We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Maples House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maples House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maples House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 182: English reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff, rooms could do with a bit updating and a good 30 min walk into Dublin. 10 Euro each way in taxi from town. But considering the cost of hotels closer to the city this is good value for money in comparison to other hotels in the centre. In summery if your looking for a reasonably priced hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danny r
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you For your review Danny and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Hotel reception looks good and the staff were great and helpful. Room could do with a bit of updating and room number 9 could us some wd40 on the hinges as it woke us up every time they opened it. Other than that it was perfect for what we wanted with great transport links to the city and airport.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mbrown1987
MaplesHotel, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continue to update our rooms and those hinges have been oiled!

Kiltimagh
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights in this hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and warm throughout our stay. We didn't have breakfast, but enjoyed excellent meals in the bar on both nights at very reasonable prices. The only negative was the bedroom, while the room was small and compact, it was in serious need of a refurbishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
Alan K, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jay B, Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Any outstanding repairs in the rooms following our refurbishment are being attended to and thank you for pointing out the requirement to complete these works.

Reviewed 20 February 2016

We stayed for a long weekend payed for as a gift by my son for my 50th Birthday. About a 20 minute walk into main city centre, but easy walk which we extended by taking in Croak Park(hope I have spelt it correctly) Lovely hotel with excellent friendly staff. They will try their best to help with any requests. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cmj19
Alan K, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that lovely review. As a small, family run hotel, which we have taken over and refurbished in recent months, we are especially proud of our great staff. Glad you also enjoyed our food and live music - The Clicks are proving particularly popular with both tourists and locals. It was our pleasure to have you...

Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

We found the Maples House Hotel via Booking.com for our annual visit to Dublin. Our group comprised five people and we occupied a double, a twin & a single room. The rooms were small, as we had seen on TripAdvisor but, nonetheless, they were clean, tidy and functional. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful throughout our stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Alan K, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jason K, Thanks so much for that very nice review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your party and we look forward to seeing you all again in The Maples on your next trip to Dublin.

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The hotel from the outside is a beautiful period house, the bedrooms could do with a little TLC, however the staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. The food was great and the hospitality was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gilly1008
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gilly1008, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the food and hospitality of our great staff. You will be pleased to hear that we are applying the TLC you referred to in our bedrooms this week. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

I have to agree with all the excellent reviews. 30 of us enjoyed the Maples house hotel experience this weekend and are all raving about the place! The food and hospitality were second to none. Highly recommend, this hotel is a gem, surrounded by quiet leafy roads of elegant period houses but yet so close to the centre. Felt really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bunnyhop2013
Alan K, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a good time here at The Maples - it was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alan Kelly.

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

I knew it would be basic but hey room 27 I was given ... Smallest hotel room I ever stayed in .. €89 for bed and breakfast .. Told we can have a late drink when we would return ... When we got back told sorry night porter closed up ... All in all disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deezermac
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deezermac, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Maples House Hotel, unfortunately, as we are an Edwardian building, not all our rooms are the same size and, as we were fully booked on that night, you were given the last available room. If you do decide to stay with us again,...

Carlow
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Had bar food here last week and it was a lovely setting with Christmas decorations up and a lovely atmosphere. It's under new management as far as I'm aware and what a difference they've made!! Beautiful welcome we received and the pints aren't bad either!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maria J, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. You are correct, the hotel has been under new management since July 2015. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope you will return soon. Many thanks, Alan Kelly

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We recently had our Christening Reception in the function room and I have to say it was fantastic from start to finish. The staff could not have been friendlier and it was a pleasure to have them as part of our day. Every request was met and throughout the day any extras that we asked for we got straight away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K m
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi K m, Many thanks for your wonderful review. I will pass your lovely comments on to all our staff and DJ Keith! It was a pleasure to serve you and your party and we are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. Kind Regards, Alan Kelly

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maple Hotel
#132 of 153 in Dublin
480 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#111 of 153 in Dublin
618 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. George
#81 of 153 in Dublin
617 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 153 in Dublin
584 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#68 of 153 in Dublin
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maples House Hotel is a family run hotel in Glasnevin, built in the early 1900's. The Maples House offers you elegance and charm, tucked away in a prestigious and leafy red brick enclave. The transition from residential quiet to the buzz of the city will provide you with a stay that you will remember for a long time to come, only minutes from Dublin city center, Glasnevin Cemetery, Ireland's sporting home Croke Park and the famous Botanical Gardens. The Hotel is on all major bus routes and tourist attractions are all close to hand. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maples House Hotel

Address: 79 - 81 Iona Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $81 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Maples House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maples House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Maples House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are the same price but avoid 22 - it's small. 25 is a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles Greenslade, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take bus in to city depending on age long walk”
 of 5 bubbles cakesw, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check out Woodstock for food......you may prefer your breakfast there.”
 of 5 bubbles ReayofSunshine, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The staff will advise you on your best options. I booked by phone and all questions were answered and follow up emails were very detailed.”
 of 5 bubbles 910adriennec, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Set in a residential area a 30 minute walk from the city. Great location to Glasnevin cemetery (great tours!).”
 of 5 bubbles QuillsInStills, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5