We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,411: English reviews
barnolsdwick
Reviewed 11 March 2014

stayed here on a groupon deal £74 for 2 including b&b and evening meal woth car parking and transfer to the airport. good valve for money room was large and cosy food rubbish but wha can you expect for that price we asked for a wakeup call but it was never made. we have stayed in brittainia hotels before and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

It was lovely to read your comments following your recent stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back. I would like to thank you for placing your positive review on trip advisor. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Just Go Holidays coach trip and were not disappointed. We were given a spacious 5 bed executive room (room 167) which although a bit dated, was comfortable and clean with constant hot water for the jacuzzi bath and shower. We found the staff to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatAdi
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I decided for this hotel because it in not very far from the Christie hospital for Carcer Reaserch. The location is really nice, in a green area, and the hotel is huge. Good facilities and they also have pool and table football for entertainment and a bar open till late. The room was an individual one (with individual bed), very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabsHeich
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel nice with good facilities. I am sorry that you found your room to be small and your bed uncomfortable, some of our standard rooms are small however it is possible to...

norwich
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've read some of the previous reviews & I do not agree with them. We came on a coach holiday & the room was lovely& clean, a bit jaded but what the heck it was only to sleep in after a fun filled day out ! As for the restaurant well no complaints whatsoever ! They must have got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baynesy
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a groupon offer that included parking for airport. The deal price was allegedly 70% off the true price! It was cheap for a reason! The whole hotel had a bad smell which I think was musty and damp. Room was supposed to have been an executive room so was disappointing and old fashioned. Two of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracey l
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Darlington, County Durham
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions before with no complaints but this time the room and service was appalling. The room we were given (478) had a bad smell in it evident later on what from, it had cobwebs from ceiling and a chocolate sweet in middle of floor so clearly had not been cleaned properly. The bed (if...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BJT59
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I was disturbed to read your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I have passed your comments on to our Head Housekeeper and maintenance team to ensure these issues are resolved immediately. Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board. Kind regards, Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I will try and keep this brief, checking in took an age, receptionist seemed more interested in talking to her colleague than dealing with us. Bedroom had a big bath with a Jacuzzi.....lovely, unfortunately also above a function room with disco and no soundproofing. Reception does not answer the phone, complaint met with disdain, I could go on but hopefully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Owayn
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay and were disturbed by noise from a function at the hotel. Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board....

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A great disappointment, the picture looks good, the prices were brilliant and the staff were helpful. But the hotel has seen better days, rooms are in need of a face lift, the lift closest to our room did not have an inner door and was, in my opinion unsafe. The public areas were clean and had ample seating for guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found our prices brilliant and staff helpful. I can confirm that all of our lifts do meet all necessary Health and safety standards and are safe to use. Please be assured your comments will be taken on board. Kind Regards Sandra Cheshire...

Sheffield
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a lovely one night stay at this hotel. Smooth check in, with friendly staff, nice room although a little tired but very clean, bed quite hard. Nice three course meal, soup, carvery and pudding whilst being serenaded by michael buble tribute. Comfortable bar area although could do with an upgrade in parts. One tip would be to give the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle22
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for constructive criticism...

Buckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed briefly (thank goodness) prior to a morning flight. Very last minute booking. Checking in was fine, staff were pleasant. Then the fun began. Room was smelly, curtains were ripped. The bed felt like a wooden board, pubic hair in the bathroom and an unflushed, used, toilet. Doors set off fire alarms so we hardly had any sleep. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee89

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (462)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (173)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#65 of 115 in Manchester
32 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 115 in Manchester
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 115 in Manchester
737 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#81 of 115 in Manchester
46 reviews
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $70 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room well away from smokers!”
 of 5 bubbles DesRB, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are 2 Best Western Hotels on Pallentine road, check you get the right one!”
 of 5 bubbles jantex, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At the rear where it is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles RedJen2014, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“twin rooms are bigger than doubles”
 of 5 bubbles navjack, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for one with a large window to open!”
 of 5 bubbles Gill300361, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5