We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Academy Plaza Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 133*
View Deal
#46 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 167*
USD 133*
USD 167*
USD 133*
USD 167*
USD 133*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Academy Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,488: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed from 31st Jan - 2nd Feb (2 nights) everything was perfect, our room was on the 7th floor with everything we needed, spacious and cleaned every day with new towels and bedding. The staff were great and even gave us a map and circled and directed us to where we wanted to visit! Lovely bar area and just a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Courtney F
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Courtney F Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We were delighted to look after you during your stay and even more pleased to read that you will return. Our location and our friendly staff make us a great choice for any traveller looking to base themselves in the city centre. We look forward to welcoming you...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

This was our 6th visit to this hotel and once again we were extremely happy. We had a major problem on the day we were due to fly out that the airline cancelled our flight. The hotel agreed to alter our booking to the following day. Then we were told by the airline we could fly to Belfast and be...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tjgfitness
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tjgfitness Thank you so much for sharing your review and letting us know much you enjoyed staying with us during your time in Dublin City Centre. The whole team are very enamoured to read your comments about our 'Brilliant Customer Service" Thank you for sharing it. Our team work very hard on a daily basis in providing our guests...

Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

Have just come back from this hotel and yes it was OK. Few minor issues were :- 1) when we checked in the room wasn't ready, so left luggage with the reception, when we went back there was a bit of difficulty finding them again there seems to no labelling or numbering system to know whose bags are whose. 2)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick V
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick V Thank you for sharing your review, your comments and feedback. We were very pleased to look after you during your stay in Dublin City Centre. It is very nice to read that you liked our hotel and nice staff. Our well located city centre hotel is a very popular place for any traveller looking to base them...

Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We had booked reservations for this hotel in January for 3 nights. Excellent staff and very professional!! Clean rooms & good size for a Europe hotel. The hotel was in a great location in the center of the city were you can walk to night life, shopping, restaurants etc!! Highly recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim M
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim M Thank you so much for you wonderful comment and sharing your feedback. We are delighted to read that you have spoken so highly of us. The whole team here love to provide a warm and informative welcome to all our guests and to cater for each individual request no matter how small. We are delighted to you...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault the hotel or the city. The hotel was well kept and clean. The facilities were excellent and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. It's in an excellent location, in a quiet street off o'Connell which ensured it was quiet enough for couples and families, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kyle E
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kyle E Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us during your time in Dublin. We are a well located city centre hotel and our friendly and efficient staff work very hard at providing all our customers with the level and service they expect. Thank you for mentioning our team. They love...

Reviewed 29 January 2015

This is the best hotel you can get for a quick getaway in this fabulous city. It is very central, 5 minutes by walk to Henry Street (which is a shopping paradise) and 10 minutes to Grafton Str and Fleet Str. (Temple Bar). Moreover, if you're travelling by bus from the Airport you can get Aircoach tickets which are relatively...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neville M
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neville M Thank you for you wonderful words and comments. We totally agree with you, we also believe we are a great location for any person looking to stay in the city centre while being so accessible to Dublin Airport and both the City's train stations. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we really hope when you...

Belper, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Stayed here in January for a long weekend and it was absolutely perfect! Stayed in just a standard double room, which was lovely! bed was large and comfy, room was a good size and the bath and shower were perfect. Never ran out of hot water like some hotels do, never had any issues! Room was always warm, nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abi5225
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abi5225 We are very thrilled that you picked us as your city centre hotel while in Dublin. We are even more enamoured that you have shared a 5 star review of our property. Thank you. There are so many advantages of staying with us, namely our great location, staff and comfortable well appointed rooms. We do hope you will...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 January 2015

If you're going to Dublin and know nothing about the city, this hotel's location off of O'Connell street is ideal! There are restaurants, pubs, museums, shops, and the beginning location for the hop on hop off tours. The hotel has 2 restaurants, we did not eat at either because there were so many restaurants nearby. Our room was quite small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhurleygirlie
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mhurleygirlie Thank you for your 5 star review and for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled to be so highly spoken of. Our well located city centre hotel is a great choice for any city centre goer. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel as much as the location. We would love if you did return to us again...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Stayed here this weekend with friends. Hotel was really well located, directly opposite the bus stop from the airlink bus, and round the corner from O'Connell street. We arrived at 10am, but werent able to check in, as they said check out was at 2.30pm. On the day we were checking out, we were told check out was 12pm -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy M
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy M Thank you so much for you kind words and comments about our hotel, staff and location. We were delighted to look after you during your stay in Dublin City and we are even more pleased to read you enjoyed your time so much with your friends. We are in a prime location in Dublin City Centre and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I always enjoy staying at this hotel, I always feel it is reasonably priced for it's position and the breakfast is very tasty. The only criticisms I have is the poor choice of TV Channels and the pillows could be a bit better other than that it is a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gareth H
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth H Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted you have let us know you are a repeat guest and we are very thankful for your loyalty and recommendation. Due to the nature of TripAdvisors anonymity we cannot fully search your past reservations. Maybe next time you stay you could stop by the desk where we would...

1,296 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (792)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (259)
Viewed
Bathroom (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (250)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
2,485 reviews
2.3 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
1,830 reviews
1.0 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $172 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
92 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (92)

Questions? Get answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were there to tour the beautiful country, room was a quiet, clean place to sleep.”
Angela76542016, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“check room out first”
gallivangreg, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Expect a small room and tight spaces. Photos were misleading. Nice look but not top quality of construction or function.”
FoodnWine101, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask if room overlooks "The LIving Room" if it does change it.”
N9859OGjohnh, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Clean and quiet rooms”
lindanG3179CE, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 133* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 133
TravelocityUSD 133
HotelQuicklyUSD 167
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates