We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Basingstoke Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Basingstoke Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,071 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,044: English reviews
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rooms abit small however clean and warm. Friendly staff especially on reception. Lift a bit out dated. Meal was good especially the creme brulee. Prices were reasonably good location with car parking.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deborah H Thank you for such positive feedback following your recent stay at The Basingstoke Hotel and I am delighted to learn that your entire stay was an enjoyable one. The hotel was built in 1985 and has been refurbished on occasions throughout this period with a new refurbishment planned soon to convert the hotel to high spec Crowne... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid £40 for the night to go to an early Xmas do and wasn't expecting much based on some recent reviews as it seems to be undergoing a refurbishment. However, the room was large, bed comfy, bathroom good and the room was very light due to the large windows which gave the added bonus of a nice view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank J T
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J T , Thank you for your review following your recent stay and I am delighted that your stay was such a positive experience and thank you for sharing your feedback. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Basingstoke Hotel. Yours sincerely, Vinay Malhotra General Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really friendly helpful staff can't say enough praise about them just the dated rooms let it down a bit they are renovating the front of house looks brilliant but the rooms really need done and quick as they are really roomy but they are the only thing that let's it down. It's even perfectly located for the theme parks about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane L
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shane L Thank you for such positive feedback following your recent stay at The Basingstoke Hotel and I am delighted to learn that your entire stay was an enjoyable one. The hotel was built in 1985 and has been refurbished on occasions throughout this period with a new refurbishment planned soon to convert the hotel to high spec Crowne... More 

Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was there for a course. I phone reception in the morning as I was unsure where to go once I reached the person on reception, I hadn't even got through my bit of whom I needed to speak with & she has shut me off & put me through. Receptionist didn't even look up when I entered to lobby.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane G Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. I am sorry to learn of the disappointing experience encountered in our front desk service standards which are of course unacceptable. There can be no... More 

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having read some of the reviews I was not overly looking forward to staying here....but....reception was very efficient. Room on the first floor was very clean , bathroom came with plenty of fluffy towels and not the small stamp size towels you often get. Good sized room with plenty of hanging space , good size TV . Bed was extremely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KLBOS
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KLBOS I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad to learn that you had a lovely stay, with a great breakfast and especially your specific comments with regard to my staff. Thank you also for your comments regarding the bar lounge and the overall... More 

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think this is a good hotel, it appears to have had a make over compared to some reviews. The bar area and room i stayed in were nicely decorated and the service was good. Nothing was exceptional but would stay again. The location means you will need to drive to go out as nothing locally.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_howitt
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We do appreciate your positive feedback and I am pleased to learn that your stay was good.Our new owners are committed to investing in the hotel which will be completely refurbished to become a high... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Legoland break. We have 2 children with autism who often find staying away from home quite stressful but even they loved it. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast buffet was fab with lots of options.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nolantribe
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nolantribe Thank you for your review of The Basingstoke Hotel and we do appreciate you taking the time to give such positive feedback. I am so glad that your family were well looked after and well catered for, as a family friendly hotel we do like our small VIP guests to also enjoy their stay with us. Your comments... More 

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

General decor and condition a bit long in the tooth .Reception bright cheerful and efficient. Had to have one room changed as lights not working first would not come on then not go off .The room was swapped without problems just delay whilst being made up. Conservatory restaurant a little chill but infra red heaters were turned on to remedy... More 

Helpful?
Thank 803Stevep
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BO3Stevep, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Basingstoke Hotel. Your comments are noted with regard to refurbishment and plans are already underway for this work to commence shortly. However there should be no impact on maintenance issues requiring attention and I do apologise for the electrical issues in your room, which have now... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Just got back from 2 fantastic nights stay at the above. after reading poor reviews from others all i can say is they must have stayed at a different hotel. From checking in late Thursday till leaving today its been faultless. clean room, (276) lovley food in the restaurant, and reasonably priced too as we ate there both nights! All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean S
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dean S Thank you for posting review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. It is a pleasure for me to know that you were so well looked after by my team and they will be pleased that their efforts were appreciated. I... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The hotel is supposed to be waiting for a complete makeover so they know it needs it! We have stayed there previously when it was a Hilton and, at the time, felt the prices were way out of line for the standard of the food and the rooms. The rooms and food are a bit worse than they were and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jonboyjackyYorkshire
Stergos K, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jonboyjackyYorkshire, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and we note your comments. Our new owners are committed to investing in the hotel which will be completely refurbished to become a high spec. Crowne Plaza. Hotel prices are usually higher than other outlets which reflects the 24 hour operation of the business. I... More 

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
6.3 km away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 12 in Basingstoke
709 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 12 in Basingstoke
325 reviews
2.5 km away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
0.9 km away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 12 in Basingstoke
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern hotel located 2 miles from Basingstoke station & 35 from Heathrow Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Basingstoke Hotel

Address: Black Dam Old Common Road, Basingstoke RG21 3PR, England (Formerly Hilton Basingstoke)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Price Range: $63 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Basingstoke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Basingstoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Basingstoke Hotel Basingstoke
Hilton International Basingstoke
Basingstoke Hilton International
The Basingstoke Hotel Hampshire
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Basingstoke Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Basingstoke Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the ground floor... Beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles saundersmelanie, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Quieter is always upstairs, better at the end of the hallway/corridor. The walls and floors seem to be like from a cardboard.”
 of 5 bubbles JayElectrics, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check when you book if any of the rooms have air Con and if you need a ground floor then ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles neilg970, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 265 was awful.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmmaS, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Large rooms on the 2 floor”
 of 5 bubbles DarlanFenili, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay