We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Detling Coachhouse

Booking.comUSD 92*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 103*
USD 92*
Great Deal
USD 103*
USD 103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Detling Coachhouse
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Detling Coachhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2014

we travel down from north wales and was met by emma , and she showed us to our rooms ,we booked two of them ,lovely rooms very quiet area peaceful settings and we liked that !,ruby and max are there dogs I liked very much ,the whole time there was good , slept very well ,recommend Steve bev kids thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xxste-bev
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.

Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2013

'Homely cottage in heart of Kent. Perfect hosts greeted with hot cup of coffee on a cold Dec afternoon, settled in my room with plenty of advice for my evening. Good breakfast selection a time to suit me... Personality and personal service - much nicer than the big chains. '

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine F
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was recommended to stay here by a friend. I would definitely stay here again. I stayed in a single room as it was a business related visit but I would visit again with my wife. It is in a beautiful setting and there is a warm and friendly atmosphere. The room was well appointed and the whole experience was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2013

After sampling a number of hotels and B&B's in the area, I was recommended to stay at the detling coach house by an acquaintance of mine. I was initially bowled over by the beautiful picturesque country-side setting, simply stunning. Despite the rural setting the B&B is conveniently located only a few minutes away from the M20. upon my arrival I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had been over to Calais and wanted a room near to the motorway, at a reasonable rate. We booked this via Booking.com at short notice and paid £49.50 for B&B. The location was excellent for us, 5 mins from M20 but in a very quiet and picturesque setting with ample parking. The building is obviously very old and quaint,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joan t
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A lovely looking B&B with fantastic surroundings. Absolutely beautiful. But just a small downfall... the room we stayed in, the heating system had broken and where the door had been kept shut from the rest of the house, the room was freezing! They gave us a small fan heater but it look a while to heat up. Breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy_Saunders
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Friends and I used this accommodation for our yearly reunion, renting out several rooms for the night. I had a single room with en suite. The proprietors made us very welcome and gave us the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for them. The stay was very relaxing from beginning to end. The coach house is very atmospheric, cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Detling Coach House on our way to and from France and cannot recommend it highly enough. The service was excellent as is the location, convenient for the motorway and channel ports, the many historic sites and beautiful countryside, in fact something for everyone. The gardens are a delight Our room was comfortable and well appointed, breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandA94
Reviewed 18 September 2013

stayed for one night while we were rubbing shoulders with famous musicians down the road at maidstone studios. when we arrived we were loitering about in the lobby until we managed to get the attention of the owners (our own fault for not ringing the doorbell, although it was raining heavily) we were escorted to our room and offered a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doctorglover
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very friendly service. Received texts before arrival to check ETA and arrangements. The place is set in beautiful surroundings. Typical English cottage style, which was lovely. Unfortunately the bedding smelled musty and bed was very squeaky. The other downside was the very interesting plumbing. After turning the tap on, you had to wait about 10 seconds and then it came...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CherylSteph
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we shall look into the comments you have made. As we don't have much height for the water we need to employ a pump to provide the pressure which unfortunately does have a time lag . We have looked into many possibilities but this is our only option....

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.4 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
529 reviews
4.0 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,463 reviews
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
24.7 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range: $100 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say any room would be as good as any other.Used a ground floor room which had a bath,and,this year,an upstairs room with a shower.”
Geoff1953, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it sitting in the garden next to the pond.”
J4022WTdavidm, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 4 and room 1 both nice and big”
johnybob1, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you need a good nights would recommend .As just off main road with no noise . Well worth a visit”
KenH302, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had the ground floor room which was lovely”
Minicooperdogs, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 92* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 103
Hotels.comUSD 103
TripAdvisorUSD 92
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates