We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Harbour House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Harbour House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Harbour House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

The order of the day is "make yourself at home". I have never felt as able to be myself in the way I have here, all thanks to Laura. The room was clean, simple and comfortable, who could ask more? This is my first visit to Ireland and would definitely recommend Harbour House to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

From the minute I arrived I felt more than welcome. Laura offered coffee and a freshly baked scone (just out of the oven). Check in was straightforward and was shown to my room, given the WiFi password and a map to the town. The location is at the beginning of finisklin which is Sligo's main business park. But you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorge M
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of musicians for a wknd. Found it clean,very friendly and will definitely be back.great value.double room was clean and warm and for €44 all in amazing value. Paddy was a gent to deal with.highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
HarbourHouseHostel, Manager at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Gerry, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

New Zealand
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My husband and I stayed one night recently and found it clean, tidy and warm. Laura C was extremely welcoming, inviting and friendly. The breakfast was adequate and there was plenty. We knew it was a 10-15 minute walk into town but saw that as a bonus, having driven all day. Laura C recommended a pub the Fiddlers Creek which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garth C
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found Laura so helpful, we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 19 April 2016

I was there last weekend. I have to say that I had read some reviews before, which were pretty negative, about the hygiene standard, the breakfast, the distance from the city centre etc., and I had my prejudices, but I totally changed my opinion when I arrived there. First thing, the hostel is 8 min walking from the bus station,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fede_2015a
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review "Fede_2015a". We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House. Laura has a wealth of local knowledge and will always try to steer guests in the right direction on things to do in Sligo! We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

I was lucky because we were only 2 in a 8 beds dormitory. The bed was really comfy. It was very quiet. Bathroom is ok. The room was warm. The kitchen was great. Breakfast was great as well. It is a 10 min walk from the train/ bus station. I really enjoyed my stay I would recommend if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde M
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mathilde, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I have stayed in hostels and hotels all over the world and this is the only time I've ever been driven to write a negative review. Firstly, and worstly, was the noise. A large group was there during my stay and their noise kept me up for most of two nights despite wearing earplugs. No attempt was made by the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fozwal
HarbourHouseHostel, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review fozwal and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, however, as is the nature of Tripadvisor (there is no record of the day that you stayed) we cannot respond to the specific complaint about your fellow guests and the noise that they made or the damage that you say they caused....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Me and my friend, we spent 2 nights in Harbour House and we can only recommend it! Laura is a very nice and helpful host. She gave us many hints where to go, which buses to take, etc. And when we overslept at the day we were supposed to check out, we even got breakfast although it was very late....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Laura welcomed my friend and I on our arrival and was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was just what we needed, as we were going to be out and about playing music most of the time! We had a double ensuite room and was in great condition. Bed was comfortable and we even had space to hang up our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I arrived quite late in the evening, I had no reservation and Lora, found directly a room for me. I stayed in Sligo, in the Hostel for 4 days, during the weekend as well, and not only both the ladies had been very helpful regarding trips to take or places to hit but they also suggested me a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan A

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.0 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,542 reviews
0.8 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
387 reviews
1.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
338 reviews
7.3 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.8 km away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Harbour House Budget Accommodation Guest House is a tourist budget accommodation in Sligo town, with en-suite single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms and dormitory rooms. It is situated only 12 minutes walk from the centre of Sligo town and the main train and bus station for the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: Harbour House Finisklin Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Sligo International Tourist Hostel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: $60 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Harbour House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a choice of rooms thanks to Laura”
 of 5 bubbles 990garthc, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Try any other place in Sligo!”
 of 5 bubbles Kami2244, 3 Jan 2015 | Read review
“There are two rooms with en suite bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Riana66, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in room 8 :)”
 of 5 bubbles 831clared, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Lots of stairs so maybe get one away from these or on the top floor so you dont hear everyone coming home...”
 of 5 bubbles LilFlink, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5