We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

International Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having booked this hotel last minute, I did have a look at the reviews before I booked. I think some of the reveiwers must have stayed at a different hotel to us! The car park to the hotel was the first thing that greeted us. There was rubbish scattered all over the car park. I guess there must be a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMCD76
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this Hotel's function room out for one night, which had taken moths and months of preparation and planning, only to be let down completely by the appalling quality of service and frankly rude and inept staff. The management and organisation system resembles that of a cattle market, we sat down for meals at 7:45 and the dessert was... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank Tom B
Eventsteam2014, Events Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to provide feedback from your event. Due to electrical problems in our kitchen that evening, extra pressure was put on all of our staff so I do apologize if you did not receive our usual high standard of service. Please may I point out that the price you quoted was not the price... More 

Travellers are raving about these Derby hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The meals came out at all different times, and was cold when it finally arrived. Plus the size if the meals were very small. Waiters showed no care, and service at the bar was slow. We not recommend the place to a friend and most definitely would not go back.

Helpful?
6 Thank Ben D
Eventsteam2014, Events Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to provide feedback, your points have been noted and will be discussed and acted upon accordingly More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having paid £35 for this venue, we were deeply disappointed in the pre-ordered three course meal we received. The starters were served at least twenty minutes late, which is somewhat forgivable given that the venue was catering for a large function, however upon arrival the food was cold and ultimately below par. There was a choice of four starters, however... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie H
Eventsteam2014, Events Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to provide feedback from your event. I am sorry you had a disappointing evening, I have taken note of all your comments and will be discussing your points raised with senior kitchen and bar staff in order to improve our service. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 May 2014

...After thinking that we were going to have a 3 course meal, in the end we didn't. They did not have enough food to cater for the whole of the party so only bought some deserts out to selected tables. We only found out by hear-say that the hotel had ran out of profiteroles - not formally by a member... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had our leavers day prom here, which cost us, as a year of around 130, £35 each. With our starters, they arrived by meal, rather than per table, meaning that people on the table had already had their food and finished it before others had even started theirs. I had soup which was just above room temperature, at best,... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank 874sophiem
Eventsteam2014, Events Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to provide feedback from your event. I have noted your comments and am suprised that you state your meal was cold as the the mains were plated and served immediately with little waiting time. I will however discuss this with our kitchen staff along with your other points in order to improve the... More 

derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went to the international hotel for a function, of which there should have been a three course meal served and finished by about half nine. By half nine most people were still waiting upon a main, baring in mind service began at eight,they were taking over an hour to get one course out. When the food eventually came out it... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank e789
Eventsteam2014, Events Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to provide feedback from your event. I am sorry that you found the evening to be disappointing but please be reassured that all of your points raised will be discussed with senior kitchen staff and any problems highlighted dealt with accordingly. More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on Easter Saturday 2014 and it was brilliant for the price of £39. There was off road parking for free and it was close to city centre. The room was spotless, a bit compact but all facilities available including tea, coffee, freeview tv, wireless and an immaculate refurbished bathroom, comfy bed, very clean, excellent bar prices and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LC180660
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend with our family and friends as we had our anniversary party at the hotel. From the start we were welcomed brilliantly, they even changed the TV channel in the main lounge to CBBC for our young nephews. The party organisers did a fantastic job, nothing was too much trouble and we had a great time.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lolandjane
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Me & my sister stayed at this hotel mid week. The hotel was basic but clean, on arrival we were greeted by a friendly face who checked us in quickly. We were told breakfast times, asked if we wanted a newspaper, wake up call etc. The room was nice and the bathroom clean with sufficient towels. The full breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatyLouise81

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 km away
Victoria Park Hotel
Victoria Park Hotel
#29 of 30 in Derby
23 reviews
1.5 km away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 30 in Derby
387 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 30 in Derby
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#14 of 30 in Derby
438 reviews
1.5 km away
The Georgian House Hotel
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about International Hotel

Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from International Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Looked at Room 202. Newly refurbished double room. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles marjoriepayling, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had the family room and it more than comfortably for 4 adults with 2 double beds and a single.”
 of 5 bubbles Sammi_louu, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably quieter at the back, ask to see your room before paying!”
 of 5 bubbles roz1409, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiter rooms facing the car park”
 of 5 bubbles jbrussellgreen, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ERWINJESKE, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay