We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

A good place to stay overall. Good accommodation , but not enough heat. However, I feel this B&B could go from good to great with a few simple changes. I ordered a poached egg which clearly was cooked in a microwave- dreadful! It is so easy to cook correctly. Coffee was poor also. Not sure I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annab18
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in Amber Hill B&B, Galway one Fri night in late Feb. While the room was small, it was warm, had a comfortable bed and facilities were acceptable. The cost was Euro 65 for a single room. As it was advertised as a B&B I assumed I would receive breakfast. I was disappointed however when I checked in, was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gravel33
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have checked the reservation you made and can see that you booked the "Single Room Only" option. I don't know what you thought this may have meant but it was clearly stated that breakfast was an additional cost. You booked the room and would have also had to click...

Dundee
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night during a holiday in Ireland. It's a short bus ride from station and centre of town. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful upon arrival. Pleasant room with ensuite, quiet. I left my iPod in the room and the one of the staff kindly posted it to me. Very grateful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra846
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 27 October 2016

If you're ok with small and confined rooms and hallways, this place might be ok for you. This Bed and Breakfast was challenging to find; we missed it the first time and had to U-turn for another 10 mins to finally make it. The place is clean and presentable enough; rooms are modern and friendly in appearance. I just felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jazsacher
Seville, Spain
Reviewed 28 September 2016

In a quite setting not far from Galway.You may walk to downtow Good breakfast varied and abundant and kind staff. We came from The Rise which was very bad. Tea service in the room. Small TV, parking place at the very door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manuelamia2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 September 2016

It is a bit far from the city center and attractions; but it was all we could find. Given that; it was very clean, the staff was very friendly. The common room was large and was very comfortable to spend some down-time. One complaint was that the room could have used an extra blanket as it got a little cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harney556
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Galway for one night (room7 on 6.8.2016) on my way to cliffs of moher from Dublin. And absolutely loved it. Spacious room, nicely decorated. Everything was nice and tidy. Friendly front desk staff. I would say this B&B is better than some of the hotels I stayed in. Thanks for great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cas_hey
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This was a cute clean B&B but the breakfast was extra. The bathtub was very slippery one person slipped in the tub. Rooms were very small but clean, beds not so comfortable. Was not in walking distance to City center or the sea. We had a car so it wasn't so bad getting around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Y
canberra
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed in room 41 on the ground floor. It was noisy as everyone went out through the door next to the room. The mattress stank! And was very old and thin. I found the whole scene very strange. The staff appeared to be a bit challenged, it is not owner operated.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank babyboomercanberra
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

No where near the city center as advertised. No transit stops near by. At least 25 min walk to activities and eateries. Room is mostly clean but nothing special. Decorations and liens are old and worn. Staff was friendly upon arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristy V

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#18 of 197 in Galway
57 reviews
3.2 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
569 reviews
0.0 km away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#98 of 197 in Galway
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#31 of 197 in Galway
112 reviews
2.6 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
574 reviews
1.7 km away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $82 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill b&b
Amber Hill Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the rear of the B&B would be the quietest as further away from the main road”
beinginthemoment, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“ask for Anthony, he's a great manager”
P7010FEpeterf, 12 Dec 2014 | Read review
“May be added tower holder....”
GaelAix, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Had room for 4, which was a plus.”
minorwc, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
“There are some ground floor rooms for those who prefer. Rooms in the front get some road noise.”
judym601, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5