We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lancaster House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lancaster House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,194: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This is my second trip to the region on business and stayed 10 days...absolutely outstanding in customer service. The room was superb...light, spacious and clean. The Team...everyone from Front Desk to Dining to Health Club to Cleaning Staff were genuinely friendly, warm, exceptionally helpful. I travel globally and Lancaster Team are at the Top of the Charts...congratulations...I'll be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa C, Thank you for such a glowing review following your stay here at Lancaster House. I am truly glad to read that you find the staff here so warm and friendly, it certainly is something that each and everyone of them takes pride in. I will be sure that all the team are aware of your praise. We...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Stayed for one night. Nice rooms, nice surroundings. This hotel is dog friendly and they gave our two a nice welcome. We arrived late and so did not eat here. We left quite early too so cannot review breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RUTH D
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear RUTH D, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Lancaster House. I am glad to read that despite it only being a short stay you still enjoyed what you did experience. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel for a longer visit next time so that you can sample dinner...

Edzell, Angus
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Chose this hotel for an overnight stay because they welcome dogs. The dog had a bed, dish, bonio and poo bag provided in the room and got treats from the reception staff! The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The bathroom was good, except that in an adapted room I only just managed to climb into the bath for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boysgrandma
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear Boysgrandma, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay - including your 4 legged companions. It may interest you to know that we recently had one of the bathrooms refurbished in one of our accessible rooms into a wet room. When you are visiting again please make sure to mention it and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015

I've just spent 3 days here and whilst the rooms were fine the customer service was dreadful. I travel a lot and think that I am fairly easygoing and tolerant but it wasn't just one incident it was several that has led to me taking the time to submit this review. First the gym staff were rude and brusque not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank max_r761
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear Max_761, Thank you for your review following your stay at Lancaster House. We take all feedback, good and bad seriously and always try to give a full and detailed response however due to the extremely serious nature of the issues you have raised I felt it more appropriate to reply to you directly, which I have done. For the...

Barnsley
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed over night in a 'luxury' room. It was big but very average 4 star and not luxury Tatty round the edges, plaster coming off, marks on curtains and dressing gowns, plugs not level etc. Glad I had vouchers wouldn't like to think I'd paid £196! Food however was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natlou79
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear natlou79, I am disheartened to read that the room didn’t meet your expectation. I would like to fully investigate, please could you email my Guest Services Manager, Cherrie Hargreaves on guestservices.lancaster@englishlakes.co.uk with the room number you stayed in so that she may liaise with the housekeeping and maintenance departments. With Kind Regards Andy Lemm General Manager

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the University or as a base for toring the lakes. My room was large and clean. Food was good and service very friendly. My only real complaint was the coffee - hot and brown but bland and tasteless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crwydrol
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear crwydrol, Thank you for your review. I note you comments regarding the coffee and I shall make sure that my Food & Beverage Team are made aware so that we may monitor the supply over the coming weeks. We hope that we can welcome you back to Lancaster House in the near future, where you will hopefully enjoy a...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Four lovely nights in a rain-soaked Lancaster but I didn't care. Lovely , comfy room with a nice bar, restaurant and gym. Good English brekky after an hour running and cross training, and then a business meeting. Firm beds and clean rooms. Cookies and coffee in each room. A limitless noisy one night with a high school dance but otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear Greg R, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA. I am pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the facilities on offer despite a busy work schedule. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel. With Best Wishes Andy Lemm General Manager

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing three night stay. Staff were friengly and polite throughout our stay. Room was nice and clean with good facilities. Bathroom was a bit dated but everything was functional and clean. Swimming pool and spa were lovely. Breakfast buffet was amazing! Loved the huge pineapple chunks! Had dinner in bar one night and although I couldn't fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz r
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear liz r, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you particularly enjoyed breakfast; this is as they say the most important meal of the day! I note your comments regarding the dated bathroom and I am pleased to say that this is something that we are looking into and we have plans for bathroom refurbishments....

chester
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We have been staying at this hotel for several short breaks and have always enjoyed our stays The hotel is very central for the lakes Blackpool and Lancaster We find the staff very welcoming and lovely people who go out of their way to help nothing is too much trouble for them which is nice The room was spotless very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chesterroy
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear chesterroy, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay here at Lancaster House. For us we love that there are guest, like your self’s who enjoy returning to the hotel time and again, and indeed we consider this one of our proudest accolades. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With...

Gloucester
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The trips we plan are always done with trepidation due to our disabilities which cause specific problems. No hotel has managed to totally accomodate us until this one. Our conditions mean we need a room as near the car as possible because we have to transport medical equipment etc and we cannot walk far without great pain. Accomodating my wife's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Dear Alan B, Thank you very much for your lovely review. Can I also add thank you for the email that we received as well. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals and that your birthday didn’t pass us by. Alan B, we would be extremely pleased to welcome you back to Lancaster House in the near future...

403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Arnside (37)
Viewed
Classic Room (35)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Luxury Studio (40)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
929 reviews
4.4 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
462 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
288 reviews
9.3 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,181 reviews
4.6 km away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: $123 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lancaster House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Lancaster House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Groundfloor suite in quiet area”
 of 5 bubbles Vexilllogist, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Next to the University of Lancaster”
 of 5 bubbles Tasos_Mariangela, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For special occasions a suite is great but all rooms well appointed”
 of 5 bubbles stevengE9394PQ, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful suites for a little extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles sparky582016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check every detail. Ask the hotel if they are expecting ant large groups of guests and ask to be as far away as possible from them.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneW787, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay