrons, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeperf”
 of 5 bubbles amcs1983, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No rooms seem better than others”
 of 5 bubbles martandvic, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5