We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skeffington Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Skeffington Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 421: English reviews
Start your review of Skeffington Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Known by many, particularly the student population as the Skeff, this is one of the great Galway venues. Old style bar with a modern attitude, very popular with party groups. Nice lunch menu , and huge selection of drinks served by cheerful and helpful staff. Noisy at ground level with tv sport the main attraction. Upstairs offers the same fare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denis_cunnigham
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear denis_cunningham, Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor regarding our bar , The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and I will make sure to pass your kind comments onto the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived at the hotel following delays with trains only to be told that my booking was not on the system. I was offered one night in twin room as compensation despite originally booking two nights. They then offered to book me into another hotel for Saturday night but at double the price I was originally paying. I also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for getting in-touch regarding your recent visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. As was explained to the guest upon check-in no booking had actually been made with us on those dates (the same guest stayed with us previously in 2011 & 2013) and the guest had no record or details of this alleged booking either. Due...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were every aggressive and uninviting and I would never come back again. Worst pint of Guinness in Galway and foster was €5.10 a pint. Never book here. It's the worst place in Galway. The western hostel is a lot friendlier and really a better place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isaac B
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Isaac B, Thank you for reviewing The Skeffington Arms Hotel - I checked our system and couldn't seem to find your booking anywhere on our system. I have replied to you on our bars TripAdvisor page regarding your issues with the quality of our pints etc. Regards, Ashling Dudley Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: The hotel is adorable, centrally located and the staff are very nice. Cons: the hotel is located in the Eyre square and over a very popular bar. Due to the location and popularity of the bar you can hear the live music in your room. Patrons party!outside and guests stomp and shout through the halls all night. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erin M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies on the noise issues you experienced but due to our central location in this vibrant city sometimes this cannot be helped (we have fitted sound proofing glass and ear plugs in all bedrooms to help...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here while traveling through Galway, not worth the price, there are other great places to stay in Galway cheaper that will be more updated and less expensive. The location is prime and the food sold in the attached bar is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vb987654321
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vb98765321, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not find our offering to be of good value. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and we will hopefully get the opportunity to...

Dublin
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stayed in this hotel recently for a Friday - the location could not be more central, and the staff were friendly. I stayed with friends but I don't think I'd bring my wife here - it's very basic - rooms clean but dated looking and very very cold - could not get the air con to work! All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paddyh117
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paddyh117, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I'm glad that you found us to be good value for money. If you get a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie...

ireland
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Great hotel, very central overlooking Eyre Square. The receptionist was lovely, and told us right from the start that as it was a central hotel, joined on to the bar that it could get a bit noisy. Our room on the first floor was actually a family room although we only booked a double, 2 single beds and a double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angmcg1
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angmcg1, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that overall your stay was a positive one and apologies about the noise issue but unfortunately with our central location this sometimes cannot be helped. I will make sure to pass your...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this boutique hotel in Feb 2017. The hotel is centrally located on Eyre Square. We wanted a hotel where we could explore the nightlife in Galway without the need for taxis so this hotel was perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast the next morning was delicious with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 1907Dee
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1907Dee, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I was glad to read that your group had an enjoyable stay with us. I will make sure to pass your kind comments...

Tuam, Ireland
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel with room overlooking Eyre Square. The room was quite spacious with clean linen and a large bed with satellite TV and free WiFi included. Free tea and coffee in room and ample wardrobe space with hairdryer etc. Bathroom was very clean but could have done with a few extra towels. Very central to Galway city without the need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ger H
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ger H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I'm glad that you got to experience everything that Galway has to offer. I will make sure to pass your kind comments on...

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We didn't stay in the hotel, but went there for food both nights when we were in Galway for the weekend.I would highly recommend this place for food. There is a range of food on the menu, and everything looks and is delicious!! Nothing is too big of a bother for the staff. They are all friendly and up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenz240
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenz240, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
577 reviews
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
832 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
603 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,691 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $122 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont worry about the noise, they supply ear plugs”
angmcg1, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can't advise really- perhaps not to the front of the hotel at the weekend”
AidanG819, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
indieannabish, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face out to the street to avoid noise from the nightclub etc”
helenreilly_1980, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the middle of the building have no view but are quieter.”
JeremyPaul99, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5