We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skeffington Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Skeffington Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 417: English reviews
Start your review of Skeffington Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here while traveling through Galway, not worth the price, there are other great places to stay in Galway cheaper that will be more updated and less expensive. The location is prime and the food sold in the attached bar is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vb987654321
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vb98765321, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not find our offering to be of good value. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and we will hopefully get the opportunity to...

Dublin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this hotel recently for a Friday - the location could not be more central, and the staff were friendly. I stayed with friends but I don't think I'd bring my wife here - it's very basic - rooms clean but dated looking and very very cold - could not get the air con to work! All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paddyh117
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paddyh117, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I'm glad that you found us to be good value for money. If you get a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie...

ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, very central overlooking Eyre Square. The receptionist was lovely, and told us right from the start that as it was a central hotel, joined on to the bar that it could get a bit noisy. Our room on the first floor was actually a family room although we only booked a double, 2 single beds and a double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angmcg1
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angmcg1, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that overall your stay was a positive one and apologies about the noise issue but unfortunately with our central location this sometimes cannot be helped. I will make sure to pass your...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this boutique hotel in Feb 2017. The hotel is centrally located on Eyre Square. We wanted a hotel where we could explore the nightlife in Galway without the need for taxis so this hotel was perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast the next morning was delicious with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 1907Dee
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1907Dee, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I was glad to read that your group had an enjoyable stay with us. I will make sure to pass your kind comments...

Tuam, Ireland
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel with room overlooking Eyre Square. The room was quite spacious with clean linen and a large bed with satellite TV and free WiFi included. Free tea and coffee in room and ample wardrobe space with hairdryer etc. Bathroom was very clean but could have done with a few extra towels. Very central to Galway city without the need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ger H
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ger H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I'm glad that you got to experience everything that Galway has to offer. I will make sure to pass your kind comments on...

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We didn't stay in the hotel, but went there for food both nights when we were in Galway for the weekend.I would highly recommend this place for food. There is a range of food on the menu, and everything looks and is delicious!! Nothing is too big of a bother for the staff. They are all friendly and up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenz240
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenz240, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Disappointed with this pub, out for a few after work drinks we ordered a popular branded bottle beer and got a flat unrecognisable drink instead, the barman did exchange for a fresh one but when it came to the next round it was the same flat unrecognisable drink. Suspect that they are rebottling draft beer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry G
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit and apologies that you did not have an enjoyable time with us. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that such practices do not happen within our bar & we pride ourselves on serving quality drinks and food,...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

It was only a one night stay however the location is ideal and within the city centre of Galway , the check in and check out were easy and fast. The room are tidy, cleaned and of a decent size. We needed a remote for the TV which the receptionist bring it to us right away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathon G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Guest Relations Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly- The two girls at the front desk but otherwise. Falling asleep and only to be woken up with people coming back at 1am cursing and screaming for hours and singing karaoke the whole night until 4am when I had to get on a 9am bus to the Aran Islands the next morning. I told the staff about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngelDanger
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AngelDanger, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies that on this occasion it was not a fully positive experience. I have passed your helpful feedback onto our front desk team and have also spoken to our night porter team. We would love the opportunity...

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Came to make an enquiry on staying for a few days in this central hotel. Was met by a very rude Steven. The hotel manager he informed me when i asked could i talk to someone else. We left without booking anything. Rudeness is unacceptable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob S
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob S, Thank you for taking the time to review The Skeffington Arms Hotel on TripAdvisor. Apologies that your experience was not an overly positive one and have spoken to the team member in question regarding this feedback. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Guest Relations Manager

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
572 reviews
0.1 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#33 of 47 in Galway
593 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
1,330 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,639 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $89 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont worry about the noise, they supply ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles angmcg1, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can't advise really- perhaps not to the front of the hotel at the weekend”
 of 5 bubbles AidanG819, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles indieannabish, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face out to the street to avoid noise from the nightclub etc”
 of 5 bubbles helenreilly_1980, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the middle of the building have no view but are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JeremyPaul99, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5