We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Show Prices
#49 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,157: English reviews
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Only spent 2 nights here. Convenient location. Near most sights we were interested in, without being in a crowded area. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Air conditioned. (can close windows and not hear street traffic!) Nice exercise facility. Breakfast was additional charge. It was good (not great). Disappointed that the scones were gone before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianna W
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Marianna W. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel offered a convenient location during your trip to Dublin. Your feedback in relation to team, bedroom and breakfast are much appreciated. I am sorry to hear you were not able to avail of scones during breakfast. This should not...

Where to next?
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

I had a very short stay at this hotel, but was pretty pleased. The check-in staff were friendly and efficient, and the room was clean and well maintained. There is nothing extraordinary about this hotel, but the location makes it worth the while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Back_to_Sandringham. I am delighted you choose to stay at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green during your recent visit to Dublin. Your comments regarding the team are much appreciated and we look forward to accommodating you again in Dublin. Kind regards, Paul C.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Very pleasant staff worked hard to give us the rooms we wanted for our family. Excellent breakfast and a great location in a wonderful city of lovely people. Some rooms starting to look a little tired, especially bathrooms, poor grout needs attention. Cracked light in breakfast room etc but overal I would return. St Stephens Green and Brown Thomas close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenSavage
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review StephenSavage. I am delighted to hear you had such a positive experience at the hotel. Your comments regarding the team and breakfast are much appreciated. Your feedback regarding the physical product has been noted and I will review these accordingly. Once again thank you for your contribution and we look...

Reviewed 5 May 2015

This is a nice hotel in a central location which makes it easy to walk or cab to the main attractions (there was a bus strike so we didn't use transit). The positives. We liked our large room and the amenities. It was clean and well-appointed (look for the hair dryer in a drawer behind a mirrored panel in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Osowired
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review osowired. I am happy to hear you had an overly positive stay at the hotel. Your comments regarding the bedroom, Wi-Fi and guest computer facilities are much appreciated. I am sorry to hear you rang to reception on a number of occasions just to be left on hold. This is...

Lincoln City, Oregon
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Our 12-person group's last hotel during the all-too-short 2-week vacation in Ireland, was the spectacular Stephen's Green Hotel. Located across from Stephen's Green Park, the hotel was close to shopping, restaurants, and the theater. The hotel was beautiful, the room was large and well-appointed with the usual amenities, including the hair-dryer-in-the-drawer. Dinner was good, and the breakfast included the usual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Jo C. I am delighted to hear you choose to stay at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel on the final leg of your 2 week trip around Ireland. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and your comments regarding the bedroom, dinner, breakfast and the team have been very well received. I...

wales
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night on business - never again . Hotel foyer did not smell nice - stale food cooking smell and felt dirty .Bedroom large but the en suite bathroom smelt so badly of damp and rotting it pervaded the whole bedroom . Was only there for a very short overnight stay leaving at 5 am otherwise would have asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wales32
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review wales32. I am disappointed to hear you had such a negative experience at the hotel. Your experience is not reflective of the service and product which many travellers have come to expect of the hotel. Please accept my unreserved apology for any shortcomings on this occasion. I am currently investigating...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We had a lovely stay in this hotel, the staff were very friendly and very helpfully. The choice of breakfast was very good, lots to choose from. The free wi-fi was great to have. A short walk to the shopping centre, theatre.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathy20141807
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review cathy20141807. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel excellent during your recent stay. Your feedback in relation to the team, service and friendliness is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon if returning to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards, Paul C.

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We arrived very early (5:30 a.m.) and were able to drop off our luggage in the lobby and regroup for a bit. Searching for some much-needed coffee, we asked a server in the Magic Glasses bar (where they were serving breakfast that day), and the waiter gave us three on the house! What a gracious and lovely way to recharge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElvisOnly
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ElvisOnly. I am delighted to hear you had such a positive stay in the hotel from the warm welcome through to the amazing bed and spacious bathroom. I will be sharing your comments with the team and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland. Once again...

Reviewed 28 April 2015

- Location is great. - Hotel is excellent. - Staff is very friendly. - Room area was acceptable. - Breakfast was very good. - Wifi internet is free in all areas and quick enough. - Room was very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hussain A
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Hussain A. I am delighted you found the hotel excellent during your recent visit. Your contribution is much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel. Kind regards, Paul C.

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Nice quiet clean room, very friendly staff and a great choice of options for breakfast with yogurts, smoothies, porridge, pancakes, eggs...The nearby parking is easy to access and the location is great for visiting Dublin. We really enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GerMacInCork
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review GerMacInCork. I am delighted to see you had such a positive stay at the hotel during your recent visit. Your feedback in relation to the bedroom, the team and breakfast is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are back in Dublin. Kind regards, Paul...

833 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,153 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,298 reviews
Albany House
#68 of 150 in Dublin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $158 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel have a great view across Dublin”
 of 5 bubbles 244vickyo, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for floors higher up as there is quite a lot of noise from outside at a busy weekend”
 of 5 bubbles Acciano, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“corner room with views of the green was great”
 of 5 bubbles DublinSuzy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the corner was great for excellent city views and the parade”
 of 5 bubbles JMJiji, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a street side room if you do not want a view of the building behind the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 653adrienem, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay