We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,378: English reviews
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A truly great location for business or leisure. I recently decided on the .Kilkenny Rivercourt Hotel to host an important national event. Because of its ease of access from all parts of Ireland it helped to attract a great attendance to our event. Great free parking in the heart of Kilkenny. Easy access to a number of function rooms on... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimmaher1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Went there for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were extremely friendly Ate in bar and restaurent and both were very good and service excellent Two weddings which added to atmosphere and did not here one sound from the room we were given. Location excellent. Would certainly go back. Well done to all Also lovely setting near river

Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A week before we were to arrive at the River Court I was contacted by Catherine in Reservations informing me of two weddings taking place the weekend we were staying and if Id like to change rooms to a quieter area of the hotel. I rang Reception and Fiona expertly and efficiently switched rooms. Very impressed with that. Upon arrival,... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanielK976
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 2 nights here as it was my birthday YES I was 21 again, we got a room with balcony overlooking the castle, room was comfortable with a lovely big bed, bathroom was ok but had a shower curtain which is a gripe of mine and also our room 117 although clean please check in between radiator as I heard... More 

Helpful?
Thank sambuca46
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sambuca46, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your "21 again" birthday break with us and thank-you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I have spoken to our House Keeping Manager regarding the dust inbetween the radiators and the walls and we completely agree this is not acceptable, there are no signs of any... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location of course superb. Disappointed with bar feng shui. Disappointed that no twin rooms available over the river. Room was about acceptable for decor and amenities HOWEVER the paper thin wall to the adjoining room a nights sleep when an 'active' couple arrived in and partied 'till 5 AM. Pity. I guess options limited downtown in wonderful Kilkenny

Helpful?
Thank elephantfeedback
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear elephantfeedback, Thank-you for taking the time to share your recent experience in the hotel with us. I would really appreciate the oportunity to discuss this with you futher directly. If you could please contact me directly on the details below i would be delighted to discuss this with you. I look forward to hearing from you, Kind Regards, Emma-Jayne... More 

Elche, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in the centre of Kilkenny on the banks of the River Nore and across the river from Kilkenny Castle. There is a free car park. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the river and the castle and was spacious and clean. The double glazing in the room didn't keep out the distant... More 

Helpful?
Thank birdersylvia
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear birdersylvia, Thank-you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have passed on your lovely comments to the team and they would like to convey their thanks to you. I do sincerely apologise for any noise disturbance you may have experienced, be in the heart of the city this can happen... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over night with family for one night, we booked afternoon tea, which was really lovely, staff in the bar area very friendly. We had two rooms, which over looked the front of the Hotel, no complaints, the rooms were clean. My only complaint is, you cannot check in until 4 pm, which is quite late. Breakfast the following morning,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona C, Thank-you Fiona for your lovely feedback, i was delighted to read that overall you did enjoy your stay here with us. Our check-out time is 12pm therefore like the majority of hotels in order to service all bedrooms we do not gurantee a check-in time until 4pm however Fiona if you are ever planning to visit us... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is right on the river, near the bridge, directly opposite the Castle. So you can walk everywhere in Kilkenny and also have a view of the castle from the breakfast, dining or bar areas. There is also an outside area if the weather is good. We had a Deluxe Castle View room... More 

Helpful?
Thank OzSooty
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OzSooty, Thank-you for taking the time to share your feedback wth us regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you did enjoy your stay here with us and the location of the hotel. I do hope we have the oportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Emma-Jayne Eaton General Manager gm@rivercourthotel.com More 

Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a midweek break in early November. Rooms are spacious warm and comfortable.Hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and is very good value for money. Had dinner there two nights and all food was superb. Above everything else the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Will certainly go back.

Helpful?
Thank ned d
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ned d, Thank-you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team here to be incredibly friendly and helpful. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near... More 

Eastham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Will always stay at hotel when visiting Kilkenny. Last visit 2 years ago and the service.food and comfy rooms still excellent. I have to mention Calum assist manager as he looked after our group of 4 and could not have been more helpful.

Helpful?
Thank linda23452014
Emma-Jayne E, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear linda23452014, Thank-you Linda for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we were all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I have passed on your lovely comments to Colm our Duty Manager and he would like to convey his thanks to you. We do hope to have the oportunity to welcome you... More 

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,593 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
0.4 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,694 reviews
0.2 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $96 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilkenny River Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Derry, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Cork, Ireland
1 month ago
2 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny River Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On check in ask for a Castle & river view room”
 of 5 bubbles jimmaher1, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room facing the Castle”
 of 5 bubbles sambuca46, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the room with a view over the river and to the castle”
 of 5 bubbles birdersylvia, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in butler room.fabulous. Very quiet and comfy plenty space.”
 of 5 bubbles linda23452014, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“View of the river is stunning”
 of 5 bubbles lisaor2001, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay