We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wayside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wayside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wayside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Boyle, Ireland
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Wayside B&B was lovely and well looked after. Theresa was a very friendly and helpful host. Our stay was very enjoyable and we had a fantastic time at Wayside B&B. We will definitely be visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reynoldssarah93
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We are just back from a lovely stay in this B&B, it was one of the nicest experiences I have had. Theresa was so welcoming and helpful and her husband a great character. I couldn't recommend it more. The location of the house is just stunning, a little bit of heaven.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sabrina B
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I was a member of a group of 5 checking in late after a wonderful day of traveling although we had several GPS mishaps. After being lost for a bit we called the inn from a restaurant around 8 pm advising we were late but were definitely on the way. The innkeeper advised she had expected us before 6 but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

In response to your review,I clearly remember you phoning at 8pm to say YE had decided to have dinner in Tralee,which you did not state in your review,and that ye would not be here until late.My husband and I run this BnB AND WE DO NOT HAVE STAFF ,therefore on all associated websites it clearly states that check-in is between...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Sadly 4 of us had 3 rooms at this BnB. We made arrangements through my German cousins travel agent. We found out later apparently check in time is supposed to be between 3-6 pm. We were running late, so we rang to let them know. I had the Hostess on speaker on my phone and I was told in no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lissiebeth13
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review lissiebeth.You were booked through BNB Ireland and they clearly state that check-in is between 3and 4pm.We are not a Hotel and do not have night staff.Yes we go to Mass on Sat night and we go out for a meal afterwards, so the only way for ye to get a key was to come after 8...

Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had an unpleasant start to our stay. We were traveling a great distance and our GPS was taking us around in circles. Knowing we would be delayed we phoned and spoke to the Innkeeper. Unfortunately, we would arrive past the check in time and were made to wait way past midnight because the Innkeeper had plans for the evening....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hjmacmahon
Theresa F, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, but again you were part of the group of ladies who decided to have dinner in Tralee and arrive when you like.This is totally unacceptable ,as even if we were not going out to dinner with friends we would have to wait up until it suited ye to arrive at 11.30.My husband and I run this...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The hosts and home were fabulous. Immaculate and great breakfast. Wish we had booked more than one night. We were fortunate to have Eugene guide us privately around the Ring of Kerry. He is multitalented, musical, well informed and entertaining. We spent a great day. Thank you !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ANITA D
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful experience at Wayside! Teresa was a lovely host and made us feel very welcome. The bedroom we had was cute and comfortable with plenty of extra blankets and pillows if needed. Breakfast was amazing! Definitely go for the full Irish, and ask for beans if there is any haha. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessy B
ferrishost, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review,we are glad that ye enjoyed yer stay and breakfast.

Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Mrs. Ferris is very nice and hospitable. She had heated blankets waiting for us on the beds when we arrived! Nothing like taking a nap in a warm bed! The breakfast was delicious and she was very accommodating to our requests. We would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shari B
ferrishost, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review.I really appreciate it.It was a pleasure welcoming ye here to this beautiful part of Ireland. Theresa Ferris

Reviewed 17 January 2016

Mrs Ferris runs an AMAZING B&B. She is very welcoming and provided a wonderful "homey" feel for my 3 sisters & I. We enjoyed this stay VERY MUCH!! She cooked us a homemade Irish breakfast in the morning and offered us PLENTY to do around her area! She even helped us to plan our day. What a wonderful place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristi H
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This B&B located in the Gap of Dunloe was perfect for our two night stay in Killarney during the October weekend. The Ferris family were welcoming, gracious and ready to help in any way they could. There was an issue with reservation as we booked through booking.com and we were booked into a twin room instead of the double room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krstnbrd

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
706 reviews
4.4 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Invicta
The Invicta
#42 of 145 in Killarney
60 reviews
4.4 km away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
68 reviews
2.6 km away
Dunloe View Hostel
Dunloe View Hostel
#1 of 2 in Fossa
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Wayside

Address: Gap of Dunloe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: $127 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Wayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wayside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sidcup, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wayside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can get the one room with the your own bathroom, located at the back of the house. Keep curtain closed as you dress in the AM.”
sgboatbuilder, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay with cash.No credit cards.”
hjmacmahon, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms should be fine, ensuite is available if you like, but the shared bathroom is fine. There is not much noise at night either so room location should also be fine.”
dylandcd, 2 Aug 2013 | Read review
3 of 3