We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Bolton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Britannia Bolton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 429: English reviews
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Attended a wedding here and decided to stay over, far from expensive overall the rooms seem comfortable, the bar and restaurant areas are nice, staff are friendly. It just seems to be a little past its best, looking a little tired. Still these points didn't detract from a good day and a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and the wedding was a success. I hope to welcome you back the Britannia Hotel Bolton in the future Kind Regards The Britannia Hotel Team

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Went on a trip with National Holidays for their Pendle Witches Tour. My heart sank w hen I saw that the hotel was a Britannia one. However, I must say that it totally exceeded expectations. The reception area was smart and the receptionist was extremely helpful, Dinner was very early at 6.30pm, but the dining room was smart and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HAREM3
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive and lovely review. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. I am glad the reception team where helpful to you and that you enjoyed both your evening meal and breakfast the next morning, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Britannia Hotel...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here as it was the only dog friendly hotel I could find. I was shocked when I saw the room. The walls were dirty, there was only a sheet as the mattress cover, I wouldn't go barefoot, I didn't use the shower facilities & went to a different hotel the next day & had a lovely clean experience....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 893stephaniet
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am disappointed to learn that you did not like your room, however it states in your room that should you not be happy for any reason to speak to reception. I am sure they would have been more than happy to help you. I hope we...

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

On arrival we were met by a skip outside on the grass, not a great ideal first impression. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was a twin on the ground floor. Fairly clean but could do with a bigger mattress protector as the one on my bed didn't cover all of the mattress, also protectors required for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. There is currently a skip outside the back gates of the hotel on the car park, this is because we are in the process of revamping the hotel, as you can imagine this takes us a long time due to the size of the hotel and us...

Hull, East Yorkshire,England
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed Monday 13th July for 3 nights. Hotel is good,and located just outside of Bolton.Rooms where clean and tidy,cleaned and beds made everyday.Towels changed,plenty of tea and coffee in room.Entertainment Tues/Weds nights.Staff very pleasant! Nothing a problem. Food very good,3 course each night with plenty of choices! Special mention goes out to Kamit, who served us each for our evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CheshireKoshka
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and I am so happy to learn you enjoyed your time here at the Britannia Hotel Bolton. I am glad you enjoyed the food and that Kamit was so helpful. I will pass on these comments to Kamit and too our head chef and I...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We arrived on Monday for a conference near by. Cons: - No phone reception in rooms - No wifi in rooms (when asked about this we were told that the router doesn't reach) - No phone signal in rooms - Expensive bar (2 glasses of wine and a coke cost ~£9) At one point I went back to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M S
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at Britannia Hotel Bolton. I will try to address the points you raise with us now. There are phones in all bedrooms, these only dial internally so to ring reception or to ring another room etc. you can not dial an outside...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

When entering from the road it appears you will be welcomed by a lovely grand hotel. What hits you is more of a school and playground sort of feel. It gets worse when you enter the hotel. Dirty carpets, marks on the walls. No internet as it was not working. And forget trying to get a signal on your mobile....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ennapatel
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was very disappointed to read it. I am sorry that you did not enjoy breakfast as this is something we pride ourselves on and get lovely comments about often. I am sorry to learn that you could not connect to the Wi-Fi - Wi-Fi is offered in...

Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Very clean hotel staff are happy to help and give any advise should you need any close to local pubs and a short drive to bolton town center easy to find off a busy main road but it very quiet no traffic noise

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrea7374
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am pleased that you found our staff so helpful, customer service is very important to us and I'm glad you were happy with them. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Your Britannia Hotel Bolton Team

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I stayed for 1 night whilst working away, room was ok a little tired food in restaurant was very average. Why can't somebody design a hotel door that can close quietly ?? Needless to say a poor nights sleep.......... Staff very polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wragsi
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you found our staff polite. The doors is something we are currently looking into and I hope by your next visit this is resolved Kind Regards The Britannia Hotel Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed in the Britannia Bolton Hotel with my girlfriend as part of a mystery tour operated through National Holiday. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was really pleasant, really spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom had the usual standard of bathroom; this included a really good powerful shower. We both had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeordieHorgeRN
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. I am happy that you found check in so easy as I know that can be a worry for customers when arriving on a coach. I am so happy to learn you found the room clean and comfortable and I will pass on...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
4.2 km away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,136 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.7 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A former Holiday Inn, the Britannia Hotel Bolton is in a fantastic location for exploring the North West. Situated close to the M61 motorway, Bolton's Macron Stadium is only a 10 minute drive, or for the shoppers, The Trafford Centre and Manchester City Centre are just a 15 minute drive. All the family will enjoy the highly rated Go Ape at nearby Rivington Pike and Bolton Town Centre is just 2 miles away with its great range of bars, clubs and nightlife, as well as several golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Price Range: $62 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm just so glad to have stayed in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jroberts394, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cheap and cheerful, rooms at the back are very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Adekama, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I saw a lift but we did not use it as our room was easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosemarie000, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just stay away from room 126 it was a nightmare”
 of 5 bubbles keithbU5235LN, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms next to the car park have the evening sun!”
  • Car Park area.
  • Spacious
  • Plush bed toppers!
  • Nice colour combination!
  • Check the dispenser!
 of 5 bubbles DinkyJenny, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay