We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,294: English reviews
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We have been there for 2 nights and can't complaint. Clean room,we were very surprised by the decor of the whole hotel. Absolutely amazing. Breakfast is continental-many choices. Staff very polite and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misicky
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great feedback, my Team and I truly appreciate your kind words. I'm delighted that our newly refurbished modern facilities and our friendly service helped to make your stay with us so enjoyable. We look forward to being part of your future travel plans to Manchester. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I can't fault the cleanliness of this hotel or the location it was brilliant but, the room isn't worth its money. Very small and cheap, the beds were hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom was like on a ferry, everything was plastic. You don't get little touches like mini shampoo or anything, not even hot chocolate sachets 😱! The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maya C
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts following your recent stay. Rest assured that we take your feedback very seriously. I have noticed your comments concerning our bedroom facilities and I apologise if they felt to meet your expectations. Our beds have recently been changed and we have since received a lot of positive reactions...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Everything you need in a very basic hotel with a good location. Small rooms, decent beds, ok bathroom (good showers) Fantastic staff, specially during the night. Kitchen open all night with a good meny (pizza, nachos and such).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarle A
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for writing some feedbacks following your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one and that you were particularly pleased with our service. I will make sure to make the Team aware of your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager

Reviewed 15 February 2017

we stayed a week at this hotel staff very nice ,clean hotel and close to city center .beds are very comfertable ,the breakfast very good. and the room service very good too .we enjoyed every minute of our stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your week with us. When you are traveling back to Manchester, don't hesitate to stay with us again. The Team and I will be ready to welcome you again. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed here for one night on a Saturday during a trip to visit friends. We knew we would only be using the room for getting ready and sleeping and so chose a central hotel at a reasonable rate. Staff are friendly and helpful. The room, was fairly compact but nicely decorated and clean. We used the Q-Park directly behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireJGE
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit as you found our modern facilities great value for money for a city centre hotel. I'm also glad you could benefit from the reduced parking price at the "Q Park" by collecting a discounted voucher from Reception during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Just a quick visit to Manchester for work, but the new look rooms were great, the shower was massive and powerful....but most of all all the staff were outstanding. Went out of their way to help in every way. Even came out and found me in my car and then directed me as a passenger to the car park. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerriG71
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us again and for posting a review following your recent visit. I'm thrilled to hear that our newly refurbished rooms exceeded your expectations. Receiving feedbacks such as yours always give us a boost as it proves we are going in the right direction. I'm also delighted that you were impressed by our service as...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This Ibis is very good for what it is. The staff on check in and at breakfast are polite, smiley and efficient and later on at the bar this applied the same too. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I wouldn't say that this is a luxury stay, but for an overnight stay where you want to rest your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennawyatt101
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments, they are really appreciated. I'm so happy that you had a pleasant experience and that you found our facilities, while limited, up to your needs. I will also make sure to let our Team know how pleased you were with their friendly services. As you've mentioned, our hotel is located in the heart of...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed one night for business. Great location, friendly welcome. Room as expected from website. Breakfast average quality but good variety and choice. Overall good experience for a short stay. One suggestion, bathroom soap could be a bit easier to use. The squeeze bottle was not the easiest.

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lahori2015
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing on here your thoughts about your recent visit. I'm happy that you had an enjoyable experience as our city centre location, our friendly service and our modern facilities met your expectations. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our shampoo/soap dispensers. Those have been implemented in all our rooms in order to minimise plastic...

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Only stayed here one night on a business type trip but was pleasantly delighted with the hotel. Lobby was well lit, clean and welcoming, as were the staff on reception. After an issue with first key card the receptionist kindly came up with me to ensured the second worked properly. The room wasn't anything overly special but had everything I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelledYoungUn
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for all those positive comments, my team and I very much appreciate your kind words. I'm thrilled that your experience exceeded your needs and expectations as you found our modern facilities convenient for your visit. I will also make sure to let the Team, especially the receptionist who helped you with your key card, know how pleased you...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Loved the location. Great breakfast choices. My comments - both made to the staff on leaving; 1. I booked the room for 2, yet there weere only towels for one. 2. The second day, despite hanging our towels on the rail, they were replaced. Not very green. 3. When they were replaced, they were only replaced for ONE person again....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank evelynmw54
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I'm pleased that your overall experience was a positive one. I'm sorry to hear that the number of towels set up in your room failed to meet your expectations. As per ibis standard, only 2 towels are provided in all rooms. Guests wishing more are welcome...

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
1,291 reviews
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
2,379 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $86 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
uk
over a year ago
Limerick, Ireland
10 days ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear will avoid the street noise.”
  • stylish new decor, but still a bit smelly
  • Very handy multi plug/USb charger unit
  • The funky, but pointless LED showered
  • different I suppose
  • It's still an Ibis room, not sure the decor makes that much difference
 of 5 bubbles NeilRBBath, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“back of hotel rooms more quiter”
 of 5 bubbles V7501PQdianaf, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“End corridor rooms are very quiet despite main road”
 of 5 bubbles 393joea, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, its quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 764saffrons, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeperf”
 of 5 bubbles amcs1983, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5