We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glasshouse

Show Prices
#4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glasshouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glasshouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,492: English reviews
Clare
Reviewed 16 July 2015

This hotels decor is a Celtic tiger nightmare. That said the staff are great and are the best thing about the hotel. It's hard to see how it's a four star as it just doesn't have four star facilities. We stayed in a river view room which was nice. The breakfast was good and the bar food is ok. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaregirlClare
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Claregirl Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you liked the hotel overall, I am not sure what you refer to when you say the hotel does not have 4 star facilities as it more than adequately meets the requirements in terms of restaurants, menus, bedroom facilities, size of bedroom and ancillary facilities. I...

Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

A last minute trip to the west found us staying here on spek what a pleasent surprise We were impressed with the overall quality from staff who were helpfull and pleasent to a tee, to the standard and comfort of our room, clean,quiet and a balcony wow we will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank m
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Frank Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you chose it as the venue for your last minute trip, its great to get such positive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon, Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

n.ireland
Reviewed 16 July 2015

My wife, granddaughter,and myself spent four days here,11-14july.first impressions.a well laid out hotel,very bright because of the glass walls which make it very open as well.the hotel has a real buzz to it.very hard working,friendly staff,whom I would like to thank. We had a suite top of the house,the bed was facing a wall of glass,it was brill,what a view.hugh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chasni
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Chasni Thank you for your recent review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your detailed feedback is invaluable and we will take your comments about the rollaway bed and the air conditioning in room 603 on board. We look forward to seeing you soon again, Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We wanted to stay in a hotel in the centre of Sligo Town and so The Glasshouse appeared to tick all our boxes. It did too!! We found the rooms excellent, the furnishings modern and of a very high standard and, due to its ideal location on the river bank, the views exceptional. There is an excellent bar, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTB181140
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear CTB Thank you for your recent review of The Glasshouse, it is great to get such positive feedback and we really appreciate it, I hope to see you again on your next visit to Sligo. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here last night as a group of 5 ladies. The hotel could do with a good scrubbing in my opinion. The hall carpets had lots of stains and the bedroom walls were scuffed. The hairdryer AND the iron did not work in our room and It was not the socket, it was the appliances. I had to borrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-ceva
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Mrs-Ceva Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unusual that both the iron and hair dryer did not work and I apologise for this, if you had called the front desk we could have dropped up replacement items immediately. On the dinner...

Orlando
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The modern architecture inside the historic city of Sligo really works. The decor is fresh and the rooms well appointed. Location is perfect, with views along and up the river. Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Northern Ireland. All in all, this is a must stay and good value to boot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieOrlando
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Charlie Orlando Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our breakfast was the best of your trip, this is very encouraging as we have recently upgraded our breakfast buffet so its good to hear that it is appreciated. We hope you will come and visit us again on your...

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed one nite really enjoyed our stay. Room was beautiful had a balcony looking out to river. Had dinner in bar food was lovely and staff were excellent. Would definitely go back soon And would recommend to my friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollyt186602
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Molly T Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am delighted to hear that we helped you enjoy your anniversary, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Ouyen, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Designed by local Sligo architects, this amazing building dominates the river position with amazing light reflections. You can enjoy the swans and jumping fish from the balconies overlooking the Garavogue River. Breakfast was great, cheap car parking beneath the motel, great sized beds and rooms & and the fastest room service I have ever experienced...the meals were great too. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTorpey
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear C Torpey Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Sligo. Yours sincerely Catherine Cronin

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in Glasshouse for one night at beginning of last week. We had a deluxe room which we paid a premium for. The room was just ok. It was clean enough but needed a bit of maintenance. Grout missing from between tiles, a cracked tile, a badly flushing toilet, scuff marks on walls. We also dined in the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BYAD2
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear BYAD Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed the food at the hotel, we have a great team at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you found maintenance issues in your room, this is unacceptable and I apologise for this, I will pass your feedback on to your maintenance and...

Ballybofey, Ireland
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night at the start of the month. The hotel is lovely and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great. In a brilliant location. I would visit this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DLDuffy88
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear DL Duffy Thank you for your positive review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to The Glasshouse again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

356 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (344)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
354 reviews
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.4 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
389 reviews
2.1 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,026 reviews
8.0 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: $125 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glasshouse staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Rockford, Illinois, United States
3 months ago
Derry, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
Belfast, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Glasshouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms on the 6th floor are excellent we had 603 fantastic view”
davidcO4688LU, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would highly recommend this hotel to disabled guests”
poshqueensheba3, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You want a room with a huge wall-sized window - I'd request this next time.”
roflcopter, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River view”
ireneobyrne, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Glass walled balcony room, not a balcony with a wall, makes the room very dark”
Aoif10, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5