We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pentahotel Derby

Save
Share
Locomotive Way Pride Park, Derby DE24 8PU England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 95
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (201)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pentahotel Derby
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 30 hotels in Derby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Important information on limited service Due to the current coronavirus (COVID-19) situation, we are experiencing temporary limitation of our service in some destinations. Please keep up with the latest information provided on our website. For your own health and safety, we continue to closely monitor the situation, following guidelines from the World Health Organisation and local health authorities. Thank you very much for your understanding. - From a perfect position in Pride Park, pentahotel Derby is a gateway to Derby’s business district and all the city’s attractions. Step inside and experience a hotel that’s proud to be different. Our pentalounge - part hotel reception, part cool club – is the heart of penta: a friendly chill-out zone, designed by Italian architectural maestro Mattheo Thun. Your only problem will be wanting to extend your stay!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Romanian
2,179Reviews17Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 974
  • 655
  • 346
  • 125
  • 79
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andy235 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Lincoln, United Kingdom208 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
Stayed for 1 night with business. First visit and won’t be the last. Hotel very clean staff helpful and courteous excellent Covid-19 things in place for safety including breakfast table ordering. Good location couple good miles away from city centre. Hotel has a lovely quirky feel to it excellent decor in line with a cinema theme.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashley Bond, General Manager at Pentahotel Derby
Responded 5 Nov. 2020
Dear Andy235, Thank you for positive review of your stay with us at pentahotels. The team here in Derby are all working towards making the hotel a great place to relax & stay & I am glad that this came across during your visit. It give us a pleasure to read your kind words on location, decor and staff. I hope that we will see you back with us very soon. Very best regards Ashley
Read more
littleglobetrotter88 wrote a review Oct. 2020
United Kingdom280 contributions142 helpful votes
Really good night sleep, the room was spacious and very clean. Dinner in the restaurant was good, not too many people around which meant it was spacious to keep good distance. Despite signs clearly visible saying wear masks around the hotel I still say 2 or 3 guests walking in and around without one, and they were not challenged either. Breakfast I choose to have in the restaurant rather than brown paper bag, it was ok. Nothing special. The baked beans were very salty. Overall a good stay, staff very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashley Bond, General Manager at Pentahotel Derby
Responded 15 Oct. 2020
Hi littleglobetrotter88, Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly. I can assure you that we are following all government guidance in relation to Covid-19 and the staff are challenging guests when required, please be aware that guests are not required to wear a mask when sitting down and eating or drinking or if they are medically exempt. We do use no added sugar or salt Baked Beans so I apologise for them seeming too salty but I can assure you they do not contain salt. Thank you once again, I hope we see you again soon.
Read more
scottandwendy wrote a review Sep. 2020
Urmston, United Kingdom258 contributions40 helpful votes
A nice, neat quirky hotel situated in the Pride Park area of Derby within a hearty 10-15m walk into the City Centre (more about that in a bit). The staff, to be fair are really nice, friendly and will do anything for you, but with regards Covid restrictions, particularly non plus. There is a nice restaurant around the corner called 'Seven' (see separate review) and there's a Harvester and Hungry Horse within a few minute's walk. With regards location, it's a nice walk into the City alongside the river, but I wouldn't recommend this after dark. A taxi costs no more than a fiver.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbora Petirova, General Manager at Pentahotel Derby
Responded 1 Oct. 2020
Dear Scfcscott, Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at pentahotels. The team here in Derby are all working towards making the hotel a great place to relax & stay & I am glad that this came across during your visit. I hope that we will see you back with us very soon. Very best regards Ashley
Read more
AJ13 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Derby, United Kingdom1 contribution
One night away for my Husband's birthday and having a meal at Seven (walking distance). Check in was simple and easy, upon entering hotel room (301), lovely gift of prosecco and chocolates left for my husband's birthday. Room very clean. What went wrong: - Only one pillow provided per person, which was so thin (should have brought my own haha!), I rang reception as usually double beds have two pillows per person and to ask where to find them. The lady I spoke to told me they had RAN OUT of spare pillows?!? Great. - Also the following morning (approx 6:45am) I went downstairs to grab a couple of coffee and enquire about breakfast (we had not pre booked). A lady and young man who had done the night shift explained they are not serving breakfast at the moment. Frustrating but fair enough, we booked to go to the Harvester instead and then we we came to check out around 9am, we saw couples enjoying breakfast at the hotel? On your website it states breakfast is served from 630am, and to be told it's not running at all and then find people having breakfast was very frustrating. The good: - Room was clean, bathroom was clean, shower hot. Kettle and tea/coffee making facilities in the room - We did not find the room hot or overheated, was worried about this from previous comments but our room had no issues of that. Unfortunately even though it started off so well, the service we later on received just left a sour taste in our mouths. For the convenience of where it is located and price it's not bad at all. Just some pointers to bare in mind if wanting to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbora Petirova, General Manager at Pentahotel Derby
Responded 1 Oct. 2020
Dear annekaj89, Thanks for the review of your stay with us at pentahotels. I am sorry that we didn’t get things quite right for you, we are always striving for perfection and I am sorry that your experience with us didn’t quite reach this level. If we can tempt you back to stay with us again I am sure that we can prove to you that we are capable of better. Very best regards Ashley
Read more
SallyM wrote a review Aug. 2020
Devon, United Kingdom1 contribution
Good: Clean,comfy bed. Bad : So hot could not sleep despite air con on full blast. No cool air just noise. Communal areas nice and cool but not rooms. Looking at past reviews seems a common theme. Kettles etc removed from room so had to pay £ 7 for 2 coffees in public area. Understand the need for Covid reasons but could offer free coffee downstairs. Found out after stay there was a free option but we were not informed of this. Parking- £5 to park where you are staying ? Bit tight. Overall not enjoyable and will try the holiday inn next time. I expect I will get the standard reply from the hotel " we are sorry and will try better next time..." but unless Penta actually makes changes they are just going to lose business.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbora Petirova, General Manager at Pentahotel Derby
Responded 24 Aug. 2020
Dear Sallyandianmassey, Thanks for the review of your stay with us at pentahotels. I assure you, we do take all of our guests feedback on board here at Penta Derby and are currently looking at a longer term solution regards to the air flow in the bedrooms, Fully understand your frustrations regards to Tea/coffee, which I can only apologies for If we can tempt you back to stay with us again I am sure that we can prove to you that we are capable of better. Very best regards Ashley
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 61 - USD 183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada encore derby hotel derby
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
pentahotel Derby
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pentahotel Derby
Which popular attractions are close to Pentahotel Derby?
Nearby attractions include Pride Park Stadium (0.7 km), The Brunswick Inn (0.5 km), and Alter Rock Climbing Centre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pentahotel Derby?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pentahotel Derby?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Pentahotel Derby?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pentahotel Derby?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pentahotel Derby?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grand Cafe Caruso, Shalimar Gold, and Anoki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pentahotel Derby?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Pentahotel Derby?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Pentahotel Derby offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pentahotel Derby?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Romanian.