We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Show Prices
#12 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for the g Hotel & Spa Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,407: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at the G hotel with my partner for a mini break. I loved the style of the hotel so modern yet so comfortable. We were checked in by Niall at reception who was fantastic, very informative about what we can do in the area yet so efficient and very friendly. The room was beautiful and so comfortable, such...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacinta D
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review of your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you found the hotel to be sleek, sophisticated and superb. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway. Thank you once again for...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for work, so I didn't experience the spa or anything else. It has a quirky Alice in wonderland style. I ate dinner there twice and breakfast there three days. The food was great. The rooms were nice. The staff was nice. I paid 100 Euro per night which includes free parking and breakfast. Not a bad value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EVDJ
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay at the g. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed our menu offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review. We were all pleased that you found the hotel to be...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at The G hotel with my husband as a birthday treat over the midterm break. We arrived later than expected on the 1st night of our stay so decided to have a bite of food in the hotel...the food was certainly not 5 star quality..it was cold!! So a very disappointing start to what I thought would have...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank S S
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was very disappointing the read the review that you wrote on Trip Advisor. Our creative menu offerings receive constant praise so it was of course upsetting to read that you did not enjoy your meal. In relation to the bites that you experienced, we have never had an incident like this happen before. Christine, our Accommodation Manager...

Dublin
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Surely this is a 4 star? Yes the decor is funky- but there are stains on almost every seat and couch in the place..it's like as if the initial kit out cost a lot, but they havent spent a penny on the upkeep.. but more than that, the service is appalling. Slow and borderline surly. We had breakfast from 1030-11.55,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank WonkaBilly
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all greatly upset to read the review that you posted twice on Tripadvisor. Our Front of House Manager, Niall was in contact with you in relation to your first review and as a team we had hoped that we had resolved your issues. All of our team are highly trained and this situation is extremely frustrating...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The G Hotel in Galway was our second stop in Ireland. We arrived after a less than 3 hour drive from County Wicklow (just south of Dublin). The G is interestingly located in a mini-mall type complex, but once you are inside, you forget that aspect. The G is very modern, resembling the hotels you would expect to find in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank javione
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g during your recent visit to Ireland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the unique décor and ambiance of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings and that you found the quality of our food and service...

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly we arrived to the hotel and we offered to pay full in cash and the receptionist charged us a certain price. Our package included an evening three course meal and entrance to the spa. I didn't like any of the starters and my partners ordered the crab meat which was not particularly nice. My main course was not appealing...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Claire D
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all greatly upset to read the review you emailed to us here in the hotel and the review which you posted on Trip Advisor. We have responded by email but we would also like to address some of the feedback you have shared here. Firstly, we ask all guests for a swipe of a credit card...

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our second time staying here and it did not disappoint. The perfect place to stay for a luxurious romantic getaway. It is abit pricer than other city centre hotels, but worth the extra expense! Lovely at this time of year with the huge christmas tree in the main lounge. Can't wait to go back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LauraJaneM86
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback from your visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were so pleased to read that this was your second visit to us and that you found the g to be an ideal base for a romantic breakaway. It was so lovely to read that you enjoyed...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just back from a lovely break in the beautiful Galway! Such a pity to what I expected a luxury weekend was disappointing-arrived to a hotel after 3 phone calls later to the hotel the girl on the desk was new & didn't know the directions! Check in was fast & friendly, decor fab! Room was basic I couldn't believe it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mags2012
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent visit at the g on Trip Advisor and for emailing us at the hotel also. Naturally we were all upset to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. In relation to your comments about directions we have recently had some new team members join the...

Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

One day only and from reception to the bar staff to the spa and to the managers around I spoke to everyone and no one gave me attitude just a group of professionals doing a very welcome job to make u feel special ... ...fantastic,great , special , beautiful ....and so much more ... Is the second time I stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulo T
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the entire team to be professional and welcoming. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the...

Shannon, Ireland
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the G last week for a mini break, It was excellent. From the minute you go in the front entrance until you leave, it's just memorable and remarkable. The staff at reception were most courteous and helpful. The reception area and reception rooms are spacious and both food and drink are available at most times of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vincent F
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at the g. It was lovely to read that you found your time with us to be both memorable and remarkable. Our bedrooms at the g make any stay special and it was lovely to read how much you enjoyed the features it boasted as well as...

973 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (662)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (298)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,516 reviews
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
8.7 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,669 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,493 reviews
4.8 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $207 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front on 2nd floor and up for views over Galway bay”
  • Well fitted bathroom
  • In room seating area
  • Good size room on 1st floor
 of 5 bubbles mikebO4938WK, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking Galway Bay have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles linmartin, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the food in particular was very good for the price , we didnt stay in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dylanman58, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel away from road”
 of 5 bubbles fivestarsz, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It costs an extra 100 euro to have a bay view... seriously?”
 of 5 bubbles mbd_mj, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay