We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alexa House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alexa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alexa House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

On arriving we got a warm welcom The room was spacious and clean Shower had a lot of pressur The breakfast was extensive even serving kippers and haddock Plus cranberry juice I was pleasently surpised Just the location as i was walking not in a car

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2kimbo
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Its encouraging to find that you enjoyed the new power shower system and the kippers for breakfast Hope to see you again soon Sandra

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed 1 night in one of annex rooms. On entering there is a really strong musty/damp smell, quite overpowering ! In desperate need of refurbishment. Bedding however is crisp and clean. Ample good free parking. Helpful lady host. Superb tasty breakfast but put off by very dated and cluttered breakfast room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magi M
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Having just had a new high pressure hot water system fitted there were a few leaks which have now been sorted. All the rooms are being refurbished in during September and October. I'm sorry you don't like the style of my dining room but I do want to keep the more homely feel to the building. I am glad you...

bo'ness
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very disappointed with the quality and service here for the price paid. Landlady very rude to me and other guests during breakfast. Tourist board rate 4 stars but very wrong in my opinion! My bedside table was a foldaway tv dinner table which was across the bedroom door. I am sure that this will be a fire hazard? Not happy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank N18CJF
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I think the small fold away table you are referring to is actually in the wardrobe to allow you to stand a small suitcase on it if required. It isn't a bedside table. You are of course at liberty to use it for this purpose. I am really sorry if you think I was in any way rude during breakfast....

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

On arrival we were welcomed into the main house. We were disappointed to discover that we were having to pay £50 each per night sharing a room for 3, £10 extra per night than we had expected. We were then told we had to go back out in the pouring rain to get to our room. When we entered our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fawkesette
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as part of what turned out to be a very noisy group. The rooms in the Stable Cottages will be fully refurbished with new bathrooms, decoration and carpets by the end of October. The addition of a High pressure hot water system to provide power showers did cause a few leaks and...

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here as part of a large group. The booking was not made by myself, and Me and 2 colleagues were located in the courtyard. From the pictures it looked good for the prices charged compared to other facilities. On arrival check in was straight forward, however on opening our room I was not impressed. The room had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Scottishlass1980
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

All the rooms are being decorated and new carpet during the next couple of months. I have just had a new high pressure hot water system fitted so wasn't going to have the bathrooms redone until the system settles down as I have had a few pipes spring leaks. I most certainly wasn't staying with my Mum merely visiting the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If I had to describe a typical English B&B to someone I'd probably describe Alexa House. A cheerfully fastidious landlady Sandra, English cooked breakfasts, and comfortable enough if slightly outdated decor in some aspects. There are some nice details, such as provision of ear buds and cotton wool. The breakfasts here are good quality and with plentiful choice and quantity....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

As you may have noticed, I have had a new high pressure water system fitted this spring and then its a winter of decorating and updating so hopefully by next year you will see a brighter room or two Good to see you again Sandra

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stay here every year for work. The guest house is lovely, clean and welcoming. Sandra always looks after us and makes us feel at home. Breakfast is lovely and plenty of variety. All in all I would definetly recommend I look forward to my return visit next year

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Devon679
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Great to see you again Hope to see you next year Sandra

Rishton Blackburn
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I has an absolutely brilliant weekend here. Sandra is such a lovely and welcoming person from our arrival on Friday 4th until we left on Monday 7th July 2014. The house is a lovely house. We stayed in one of the annex rooms at the back of the house. It was a lovely room with all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rammy66
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Wasn't it a great weekend - lovely weather, great company and even a few bikes to watch fly by. Sandra

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having arrived at Alexa House I had to wait 5 minutes as the owner was in fact not in & did not answer her mobile phone (which was on the front door) Later on in the evening I was unable to turn my shower on. With nobody in the Guest House whatsoever (it was 19:30 at this point) I had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 127ttravel
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I can only apologise as I did profusely as the guest was leaving that morning There was a problem with the shower in her room which my daughter who was in the building did manage to turn on for her but this was after she had used the shower in the next room All the showers have now had new...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good Parking on premises Nice clean crisp bedding Large bath towels such a treat to have a hotel towel that wraps right around you overall clean room powerfull shower and hot water Easy walking distance from town centre. Not so good Room desperately in need of decorating also there is a hole in the wall where people have obviously pushed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gatoruby2
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I am really sorry about your shower valve You are right I have had it happen to other valves over the last week as I have just upgraded my water system to a high pressure one to give everyone much better shower pressure. It seems the old valves cant cope with this extra pressure. I have had them replaced as...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 km away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
1,619 reviews
0.5 km away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#7 of 103 in Harrogate
320 reviews
0.4 km away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#57 of 103 in Harrogate
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#8 of 103 in Harrogate
483 reviews
0.6 km away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 103 in Harrogate
266 reviews
1.0 km away
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Shannon Court Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Harrogate
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alexa House is a beautifully restored detached Victorian property with ample free parking, situated just a short stroll from the town. The Conference & Exhibition Halls are close by so it is the ideal place to enjoy a visit to Harrogate whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexa House

Address: 26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $104 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexa House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alexa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexa House Hotel Harrogate
Alexa House Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alexa House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Outside rooms are more spacious and no stairs”
 of 5 bubbles jonandamandagraham, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top rooms are attics so no proper shower only attachment, sloping ceiling prevents being able to stand in the bath, ask for first floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarahKent2014, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“front of the house is my favorite”
 of 5 bubbles DeeDeeG320, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles cortedevino, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The attic rooms don't have a walk in shower due to the sloping ceiling but do have a bath with a shower attachment”
 of 5 bubbles Annec14, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5