We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Show Prices
#42 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,416: English reviews
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewed 24 September 2015

First off we were upgraded to a junior suite which was a bonus-with king size bed. It was a very comfortable room. We had 2 nights to see all we could so location was ideal. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. Only one gave us directions to the Natural history museum but didn't tell us it was closed on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine S
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine S, Thank you for staying with us and also for your lovely review which we very much appreciate. I will personally ensure that the Hotel team are all made aware of your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we will see you back with us again soon. With many...

Deer Park, Illinois
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Great location for a stay of a few days. Room was adequate. Comfortable, everything in the room and bathroom functioned as expected (not always the case in older hotels, even those billed as 4or 5 star). Front desk staff very accommodating and friendly. Bar service was poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake1952
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jake1952, I would like to thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to share your review of the Hotel. Your kind review is very much appreciated and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to us again soon. With...

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Arrived in Dublin and spent our first two nights at the Davenport Hotel. The hotel was kind enough to let us check in early, and they also stored our bags before that (since we arrived in their lobby at 8am). The hotel is very near Trinity College, so that was our first stop (easy walk). Just a few blocks further...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve R, Thank you for starting your Ireland vacation at the Davenport Hotel and for sharing your experience! I am delighted that you had a good time while staying with us. Our central location is very convenient and makes the hotel an ideal base while visiting Dublin; I am very glad you took advantage of that. Thank you also...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This hotel is very nice - the room was very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast cost extra but was good value with a nice variety. The neighbourhood is quiet but the hotel is close to loads of pubs and shops and weasy walking distance to Temple Bar and downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spuddie11
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spuddie11, Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful 5 star review! I am delighted you had a great stay with us, and found our location, amenities, and service to your liking. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the near future. With many thanks and kind regards, Andrei Ciugulea.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel had a good and quiet location. It is close enough to the city center but it is not a busy neighbourhood. The rooms were good in size. There are no mini bars in the rooms. The breakfast that costs you 15 euros was one of the poorest I have ever experienced. The service, however, was the worst of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erkki T
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erkki T, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location and found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. I am however disappointed that you found the level of service to be substandard. I have passed on your comments regarding the breakfast and service...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel.  Near Merion square and in a quiet part of town.  Easy walking to most things.  Old world charm.  Rooms are small, but comfortable.  Bathroom layout does not have enough counter space - awkward layout.  Has a heated mirror - no fog mirror. Very clean.  Breakfast and WiFi were included with my room.  Food is pretty basic, but staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roamingtheworld2
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roamingtheworld2, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience! I am very pleased that you had a good stay and loved our location. As you mentioned, we are blessed with a very central location which puts many of Dublin's various points of interest within walking distance. If your travels bring you back...

binghamton ny
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Spent our final 2 nights of our vacation at this hotel. We arrived late morning but our room was ready and we were able to check in[ a big plus]. Hotel is centrally located and is walking distance to museums, shopping, many restaurants, etc. Hop on/hop off bus has a stop nearby. Hotel is clean, staff are friendly and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank creagh5
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear creagh5, Thank you for staying with us for your final 2 nights of your vacation. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be very convenient. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff, which we very much appreciate. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us...

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The hotel is absolutely stunning on both the outside and inside.The staff were very polite and welcoming. The room was lovely with a massive bed and very spacious good facilities except no minibar but excellent room service was always available. The breakfast was a buffet style with hot and cold options and plenty of choice. I did not dine in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey W
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey W, Thank you for staying with us and for your beautiful, detailed review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Davenport Hotel with our amenities and services to your liking. I am also glad you took advantage of our excellent location, which makes the hotel an ideal base while in Dublin, whether on leisure or...

Kingston, Ontario
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Location fabulous, as was the hotel, service, room, everything! Upon our arrival at 9:00 am, the check in clerk went out of his way to get our room ready. So appreciàted after an all night flight. Room was very large and beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AIreton
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AIreton, Thank you for staying at the Davenport Hotel for 5 nights and for your wonderful review! I am glad you had a great time and that the front desk clerk was able to accommodate your early arrival, thus getting you started on the right track to your visit in Dublin. We hope to have the chance to welcome...

Wethersfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Great location and nice rooms. We were able to walk to most major attractions. The hotel room was clean and spacious for a European hotel. The staff was not that informative or helpful. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg Y, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am very pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you would return to us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. With many thanks and kind regards, Andrei Ciugulea.

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Classic King Room (63)
Viewed
Junior Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,191 reviews
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
3,222 reviews
0.4 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $150 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Houston, Texas

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to ask for a quiet room if noise is an issue - also check no dances/discos/balls”
 of 5 bubbles DorkingJaneG, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back if your prefer it a bit more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Johanyippie, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a mini-suite on the 6th floor, which was very quiet, good value for money and had great amount of space with 2 desk areas.”
 of 5 bubbles srgrizzers, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you room has enough beds available so you don't end up with a camp bed!”
 of 5 bubbles ladyrokeby, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in both a back room and a side room and double glazing blocked most noises our”
 of 5 bubbles kimsF9738IY, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5