We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Bolton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Britannia Bolton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 423: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

When entering from the road it appears you will be welcomed by a lovely grand hotel. What hits you is more of a school and playground sort of feel. It gets worse when you enter the hotel. Dirty carpets, marks on the walls. No internet as it was not working. And forget trying to get a signal on your mobile....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ennapatel
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was very disappointed to read it. I am sorry that you did not enjoy breakfast as this is something we pride ourselves on and get lovely comments about often. I am sorry to learn that you could not connect to the Wi-Fi - Wi-Fi is offered in...

Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Very clean hotel staff are happy to help and give any advise should you need any close to local pubs and a short drive to bolton town center easy to find off a busy main road but it very quiet no traffic noise

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrea7374
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am pleased that you found our staff so helpful, customer service is very important to us and I'm glad you were happy with them. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Your Britannia Hotel Bolton Team

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I stayed for 1 night whilst working away, room was ok a little tired food in restaurant was very average. Why can't somebody design a hotel door that can close quietly ?? Needless to say a poor nights sleep.......... Staff very polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wragsi
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you found our staff polite. The doors is something we are currently looking into and I hope by your next visit this is resolved Kind Regards The Britannia Hotel Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed in the Britannia Bolton Hotel with my girlfriend as part of a mystery tour operated through National Holiday. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was really pleasant, really spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom had the usual standard of bathroom; this included a really good powerful shower. We both had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeordieHorgeRN
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. I am happy that you found check in so easy as I know that can be a worry for customers when arriving on a coach. I am so happy to learn you found the room clean and comfortable and I will pass on...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for business in Bolton. Upon arrival the exterior of the hotel looks very old and shabby. The staff on reception were pretty friendly, not mega helpful though. My room looked very dated and exhausted. Everything in the room looked aged and dirty, not great. The bathroom shower wasn't the best and my bed wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshnadin
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at Britannia Hotel Bolton. I am sorry to learn that you did not find your room up to standard, however in the hotel information sheet in your room it does state that should you not be happy with your room to speak to reception....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

After reading some reviews, we were a bit worried. We needn't have been. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, the rooms were quiet and spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom clean. We paid £46 for bed, breakfast and evening meal - the local Premier Inn wanted £72 room only - and we thought they were on a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jackie B
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and I am so happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you thought so highly of our staff, customer service is one of the main things we pride ourselves on here. I have also passed on your fab comments about the food to...

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Stayed just for one night whilst in the bolton area. Plenty of car parking spaces. The reception staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel and the rooms are very clean and tidy. I didnt eat here as i was going out for the night and choose to eat in town later. The beds are very comfortable. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oakworth2
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I have passed your comments about the reception staff over to the reception manager and we are pleased you found our staff so helpful as customer service is one of the main things we pride ourselves on here. Next time you visit you must try...

Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Rooms are clean, Bathroom very clean, Could do with new carpets and a bit of paint apart from that good over all if you are just needing a room for a night or so but cannot complain.Food very good, there is a housing estate at the back of the Hotel but very quite.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin J
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your lovely comments about the food to our chef who I am sure will be just as pleased as I am. I look forward to welcoming you back to Britannia Hotel Bolton in the future Kind Regards...

East Yorkshire
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

On the whole we were very impressed with this hotel. As with other reviews the hotel would benefit from a bit of refurbishment, new carpeting in rooms and corridors, but it is clean and good value. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed daily. The food was very good, plenty to choose from and fresh. It does cater for coach trips...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janet j
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so happy to learn you found our customer service so great as this is one main thing we pride ourselves on and our staff do work exceedingly hard. The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishments however as you can imagine in a hotel this...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Had a good night very good for value for the money staff very helpful will go again It just a shame the hotel a little worn around the edge s The group that was on made me feel at home right back In Lancashire would definitely book again. Didn't realise we had missed a murder mystery night. I hope the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnasdeli
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you loved the band. They are great fun aren't they? If you are interested in our next Murder Mystery or other events we have at the hotel, please email us at reception731@britanniahotels.com and we will let you know what we have...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
4.2 km away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,106 reviews
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
4.0 km away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.7 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A former Holiday Inn, the Britannia Hotel Bolton is in a fantastic location for exploring the North West. Situated close to the M61 motorway, Bolton's Macron Stadium is only a 10 minute drive, or for the shoppers, The Trafford Centre and Manchester City Centre are just a 15 minute drive. All the family will enjoy the highly rated Go Ape at nearby Rivington Pike and Bolton Town Centre is just 2 miles away with its great range of bars, clubs and nightlife, as well as several golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Price Range: $63 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm just so glad to have stayed in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jroberts394, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cheap and cheerful, rooms at the back are very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Adekama, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I saw a lift but we did not use it as our room was easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosemarie000, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just stay away from room 126 it was a nightmare”
 of 5 bubbles keithbU5235LN, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms next to the car park have the evening sun!”
  • Car Park area.
  • Nice colour combination!
  • Check the dispenser!
  • Spacious
  • Plush bed toppers!
 of 5 bubbles DinkyJenny, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay