We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St George Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 149*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The St George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,022: English reviews
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This is the second time I have been to this hotel , the staff are very friendly and helpful . The hotel does need some updating as some areas are not good but saying that the rooms are clean and the bedding is fresh , the carpet in our room was very poor and not fitted very well . The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I will be sure to investigate the comments regarding the food and thank you for passing on this information. I am please you found us good value for money and would use us again. Kind Regards Edwina

Walsall. West Mids
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Just got back from a 4 day break at the St George Hotel in Harrogate. On arrival the check in was fast and professional. Our cases were taken promptly to our room, which did appear to need a refurb but was warm and comfy. All food served in the restaurant was of a real good standard and plenty of choice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan J
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you were happy overall with our staff. We price our drinks competitively amongst other hotels in Harrogate, unfortunately Weatherspoons is such a huge company that I believe any retailer would struggle to compete with their prices. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Travelled with Shearings and having been with them many times before this is one of the best if not the best we have stayed in with them in the uk. Clean, comfortable, warm, friendly and with excellent food at both breakfast and evening meal, what more can you ask for, oh yes and will not break the bank either (with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max T
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your review Shearings Holidays certainly offer good value for money breaks and I am happy this is reflected in your review. I have passed your comments onto the team who thank you for taking the time to place your review. We hope you will return in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

staffordshire
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Just returned from a Shearing coach 4 day break.So glad I did not read the reviews I would not have stayed there.I cannot believe the comments the hotel is a old building and yes the corridors are dated however the rooms are comfortable and warm. The food was of a very good standard,plenty of choice at breakfast and the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am so happy you enjoyed your break so much so that you wish to return in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My heading says it all, really. Very good, convenient location (although, if you are a light sleeper, make sure you don't get a room on the busy main road the hotel is on - and, additionally, we had a room at the end with, at times, quite loud music until the early hours from bars next door, so avoid that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EtoileSanderstead
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I have had a look through the comment cards from this break which are very reasonable so can only apologise that you did not like the food. The staff in the restaurant would have gladly replaced it for you should you have mentioned this to them, our bar prices are reasonably priced compared to other hotels in Harrogate . I...

Coventry
Reviewed 17 January 2015

And that's really it. I booked this hotel to attend an exhibition at the HIC which was literally just across the road therefore I don't think I could have chosen anywhere more convenient. I also booked the hotel via booking.com at a rate of £50 per night for B&B - again a good price considering the demand in the area....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunandsandseekersuk
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

The points outlined in your review regarding the customer service you experience during your stay will be investigate immediately. Please accept my apologies and thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and very pleased with our stay. Location is right in the town centre. Our room was clean and tidy. Hot water stopped working one morning but that was for everyone and issues happen here and there. Our evening menu inclusive wasn't exactly to my liking, but was varied, I bought more from the other menu at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andylee1977
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review there was indeed a burst water main which affected the hot water for a short time. Your understanding on this issue is much appreciated and I am pleased that overall you were happy with your stay. Kind Regards Edwina

Liverpool
Reviewed 12 January 2015

This was a traditional hotel. Our room on the second floor was large, and very comfortable. There was tv, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and ensuite bathroom. The food was good, full english breakfast each morning and three course menu in the evening with a good range of options. The hotel is well placed in the centre of Harrogate within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie0652
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I have passed on your comments regarding the food to the kitchen team who would like to thank you for placing the review. I am happy you found the menu varied and enjoyed the added bonus of full leisure facilities. We hope to see you return in the near future. Kind Regards Edwina

Wirral
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We have just returned from a 4 night break and, prior to going, we had been very apprehensive after reading the previous reviews. Our experience was totally different to the comments we read. We stayed as 3 adults in a family room (108) which was clean, comfortable and spacious. It had obviously been refurbished and would have been a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeMaWirral
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased to see that most guests are supporting the fact that we offer a varied menu. Some recent reviews suggest this is not the case which to me is baffling Room 108 is one of my personal favourites not only is it spacious light and airy it has recently had a brand new bathroom installed which looks...

leicestershire
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Just to get the negatives out if the way first, drinks very expensive, how they can charge 55p for a dash of cordial is terrible also the temporary bar set up in the entertainment room lost it's way on the first night of our stay (30th dec only one staff on duty). Anyway rant over. The Hotel was great central...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeicestershireYoyo
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Your review was most appreciated especially by the staff who worked very hard over the New Year to ensure guests had a pleasant stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the food quality and variety . The head housekeeper is delighted with your comments and wishes me to pass on her appreciation for the glowing review. See you at New Year!...

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,650 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $111 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
Skegness

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back is quiet”
SpcSoton, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“avoid all really !”
BodenMummy, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the garden, it is on the opposite side to the noisy pub”
cecl2015, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Request rear bedroom.”
j0j00605, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room as hotel is opposite a night club and can be noisy”
834janines, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 149* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 157
TripAdvisorUSD 149
Expedia.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates