We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fairview

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 269*
USD 259*
Great Deal
USD 267*
USD 269*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fairview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fairview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,366: English reviews
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Everything was amazing about this place. We were offered the penthouse and it was simply stunning. 180 degree views of Killarney on our private patio, on our own floor was amazing. The staff was beyond exceptional, and the breakfast was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brittney S
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We just arrived Ireland after flying into Kerry and the Fairview was our first location. We were greeted with a gracious hostess who was helpful in directions and information. Our room was small but nicely appointed. It had a double and twin, which for the most part has been norm for our trip. The location is right in town making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kirstenetal
Snyder, Texas, United States
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had an excellent experience with the Fairview Guesthouse. We had 2 rooms. One was a twin and full. The other we upgraded to a Junior Suite with a king size. Both rooms were very nice. Our view in the Junior Suite was right down the main street and beautiful. The staff was very helpful and booked a car and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robbi T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My Mother and Aunt have stayed at the Fairview for a week every October for last 14 years, they must be doing something right!! They love everything about it and health permitting they will continue with this tradition. I stayed at the Fairview for one night (June 16) and I can see why my Mother returns so often. They run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick C
Ireland
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Wow!! Returned home today from a fabulous weekend in Killarney. This was my 3rd time staying at this property and I would never stay anyplace else in Killarney. The location is ideal, only a stonesthrow from shops,pubs,restaurants etc. the breakfast was delicious and the staff are amazing!! On Sunday I fancied a lazy day so asked the cleaners to skip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Fairview looks great in pictures and it does not disappoint when you arrive, it feels homely yet elegant. However, we found the rooms noisy at night with the shouting and singing of people partying in Killarney centre. Also the dining room is tiny and cramped at breakfast and it seemed like everything at the buffet was running out. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Bill_Fareham
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for your review. The facts are untrue. You booked a Junior Suite for 3 nights which we kept for you and you got a special 3 nights stay rate. You made a very late cancellation and according to terms and conditions it was 72 hours notice required. You then decided to stay just one night on...

Surf City, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Nice, BUT beware. Web site shows it as a B & B but not always true. Original reservations quoted rate consistent with WEB site for B & B. However 2 weeks prior to check in the wording was changed to room only. Soured our stay. Make sure your reservations are very exact and read carefully. Do not assume it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan334
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review

Dear Dan334, As clearly outlined in our re-confirmation 3 weeks prior to your arrival, it was clearly stated in both our original confirmation and in the re-confirmation you requested, that the package you chosen was a "room only" Junior Suite package. You had also taken an advantage of the special 6 nights stay offer. You had 3 weeks prior to...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed at the so-called "executive room". I paid 110€ and lateroom claimed the original price was 300€. I was expecting a premium room at that price but everything was average really. Maybe I got confused by the 5 stars of this guesthouse and the rating system probably varies compared to hotels. I would say this is equivalent to a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicolas M
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review

Dear nicmart84, Thank you for your review. We are surprised that we did not meet your expectations. For clarification purposes we are AA 5 * guesthouse. In relation to your stay we are not aware of any complaints that you made. The windows are a designer sliding sash not guillotine. All rooms are individually designed with original genuine Jacuzzi baths....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 June 2013

stayed here for an anniversary it is so homely personal and quiet it feels more like a guest house everything was beautiful it is exactly as described. it is perfectly located on the main street within walking distance of shops restaurants nightlife train station and everything. on booking i mentioned the anniversary so they put us in a beautiful room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean c
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 12 June 2013

No doubt the place has curb appeal, but we were not blown away by the hotel. The location is rock solid for exploring downtown Killarney, but the service was unremarkable and the beds were uncomfortably short. I'm 5'9" and my feet were hanging off the end. My 6'3" husband was miserable. The breakfast was OK, but the staff had trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sseaton68
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review

Dear sseaton68, Thank you for taking time and reviewing our hotel. We are little surprised with your review, very specifically in relation to the beds being short. Our superking size beds are 6`6" in length. So we are totally confused when you mentioned that your feet were hanging out of the bed and you are 5`9". Enough said. In relation...

478 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (271)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Executive Double Twin Room (42)
Viewed
Executive Suite (40)
Viewed
Junior Suite (46)
Viewed
Penthouse (50)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior Double Twin Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.5 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,060 reviews
0.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,337 reviews
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,124 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
879 reviews
4.1 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: $176 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fairview staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Dublin, Ireland
London
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Fairview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the back!”
Papajak, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
Wildcat655442, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have a skylights. Which some love, but it wasn't for me. The staff was understanding and moved me.”
Jeffffffffffffff, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for front room and if you can afford it book a suite,family members said they are larger than our double room and more luxurious!”
Teresaguest, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Amazing staff. Good meals. Close to activities and travel.”
coleena745, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 259* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 267
TripAdvisorUSD 269
Booking.comUSD 269
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates