We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,412: English reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Recently returned from Caledonian Coach break. Having read numerous reviews before arriving at hotel we were rather apprehensive as to what this hotel would offer. What a pleasant surprise ! The staff were very pleasant, helpful and polite. The rooms were extremely clean ; not a speck of dust or stain in sight. The bathroom suite had recently been replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen B
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel....

glasgow
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was quite worried having booked this hotel on a deal then I read the reviews. Please don't be put off this hotel by the reviews you read. We honestly couldn't fault this hotel. Our room was a good size, was clean and comfortable. The bar area was really nice and well stocked. Dinner was very good with choices to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shazGlasgow
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to hear that even though a guest has read negative reviews they decide to come and stay with us and make up their own mind. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and...

Henley, Oxfordshire
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, nice size double, even checked me in early at 9:30am. I stayed for one night on a stag do and for the price we paid it was just fine. Friendly welcome at reception and quiet rooms. Yes the place needs a bit of a refurb but as I say you get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeryFussyTraveller
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We do try to offer good value to our guests and would like to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Bellshill
Reviewed 2 May 2014

One of the better Britannia Hotels. Room clean, bathroom lovely, food good, staff friendly. Just back from a very pleasant 4 day break with Caledonian Travel. One little problem, reported twice, water seepage from the bathroom door to under the radiator but this in no way spoiled our break.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank San65Bellshill
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. I am sorry that the leak in your room was not repaired immediately. Once...

HULL Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel on route to the USA flying from Manchester airport. The hotel is dated, our room was clean and comfortable the evening meal was awful frozen potatoes and vegetable's tasteless soup I complained and was only charged for one meal. The serving spoons handles were far too hot to get your food actually on to your plate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaHULLYorkshire
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your meal in our restaurant. We do not use any frozen potatoes or vegetables in our kitchen, these items are delivered...

Ballivor
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went to Manchester on a soccer trip with my son. Stayed in this hotel. Its cheap and basic. Bed Linen fresh and clean. Bathroom clean. Room itself needed to be updated. It was an all in package dinner included. Food was basic but good.Slept well never heard a sound at night. Needed a few more bar staff on for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paula c
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you felt the hotel was good value for money , It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. We look...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I was so reluctant to stay here having read the reviews but unfortunately was too late to cancel so had to endure it last night. To sum it up...Dusty dirty rooms. Bedding smelt funny. Very basic bathroom. Dated large pieces of furniture in the rooms so felt very cramped. Cheap feeling to the place. Oh and there were about two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph W
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I have discussed the concerns regarding the issues with your room, with my Head Housekeeper, whose duty it is to ensure that all rooms are issue free and presented to the highest possible standard and have pointed out that I will not accept guests being disappointed in such a way. The Hotel is a large Hotel with 255 bedrooms and...

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Booked and paid for one night and paid £6 each separately for an airport transfer. The hotel was clean but extremely dated! More importantly do not bother with the transfer service, its cheap but you're better off booking your own taxi, there's a reason its cheap! The pick up was fine, even though they had names for 6 people in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pod35
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you experienced a long wait for your transfer from Manchester Airport. Our transfer service is run to a strict timetable and unfortunately this service can sometimes be subject to delays for example local...

co.durham, england
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had the displeasure of staying here before and after our holiday. Beforehand, they put us in the wrong room, triple with single beds,we only found out when we booked our early morning taxi to the airport. So we had to move our things to the correct room. On return we were again put in triple room, however as they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazza4
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt that the cleanliness of your bedroom was not up to our usual high standards and I have passed your comments on to our Head Housekeeper ensure all issues are immediately rectified. Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board. Kind Regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Don't bother using the transfer service, when you book it you are lead to believe a taxi will be sent upon arrival at the airport when in actual fact you are fobbed off multiple times and left waiting for over an hour in the cold. The hotel itself smells of old cigars and needs a major refurb.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hayley B
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with our transfer service. Our transfer service is run to a strict timetable, each of our guests are given a copy of our transfer information on check in, this leaflet also gives instructions for their return journey which explains that a guest must contact the taxi company directly to arrange to be collected...

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (173)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#65 of 115 in Manchester
33 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
737 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#81 of 115 in Manchester
46 reviews
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $70 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room well away from smokers!”
 of 5 bubbles DesRB, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are 2 Best Western Hotels on Pallentine road, check you get the right one!”
 of 5 bubbles jantex, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At the rear where it is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles RedJen2014, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“twin rooms are bigger than doubles”
 of 5 bubbles navjack, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for one with a large window to open!”
 of 5 bubbles Gill300361, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5