We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Was here four nights early October with my g.f. Had stayed previously FIFTEEN years ago and was pleased to see that Jerry, Maurice and Hughie have kept the place up nicely. Is strictly B&B: rooms are on small side but not cramped; everything is clean and the bathrooms are nicely modernized and roomy. Lovely sunny breakfast room with cheerful staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kristy77a
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Great to see you back again after fifteen years and delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for staying with us once again while in Dublin and we hopefully look forward to a future visit from you when next in Dublin.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 October 2015

My family and I stayed in the annex suite for 2 nights during our stay in Dublin. It was located across the street from the main building, directly next to train tracks and a pub. Needless to say, it was quite noisy at night. Overall, the 3-bedroom 1 bath suite fit our needs. It was relatively clean and in a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Anna L
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Sometimes we get it wrong, things happen for whatever reason minor mishaps or delays balloon out of proportion into huge inconveniences, despite our best efforts we failed to rectify the situation to the guest's satisfaction on a number of issues. Sometimes in this business we come across people who are completely unreasonable in their demands, however this can be good...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We just returned from Dublin after a four night stay and we had a fantastic time. O'Neils Victorian townhouse was a lovely place to stay. Close to everything shops, nightlife. Rooms very spacious, clean and comfortable. Fabulous breakfast. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melanie d
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments but we are indeed fortunate to have had so many lovely people stay with us over the years, and having people like yourselves stay makes our jobs so worthwhile.

Carmel, California
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We tried getting in here for dinner on a Friday night. It was a madhouse of exuberant drinkers. There were no tables to be had, so we were very surprised when we returned on Saturday evening to try again and it was very quiet with a number of empty tables. Apparently Friday night is the night to celebrate the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoelle
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am glad you took the time to come back the next night and eat here and that you so enjoyed your evening with us.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 October 2015

This was a great place to stay in Dublin. The rooms are over a pub, but really didn't hear that much, even with the windows open. If you are a light sleeper, then this might not be the place for you. But if you are up for a great and different place to stay, then I recommend O'Neills . P.S....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beccalynn32
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Food was great, room was clean but no WIFI in our room. That isn't advertised. So I go to the holding area for suitcases and try to finish up some work and I'm told they need the room in 15 minutes. Just great. We were told breakfast wasn't included as well. Okay. Continental was basically cereal and dried fruit so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lunabkat
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that you were happy with your meal in the pub, However I am sorry you were not better informed about our breakfast offering which is just as good as the food served in the pub downstairs. For sure you can have a continental if you wish, but we also offer the...

Dallas
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. Pub is broke up into several rooms, all very nice. Food was very good. Our room upstairs was nice, clean and pretty big compared to some of the other rooms we stayed in. Only drawback was several flights of stairs to carry your bags up, but the innkeeper helped us. Plus the street traffic noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjbooth
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Excellent location, walking distance to center and close to Trinity College, convenient for everything . Impeccable clean rooms, all in good size as was the shower room. Very helpful staff, good breakfast freshly made, affordable prices, great pub below, what else could you want?! We were pleasantly surprised, was more than expected....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viviRomania
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and also for choosing O'Neill's for your stay in Dublin. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you here again sometime in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Stayed here for one night upon arrival in Ireland. Room was clean and tidy; pub served nice beer and the food was good. A serviceable place to stay and reasonably priced for Dublin city centre. Be warned however that there is no water in the room and the tap water tasted unpleasant so bring a bottle of water with you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GHogben
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Stopped in at this friendly pub on our way home. Small menu but I had chips and cocktail wieners - pretty good! Beer is cold and seating is cozy. There is rooms above and many of the diners were Staying above - very convenient pub to room commute.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natisha M
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your meal here. I am pleased that you liked our food and we hope to see you here again soon.

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (38)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,268 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
3,745 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,346 reviews
0.8 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
0.7 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city opposite Trinity College, and only a 5 minute walk to Dublin's premier shopping streets, art galleries, theatres and night life. O'Neill's (established 1885) offers top class accommodation, traditional pub food and great Irish craft beers & whiskeys. The O'Neill family have run this pub for over a hundred years and pride themselves in the warm and friendly welcome they offer their guests. With 8 beautifully appointed en suite rooms guest's can choose between twin, double or triple rooms, or for bigger groups - our family suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Address: 36-37 Pearse St, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $168 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse Hotel Dublin
o`Neills Victorian Pub And Townhouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Possibly ask for a room not on the front street. Not sure if that is possible.”
keke696, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do NOT stay in the "suite".”
jneaner03, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great location. Not right on top of the bustle, but close enough to walk.”
717jackh, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great food for a fair price.”
O8288ZGrobs, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I am rating this place for the food and drink”
jaimeo584, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5