We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The House Hotel

Save
Share
Spanish Parade, Latin Quarter, Galway H91 X309 Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Priceline
Official Site
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (292)
Room & Suite (251)
Dining (116)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 49 hotels in Galway
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Car hire
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1623Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 917
  • 426
  • 165
  • 71
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Time2judge wrote a review 26 Oct
Drogheda, Ireland155 contributions88 helpful votes
We booked three days during the October Bank Holiday. The exterior of the hotel is very trendy and appealing. The reception is roomy and very comfortable. Kellie was the first staff member we met, she really set the tone for the weekend with a very relaxed but very professional approach to reception. The rooms are warm comfortable and very clean. The location of the Hotel is excellent, right in the middle of everything yet away from the hustle and bustle. The service from all staff was excellent. Car parking is a short walk from the hotel at a very good rate of 9 euro per day. This rate for the city is a bargain. Guys if you are looking for a hotel that ticks all the boxes this is it. Yes highly recommended and yes we will be back and thank you Kellie your expert advice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and sound insulated
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MayoMatron wrote a review 23 Oct
Axbridge, United Kingdom41 contributions31 helpful votes
Booked afternoon tea here for my elderly mother and I. Sat in foyer. Lovely waitress called Jade looked after us. Mum would give her a 5* for offering a doggy bag to go! The brownie, profiteroles, chocolates, lemon meringue, smoked salmon and scone - all great. The chicken rolls were a bit chickenless, the egg sandwiches a bit dry, and the cold, bready pizza slices awful. Lovely crockery set. Unrushed. Great service and value. Huge amount for 2 people.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking a bit of a mare.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Maura O'Donnell, Owner at The House Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mayomatron, Thank you for your review on your afternoon tea experience. I know Jade will be delighted with the special mention. I am sorry you did not enjoy all of our food, I have passed on your feedback to the chef. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon. Regards Maura
Read more
joannawallace2 wrote a review 2 Oct
2 contributions
We had a fantastic time thanks to James, taking care us. The rooms in hotel were lovely and all the staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel is very central shop street and restaurants are only a couple of minutes walk away. We had a lovely weekend...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Maura O'Donnell, Owner at The House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Joannawallace2, Thank you for your lovely review, James will be delighted with the special mention. Delighted to see you had a lovely weekend with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Maura
Read more
Georgina C wrote a review 2 Oct
1 contribution
We've had a fabulous stay in The House Hotel Galway. Unfortunately it was impossible to get into the busy bars of Galway city. However The House Hotel did not leave us disappointed whilst having James and Jade looking after us. 5 stars *****
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Maura O'Donnell, Owner at The House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
HI Georginac340, Thank you for your lovely review. I was happy to read you had a fabulous stay with us. Jade and James will be delighted with the special mentioned. We hope to see you soon. Regards Maura
Read more
job13ri wrote a review Sep 2021
Providence, Rhode Island92 contributions13 helpful votes
Spent five days at The House Hotel. Could not have been more pleased with the location and the service. Conveniently located near Quay Street and Spanish Arch. Great location for walking to everything. The room was kept very clean and the amenities were very nice. Bruno was exceptionally helpful and all of the staff was attentive and helpful. The breakfast was very good and despite being short staffed, the wait staff kept everything moving. As an American, I will say the rooms are smaller than we are used to but the location and care made up for it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Maura O'Donnell, Owner at The House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear job13ri, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our central location close the shops on Shop Street and the night life of Quay Street and Spanish Arch. Thank you for your lovely words about the hotel and staff. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Regards Maura
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 114 - USD 301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the house hotel galway, galway the house hotel, house hotel galway
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pedal Power Galway (0.3 km), Great Escape Rooms (0.4 km), and Tunes in the Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The House Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include U Liotru, Zappi's, and The Dough Bros.
Is The House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Galway.
Are any cleaning services offered at The House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Medieval City Walls (0.5 km), The Lynch Memorial (0.3 km), and Kilconnell Franciscan Friary (2.2 km).
Is The House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.