We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alexa House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Alexa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alexa House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Kalsdorf bei Graz, Austria
Reviewed 30 July 2016

my room was in a small "hut" not directly in the hotel, the room was very cold, they turned off the heating the whole day, the owner was not really friendly, I think she only likes British guest, Harrogate itself is perfect

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cortedevino
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

How odd that you waited untill you left to say you were cold. And not only that but 4 months after your stay. Actually the heating was definately on in April in every room, even the Stable Cottages. I do not keep the heating on all day as most guests do choose to see Harrogate during the day. Had you...

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed at Alexa House for one night, we were attending the Crime Writing Festival at The Old Swan and Alexa House is perfectly placed - just five minutes walk away. We arrived before the official checking in time and was able to park our car in their car-park at the rear of the building. Sandra was warm and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annec14
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I bet my daughter who was helping out at breakfast last Sunday morning will be pleased too. Hopefully we will se you again for the Crime Writers Festival next year if not before Sandra

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I was only here here for one night. The Alexa is within 10 minute walk from the town centre. The place was easy to find, clean and we were warmly welcomed. My room was on the front of the house, overlooking the main road. This was not a problem as the house was away from this. The window opened, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I am pleased you liked the biscuit. I know how much people like to have a biscuit with their cup of Yorkshire tea. You are right room 3 is small but that is why it is listed as small single on all the booking sites. Glad you enjoyed your stay Sandra

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights (in fact checking out today) with my sister in law. The location of the property to harrogate centre is a short walk. It was lovely to be able to park up the car for the two days and walk everywhere. Our room (number 10) was a family room with a massive king size bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. As you found all our hot water comes from a big presurised tank so it gives the effect of a power shower, lovely to wake you up in the morning. And yes, the bed is massive its 7ft wide and the singles in the room are 3ft 6in so its enough space for most...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Hosts were very pleasant and helpful.Breakfast was excellent. The only thing that let us down was the bathroom in our top floor room. The room was smallish having been created from original loft space with sloping ceiling etc but that wasn't the problem. The tiny bathroom had only a bath but no shower, only a spray attached to the taps...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wandermann
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I have just changed my room listings on all the sites like booking.co. and late rooms to show exactly which room you are booking so it does say King Room with small bath This should give people the choice of which room to have. These rooms on the top floor do have a lovely view to compensate. I am glad...

banburyuk
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Just back from staying here for 2 nights. We were in a separate part of the main house next to the car park but this double ensuite was extremely comfortable with a lovely new bed, warm bathroom, decent shower. Breakfast was very good and the host is very welcoming and informative with lots of Yorkshire charm. A nice stroll away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wifeoftommo
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

So pleased you found the new bed comfortable and enjoyed your stay Looking forward to seeing you again soon Sandra

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

First impressions on arrival we were a bit disappointed as our room was in the stable block and it would have been nice to stay in the main house.to be fair the room turned out to be absolutely fine. The room was very cosy with a lovely comfy bed,lovely soft towels and plenty of hot water, TV and tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise2765
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know the room smelled of smoke, we do not allow smoking in the guesthouse but as you say people do smoke outside the rooms. I have made sure all the Cottage rooms have been checked and aired. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again Kind regards Sandra

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Rooms downstairs ideal for my dad as he struggles to climb stairs rooms were very clean honestly bar was a bonus.breakfast was very nice and service was excellent. Only 5 minute walk to town centre with plenty of shops and places to eat and drink mum and add really enjoyed the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keith1300gt
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the stay, and the hoesty bar :) Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us as we do try hard to make everyones stay perfect. Kind regards Sandra

Wimborne
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

This looked OK on the web site but the accommodation was poor. We had a small room with a tiny bathroom in the attic. I could hardly get in the bath. The furnishings were basic. The breakfast was poor with the smallest piece of fried bread I have ever seen. Overpriced for what it was. Would have paid £50 but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon L
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Harrogate is not the cheapest place to stay as I am sure you found when looking at comparable places on line. If you had wanted more fried bread you only had to ask. We just fine it is a bit rich when you have all the other locally sourced...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Stayed overnight on family visit , clean comfortable lovely bedding and a good sized bathroom.We walked into town to see christmas lights what a change from having to get the car out everytime .Really friendly and a great breakfast, we had our dog with us and the car was very handy for stable room.Thank you Sandra.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christine s
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review So glad you enjoyed your stay with your dog Harrogate Christmas lights are beautiful aren't they I hope you have a great Christmas Sandra

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 km away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#60 of 103 in Harrogate
130 reviews
0.5 km away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#5 of 103 in Harrogate
320 reviews
0.6 km away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#14 of 103 in Harrogate
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Arden House
Arden House
#6 of 103 in Harrogate
473 reviews
1.0 km away
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Shannon Court Guesthouse
#23 of 103 in Harrogate
175 reviews
4.7 km away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#53 of 103 in Harrogate
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alexa House is a beautifully restored detached Victorian property with ample free parking, situated just a short stroll from the town. The Conference & Exhibition Halls are close by so it is the ideal place to enjoy a visit to Harrogate whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexa House

Address: 26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $93 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexa House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexa House Hotel Harrogate
Alexa House Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alexa House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top rooms are attics so no proper shower only attachment, sloping ceiling prevents being able to stand in the bath, ask for first floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarahKent2014, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“front of the house is my favorite”
 of 5 bubbles DeeDeeG320, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles cortedevino, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The attic rooms don't have a walk in shower due to the sloping ceiling but do have a bath with a shower attachment”
 of 5 bubbles Annec14, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet room in the separate block from the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles wifeoftommo, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay