We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A nice place to stay I stayed there 2 nights during September and I left with sadness because of the kindness of the people in this place. I had a problem with my bus and they helped me right away. They always are there if anyone has a question. A lot of students go there because it isn't expensive but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aledbda
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed here for one night when visiting Kilkenny. Staff were very welcoming and happy to give nightlife tips. The hostel is located right beside an off-license which was a positive and in walking distance of the city center. Bedding is your usual bunk bed setup and spacious enough. Overall good place to stay and pleased to say no ghosts or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianckelly91
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Super friendly staff. Confortable bedrooms and beds. Everything is clean. Its 5 minutes walking from downtown. Breakfast was perfect. Its really quiet and Its cozy. Old historic building close to the bus station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo V
New Zealand
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst travelling around Ireland. There was some kind of mess up with our booking (no ones fault) and we ended up in a 6 person room the first night and a 4 person room the second night - thanks to Fergus for helping us out. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezzelify
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Typical Hostel, wasn't the cleanest & visa machine didn't work which caused some of out party to with draw from ATM with big service charges/exchange rates as we are from out of country. Other than the cleaniness it was a typical hostel and the attendant showed us some things to do in town during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

It's exactly what you would expect for a hostel. We arrived with no booking as 4 friends and the owner was happy to accommodate us and move some bookings around so we could all share one room. We went during Easter when you're not allowed to drink alcohol but from what I've heard you're not allowed to drink alcohol here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shania B
Samarate, Italy
Reviewed 3 August 2016

PROS: -Centrally located (and if you're lucky you get a room with a breath-taking view on the nearby cathedral and round tower). -Staff are willing to fulfil your particular requests (they let me park a bicycle in the back garden for a night, and they opened the kitchen one hour earlier for two French guys that were staying in my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ale5875
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for the August Bank Holiday weekend with 10 other girls. We all collectively agreed within a few moments of arriving that we wouldn't stay here again. We were greeted by the owner with a quick hello and then a request to pay the remaining balance together instead of individually. Not very accommodating I thought but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobbles25
macgabhainn, Manager at MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers hostel. You are quite right we are not a party hostel, we are just a small backpackers hostel and we love sleep??. All our windows have child latches(as per regulations) but you can open wide if you so wish. Sorry to see your group were so unhappy here. Happy travel MacGabhainns...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is a great hostel we were well looked after by the manager he explained all the best places in Kilkenny for eating and drinking our room was great the food supplied for breakfast was great the manager went out his way to make sure our motorcycles were parked safely in the back yard of the hostel good man

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert F
Toelloese, Denmark
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Good location, helpfull staff and nice clean rooms. Everything you could ask for in a hostel. The breakfast was light, but it kept you going for a little while. It was close to the town and it was easy ro get around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathalia S

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
635 reviews
0.9 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,597 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,543 reviews
2.5 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
688 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $42 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 4-bed room I stayed in had a fire exit (very convenient so you could let some air in) and a great view on the cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles ale5875, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I recommend rooms with private bathrooms as the price difference is quite small”
 of 5 bubbles Quehacesfede, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Pick any of them :)”
 of 5 bubbles louised212, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The rooms near the bathrooms can be noisy, as people would be going in and out of them throughout the day and late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles rosy898, 23 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Avoid the room overlooking the front door, unless you want the black lung.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnK810, 10 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay