We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Booking.comUSD 101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 134*
USD 101*
Great Deal
USD 134*
USD 134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,373: English reviews
Galway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value Bed & Breakfast rates - we were attending an event elsewhere and didn't get a chance to use the Spa or Bars. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful. Only negative was the number of other guests who might have been on a Stag or Hen Party, they were very loud and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyatethecat
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jimmyatethecat Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent overnight stay. We really value your lovely feedback regarding the rooms, breakfast and staff. The hotel is very lively at the weekends with a variery of groups including families, couples weddings and hen parties. Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Inistioge, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent Saturday evening and a good part of Sunday here for a family event at Easter and was a bit underwhelmed with everything. Bar prices are at 4-star hotel levels but little else is. On the Saturday night there were number of children allowed to run around unchallenged at a late hour. The buffet food on the Sunday was average...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John G
HillgroveHotel, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John G I am really sorry that your recent family event was underwhelming. We offer supervised kids club until 9pm, after which time it is the parent's responsibility to supervise their own children. Our Managers do keep a watchful eye on this. We generally do not get complaints about the portions we serve but I will certainly speak to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I booked a spa day at the hillgrove a few weeks ago, the staff in the spa were exceptional , could not possibly have been nicer or more welcoming. The spa itself is gorgeous (especially the outdoor hot-tub) and the treatments were also great, I would definitely rate the whole spa package a 5 star experience. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dublinblogger
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dublinblogger Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your spa break. Delighted that you enjoyed the spa facilities, treatments and outdoor hot tub. I will certainly make our Spa Manager aware of your glowing feedback. I am really sorry that you did not enjoy the cocktails and food as much and I will certainly speak...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel with fab staff! As soon as we walked through the doors we were greeted by lovely young girl. Then during our check in process we had a lovely man who wished us a very happy stay. The bedroom was out of this world. Spa facilities were lovely. The whole hotel was very clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martine G
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Martine G Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent family break. We really value your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Delighted that our staff, spa and facilities were worthy of a 5 :) Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Buncrana, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My kids love when we go to the Hillgrove Monaghan - don't want to leave, always ask to go back! We stayed there last summer and I went out to the shop early while everyone else was still sleeping - came back in the front door and spotted a kid way down at the check in desk in what I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themusicboxireland
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear themusicboxireland Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent family break. We really value your lovely feedback regarding our family friendly facilities. Our Minion Bob should be around over the Summer too :) Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for couple of days at the end of the Easter holidays Positives - staff where excellent very attentive an well trained in the most part. Food in the bar was decent, and the kids club (although our wee one was too young) seemed to be good. The hotel is certainly geared towards children. Negatives - cleanliness was poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart M
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stuart M Firstly thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and bar food. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager and can assure you that the carpet in the Restaurant is vacuumed after each sitting and during the breakfast service if necessary. As you can imagine the hotel was extremely busy last week with the Easter holidays....

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. I would be reluctant to return here on a weekend. It is too manic and busy. A good choice if you have small children and want a kids club etc but if you want a quiet break, this is not the place for you. Staff however were mostly helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the hotel staff. The Hillgrove Hotel feels very privileged that we are a busy and successful hotel with both regular visitors and local patrons. While we are a family friendly hotel we also offer leisure and spa breaks. Unfortunately if our hotel was not full on weekends we would not be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here to attend a wedding recently and really enjoyed our whole stay. The accommodation was very good, staff very friendly, food enjoyable. We chose not to use the leisure facilities because the law in Eire is to wear a cap for swimming. The day of the wedding we used the on site hairdresser, a very friendly young lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rosie S We really appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us while attending a wedding in the hotel. Our Banqueting Managers, Head Chefs and staff take upmost pride in the quality of food and service they provide, so we really appreciate your feedback. I will also make our Hair Salon staff aware of your lovely feeback....

Portadown
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a favourite hotel of ours, with good offers and friendly staff. There is a spa and swimming pool, a hairdressing salon, a fantastic restaurant with superb quality food and well worth the price. The rooms are of a good size, interconnecting options which are great for families or friends. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the noise levels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer M Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa for your recent break. We really value your lovely feedback regarding facilities, food and staff. I will also look into the sound system for the bar area. Looking forward to seeing you again in May Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This is actually a really good hotel but caution is advised if you are intending to stay here during school breaks packs of children are allowed to run unchecked screaming in reception and down corridors with no sign of any control from the parents who are in the bar or staff who ignore the situation .Try reading etc or have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John O
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John O Thank you for choosing the Hillgrove Hotel. As with many hotels over school holidays we have a lot of families in-house. We offer supervised kids activities until 9pm and then we expect parents to supervise their children. Our Managers do not ignore the situation and will speak to parents of children that may appear too boisterous. We...

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
1.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.9 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
218 reviews
9.2 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
0.8 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
70 reviews
19.8 km away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Vettriano Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Price Range: $127 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
4 months ago
over a year ago
northern ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel rooms at the back have better views than to the front so if you want a view ask for one at the back.”
RosieS969, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not a lot of choice else where for eating unless you travel ! Nice spa area”
ferguson562, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“our room looked out towards the back very quite ,and spacious ,”
ettie13, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back”
121alecb, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for downstairs room if you are disabled”
bridiemck1, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 101* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 134
Hotels.comUSD 134
TravelocityUSD 134
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates