We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Etrop Grange

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Etrop Grange
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,112: English reviews
Start your review of Etrop Grange
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here previously and was disappointed on my return. The room needed updating. Carpet and furnishings worn and definitely needed attention. The television wasn't working initially and I had to ring for a hairdryer. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet did not flush very well. The view from room 22 was terrible. To compensate the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a room close to the airport so that I could catch an early flight the next morning, and Etrop Grange provided just what I needed. It cost me about £8 by taxi from the train station (I arrived late at night) but the difference in price for staying at another airport hotel would certainly have been a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChiaSCH
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear ChiaSCH Thank you so much for your lovely review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your pre-flight stay and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Etrop Grange very soon. Best wishes Sally

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used this venue to meet with a prospective client. Faulty Towers springs to mind! We only wanted drinks, the coffee machine was broke so we had to opt for a Diet Coke which was served flat, we asked for another, after waiting a while, we were served another flat drink. We were then told that they couldn't do anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezxxxxxx
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear kezxxxxxx I am so sorry that the coffee machine was not in working order on your recent visit to the hotel and that the alternative drinks supplied were not to your liking. I do hope that your meeting went well and that despite the problems encountered on this occasion you will visit Etrop Grange again to encounter a more...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked into hotel, very friendly staff at reception, room was warm with extra heaters if required. Thai prawn curry was delicious I lost count of the amount of king prawns. We had a lovely waitress exceptionally friendly, an chatted to make us feel very at ease, lovely girl forgot to take her name, off to Uni though. Lovely big bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Helen G Thank you so much for your lovely review. I was delighted to read that you found your room perfect, the food in the restaurant delicious and thank you for mentioning our friendly reception and restaurant staff. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Etrop Grange very soon. Best wishes Sally

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight before an early flight. Quite disappointed as thought it would be better. The welcome was nice and the staff friendly. The room was a disappointment. We were allocated room 50 (I think) and I was shocked at how far we had to walk to get to this room with 2 suitcases & 2 bags and no offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fastdaz
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Fastdaz Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you received a warm welcome from our friendly staff on arrival and that you enjoyed dining in the restaurant. I am so sorry that the experience was then spoilt by our failure to assist you in carrying your luggage to your room and the oversight by...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an overnight stay with holiday parking. All round excellent service particularly taxi service to airport. Very convenient location but away from Motorway so very quiet - exactly what we wanted. Hotel and rooms are a bit tired and dated. Food was only average but all round it was very good value and exactly what we wanted to get our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Richard L Thank you so much for your lovely review. I was delighted to read that your pre-flight stay at Etrop provided a relaxing trouble free start to your holiday. I hope that you had an enjoyable holiday and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back before your next flight from Manchester. Best wishes Sally

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here the night before an early morning long haul flight. Room was comfortable and facilities were of a good standard. Room and bathroom were clean and tidy on arrival. Ate dinner in the bar. Food was tasty and service was friendly and efficient. Left the car at the airport for the 2 weeks I was away and returned to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cdr_80
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Weegie_Andy Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and efficient and your room comfortable. I note your comments regarding the air conditioning in your room etc. I hope that you had a good holiday and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you travel from...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having been placed here from cancelled flight from klm I was places in room 35 only to find this ......I cannot begin to tell you how bad it is, also when we checked out early in the morning 4am...no breakfast available the bill still had 10 pounds charged to klm.....disgusting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Paul B I am sorry to read that your recent stay was spoilt by a housekeeping problem. Please accept my apology for the failure on our part to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We pride ourselves on maintaining extremely high standards of hygiene and all our housekeeping staff undertake extensive training to ensure that all areas of the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I regularly visit the etrop hotel for work meetings, the rooms are spotless and the food is delightfull the staff cannot do enough for you and the location is great for commuters! Very pleasant surroundings also! Can get noisy throughout the night as lots of people stay over and head to the airport so you can sometimes hear banging off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty W Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love welcoming guests back to the hotel and so I was pleased to read that your latest visit was as enjoyable as previous visits have been. I note your comment regarding being disturbed by guests leaving for the airport, if you mention this to our reservations team on...

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are really nice (no hairdryres) Comfy clean beds. Tea coffee facilities.Reception staff very helpful. Short trip to Airport in hotel mini bus. The food however id dreadful. Raw burgers still in Wrapper! rock hard salmon and hair in the steak. We refused to pay and sent out for Pizza. The hotel however, did deal with our complaint and refunded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
Sally W, Hotel Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Jackie B Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased to read that you found our staff helpful, the beds comfy and our location ideal for the airport. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food and hope that you will accept my sincere apology as it is obvious that we did not achieve our normal...

552 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (309)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (43)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (52)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $96 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etrop Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Etrop Grange staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Etrop Grange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not accept Room 5. Room 65 was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Jan47Cheshire, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel seemed quiet despite being very close to the airport”
 of 5 bubbles wendyrR8260OL, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 16”
 of 5 bubbles wilky1961, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast nice and the man and woman serving were the best out off the staff..”
 of 5 bubbles nancydrew1113, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed there a couple of times in different rooms and there isn't a lot of difference .”
 of 5 bubbles Pendlebrier, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5